We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitty Hawk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Haven
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
philippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The lady who owns the hotel lives on the property. We were given a tour of the grounds. We were given a wonderful cake with strawberries since it was our honeymoon. The place is lovely!!!! The staff consisted of the owner and housekeeping. We were checked in on every single day of our week long stay. This place is so comfortable, clean and private!!! It is also close to all the wonderful fun times to be had in the OBX area!!!! BEST VACATION EVER!!!! Perfect spot for a couple!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrinalstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    16
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We arrived on Saturday, July 10th and had reservations to stay through Tuesday, July 13th. Raina was the most gracious motel hostess and we immediately put in a request to stay an extra day if an opening became available (which it did, so we got to extend our stay through Wednesday!) She showed us around the grounds and we settled into our room. We stayed in room #7, which was a double bed, dresser, closet, cable TV, internet, fridge, microwave, coffee maker & bath. Only issue we had was that the bath had a stand-up shower which was a little difficult for a 6'3" guy to navigate...lol! Room was immaculate as was our deck area which included chairs & a table for us to enjoy the outdoors. Facility had available a great selection of beach items to rent for a MINIMAL charge per day; beach chairs, umbrellas, toys, games, etc. which was nice. Also has nice outdoor shower to rinse yourself & your gear off after a day at the beach. Great observation deck above the outdoor shower area which offered awesome views of the beach, surrounding area and an amazing sky at night! Parking was plentiful and the landscaping of the grounds was near flawless. Located in residental area, but still very close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment without being around a lot of noise & confusion. Very peaceful, quiet and relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2010

After an all-night drive and needing a shower and a nap Raina let us check in early (as our room was available) at 8:30 instead of the usual 4:00 check-in. We loved the quaint decor, cleanliness and quietness of the facility. Raina had a washer and dryer available, as well as beach chairs, toys, etc. for a dollar or two (on the honor system). She treated us like friends and will come back for another stay and will also recommend it to anyone who will be in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield and Carrollton, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My sister and I have been searching for the perfect place and we think we found it. Great service and so clean. Thanks to all of the staff for going out of your way for us. (it rained one afternoon and we had left our beach towels out to dry, Raina took them in for us and told us where they were when we returned) We will certainly be back next year!!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisterpalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The staff was very friendly and made you feel like part of their family. The rooms were convenient and clean. Proximity to the beach was incredible and the lot the motel is on is great for kids! The room was cleaned everyday and towels replaced if left on the floor. Although I traveled by myself I would definitely return with my family to enjoy a relaxing vacation. I travel weekly and stay at corporate chain hotels (Hiltons, Marriotts) and have to say that I enjoyed staying at the Beach Haven Motel moreso than any of the corporate chains. For those reviews that knock the motel I have to say, why would you go to the beach and spend your time inside a room. The beach is literally 50 feet from the property! I will be a definite return visitor in the future!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTGRAD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The rooms were spacious and clean and included a microwave, frig and Culligan water cooler. The beach was right across the street about a minutes walk away. There was a nice raised deck to watch sunrises and sunsets. Ample parking in the rear. The manager was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsquaredUrbana_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I contacted Beach Haven based on a referral from AAA. I spoke with Raina to inquire about reservations and while on the phone the one impression that I was left with me was, "Personal Service". I tend to reward businesses small and large who can demonstrate the ability to value their clients.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted promptly and given a quick tour of the facilities. Our room was as expected...clean, proper room temperature, towels, hot water, and a comfortable bed. The grounds of the Motel were also well kept.

So here's my story on why I felt the need to write a review. I am a professional photographer from Grove City, Ohio who was on assignment for a prestigious wedding in the Outer Banks. During the week, I had scheduled family photoshoots on the beach. My $500 Canon flash decided to get tangled up in my neck strap (my fault) and it broke. As a professional photographer, you always carry back up. But if I use the back up during the wedding, then I have no back up to the back up. Additionally, the back up flash was not as reliable as my other flash.

So I got the phone book out and discovered that there were no Pro Camera Shops in the Outer Banks. I went to the office to ask Raina for the location of the nearest major city that would have Best Buy or something of that nature....Chesapeake/Virginia Beach area....2 hours away. I didn't have 2 hours to drive their and 2 hours to drive back. (due to time the stores closed that night and openned the next morning)

Raina knew her mother would be passing by Virginia Beach the next afternoon on her way to Kitty Hawk. Raina got on the internet and contacted the nearest Ritz Camera and Best Buy to where her mother would be traveling. We ended up having Best Buy hold the flash and we made arrangements for payments. Her mother went to Best Buy that night to purchase the flash and she arrived 3 hours earlier to Kitty Hawk than she had originally planned the next morning so that I could have the flash for the wedding which started before Noon.

Please don't get lost in the story. Here's the key: I never asked Raina to do any of this...she volunteered to help on her own.

I encourage you to reward personalized service in any industry where possible. And I recommend Beach Haven Motel in Kitty Hawk for your stay in the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RyanPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
3.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4104 Virginia Dare Trl N, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel Kitty Hawk
Beach Haven Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing