We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I can not say enough wonderful things about the Hilton. My husband and I had our wedding there in May & from start to finish everything was wonderful. Emily was our coordinator and she was so helpful, we usually wrote emails at least once a week. I did also stay here the night before the wedding & the got ready in the hotel room the day of the wedding. I will say that the bed frame was slightly broken & a few of our guests were upset that the indoor pool heater was broken. If it were not for a wedding, the review may be different - but the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable & I'm sure they would have moved us upon request, but we really wanted the particular room we were in because it was so close to the wedding venue. All in all, everyone was very friendly, helpful & the entire night was magical. We have also stayed here before just on a regular visit, and that was very nice as well.

Room Tip: Make sure to book ahead, and get an oceanfront room - its gorgeous! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily51402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for your comments about our property. We are very pleased that we were able to be a part of your special day! Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,507 - 1,513 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Pros:
- Right on the beach. The hotel has beach umbrellas & chairs which is nice.
- Cute pier, belong to the hotel which is a cute thing to visit for the kids
- Breakfast buffet, simple but always good to have.

Cons:
- The pool is small and for some reason it was green and dirty. We did not go in, I was disgusted by the thought.
- Just okay rooms, nothing exceptional, cleaned in a rush.
- Their towel pools were ridiculous, they were more like hand towels, no joke and you had to leave them at the pool (with a dripping baby, not very helpful...)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We value your input and we will use your comments to improve our service and amenities. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Garden inn was very nice and very comfortable. Rooms were clean and well taken care of. We had ocean view rooms which are worth the extra $$. Staff was very friendly and attentive. At one point the sconce in the bathroom was going out so I told the front desk about it. The light was fixed within the hour. The outdoor pool is large enough to enjoy when there aren't a lot of kids around but not huge. Then again, who needs a pool when the ocean is steps away. Overall a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our property. We are so pelased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

this hotel is one of the best I have stayed at. The people that work there are so friendly and act as if you are one of the family. The restaurant crew is the best. Holly our server made us laugh and made my children feel great, she gave us direction to the lighthouse and many other places to shop for things to bring home. The front desk was also just as great. , Jenny was very helpful and also gave us great information

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciageisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

First lets cart out by saying we booked our room six months in advance for our friends wedding that was going on at this hotel on the pier. Two days before we had an extra person coming with so we changed our room from a king to two queens. And verified that they had us down for two nights. Upon a LONG day of traveling there were arrive and they only had us down for one night. Instead of the ocean view room we requested due to them messing up our reservations we got a first floor, tiny room.
Secondly, all I wanted to do was get a good nights sleep before the wedding festivities the next day. Now mind you I have stayed in many Garden Inns before and they have ALL had comfortable beds. BUT WOW, these beds were SO uncomfortable that when you laid on them you might as well have been laying on pavement. The blankets were scratchy and pillows the size of book. All three of us woke up with stiff necks and still exhausted because we didn't get any sleep. Next, we had breakfast and paid $10.95 for the most disgusting dried out buffet ever. Finally, our friends had a dry wedding so many guests were going up to the hotel bar to buy drinks during the wedding, and the hotel bar closed at 9:00 PM!!! WOW - the service people were rude the whole entire two days. I will NEVER go back to this hotel and because of this stay probably never stay at a Hilton Garden Inn ever again. Plus the rooms are $230+ a night! I can get a suite most places in any city that would trump this hotel times ten!

Room Tip: DO not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rocket5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is an excellent beach hotel and our third year visiting it in July. It's only a few years old so everything is in good order and well maintained. Rooms are spacious with nice amenities (good sized bathroom, refridgerator, plenty of storage room) and work very well for a family with kids.
The pool is not huge, but a decent size and never feels congested with people. It gets nice sun through most of the day and is a pleasant spot to relax after the beach.
The beach is large with plenty of room on both sides of the pier and doesn't get crowded. Surf can be a little rough in the immediate area...fine for swimming and jumping waves, but can be tough to wave ride. A short walk up the beach in either direction will find spots with more gentle surf. Sand is wonderful...clean and good for building castles.
Great location. Right at the northern end of the more commercial areas in Kitty Hawk and Nags Head, so most everything you might possibly want (movies, minigolf, etc) is within a short drive. Is also well placed for access to the more quiet areas up in Duck and Corolla. Nice walking access to a drug store, ice cream shop, Duck Donuts, and High Cotton BBQ just across the street.
This is not a 'resort' location, so if you want to just stay at the hotel throughout your vacation, I think there are better places to go. But it is close to a perfect 'base' from which to explore the Outer Banks, and is certainly nice enough for a quiet day or two to just spend relaxing around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike18062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Within a few minutes you can tell that this is a well run and managed hotel. When we arrived, we pulled up at the front door and had all of luggage on a cart within a few minutes. Checkin was a breeze and they were on the ball with one of the rooms already setup with a crib as per the booking. We had one room with a view south along the beach and on the top floor (521) and another slightly smaller room overlooking the pier and the pool in the centre of the complex (524). Both rooms were airy with their own balconies and each had two comfortable queen sized beds. The pool was well located and the beach was only just beyond that. The location here doesn't get any better. The hotel also owns the pier at the front so guests can walk out there for a different view on things.

We had breakfast in the hotel the following morning, which was a full service buffet that I couldn't fault and was enjoyable. We were really looked after by the waitresses there and the prices were reasonable (about $11 a head for breakfast).

Overall, I would go back here in a flash and recommend it for anyone in NC looking to get away for a weekend or longer.

I also thought the aquariums in the foyer were a nice touch, especially in an age of cost cutting an profits.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jesterinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llbradshaw, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment about our property. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to use some of our great amenities. We hope to see you and your family again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,615 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range: £76 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing