We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”
Review of John's Drive In

John's Drive In
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Family Owned and Operated since 1977 serving locals and vacationers the best Milkshakes and Mahi Mahi Sandwiches you have ever had! Join us in celebrating our 40th season!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I go to johns every time I go to the outer banks. Food is simple, fresh, and delicious. I love the fried mahi sandwich and milkshakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    60
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best beach food for lunch!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a most stop for anyone visiting the Outer Banks. After 30 years it is still doing a great job. Dauphin sandwiches are the best and you cannot beat their milkshakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Classic beachfront Drive In”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It's like a step back to my childhood, when a drive in meant eating outdoors or in the car. You order at the window on the left, then pick up your food at the one on the left when they yell your name. My double-cheeseburger was really good, and the vanilla shake was just right (rich & creamy, but not so thick that you turned wrongside out trying to use the straw). This is an unpretentious beach drive in, and the prices are very reasonable. Parking is quite limited, though, so be aware of that. We got parked in & had to wait to leave. This is a popular spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great shakes”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a great place to stop after a day at the beach. Their milk shakes are great and I usually stop here several times per week. Service is friendly and quick.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meggiehoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This is the place for lunch when at the beach”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place has AWESOME fish sandwiches and shakes, we eat here all the time when we go to OBX. Gets really busy at lunch so be prepared to wait a little bit, great prices and killer food !!!! On Beach Road don't blink or you will miss it, very small place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dev00312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Drive In also viewed

 

Been to John's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing