We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polite and Comfortable Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Polite and Comfortable Setting”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Very family friendly. Nice staff, nice accommodations, two pools, jacuzzi and the beach. The room was clean the beds were nice and soft. The bathroom could use some updating but all in all it was a great vacation spot. Close to food and shopping. A pier right beside the hotel. You really don't have to leave the hotel. Also close to gas, a Rite aide, grocery stores and Walmart. Incase you forgot something at home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It was our pleasure having you stay with us here at the oceanfront in Kitty Hawk and we are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time while with us. Our location in OBX is great while having various restaurants, attractions and shopping venues available nearby. We hope you had fun on our beach and pier and do hope to see you back again one day soon! Please stay in touch at:
Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    424
    192
    57
    29
See reviews for
486
644
46
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, TN, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We travel often and in fact have been in all 50 states and this was one of the best experiences we have ever had. The staff was so polite and helpful and that goes a long way toward making a trip fun. we were to change rooms after the first two days but we liked our room so much we asked to just stay there and it was not a problem. The staff allowing us to do so saved us over $100 for our 4 night stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It is our sincere pleasure to have helped your family relax and enjoy your vacation here in the Outer Banks. We are so glad that you found our hotel staff and accommodations top-quality and appreciate the high review score you provided. Please keep in touch and feel free to post photos from your visit on: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great hotel and the staff make it even more wonderful! The hotel is on the beach and easy to get too. The hotel staff members are helpful and friendly. They make sure you feel welcome and have what you need for a great family vacation, from extra towels to dinner recommendations. We love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Your comments are music to our ears! Our wonderful staff enjoys meeting new friends and ensuring our guests have a wonderful time while in the Outer Banks area. We do hope you and your family enjoyed plenty of time at the beach and pool(s) and have many fond memories to look back upon. Enjoy your summer and we hope you’ll stay in touch until your next visit back here: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I chose this hotel primarily because I had points. was very pleased with overall cleanliness of hotel & room. walking distant restaurants were great. great donuts across street. very friendly staff. breakfast food was surprisingly great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Your comments and rating of our oceanfront hotel is very much appreciated. We are pleased to see that you found our cleanliness and location superior and enjoyed the hospitality of our wonderful staff. Please visit with us again when plans bring you back into the Outer Banks area. Also stay in touch with us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at other Hilton Garden Inn properties, I think it's fair to say that it is just like one in any major city EXCEPT for the ocean front location. An oceanfront room will set you back 100000 points a night which seems a bit much for the amenities included. Breakfast is extra unless you have the highest Hilton Honors status. Beach chairs and umbrella are rented. Fishing pier is free. Internet is free but slow. Many more families than average for this brand due to location. Did not call me when room was available for check - in as requested. Outer Banks is loaded with rental units and should be considered as an alternative by families.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We thank you for staying with us recently and hope you enjoyed your time in the Outer Banks and at our beach front hotel. Our apology for not contacting you in a timely manner when your room became available per your initial request. Your comments are appreciated and we hope you took advantage of all the fun OBX activities in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed out stay here June 2014. Great beach, enjoyed fishing off the pier. Only complaint would be the inside pool which we usually try to avoid (but rain forced us in for a bit) - was not as clean as we'd have liked to have seen. Rooms were great and staff was friendly! Totally suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank RaleighNative1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your perfect review score and comments from your recent visit with us here in Kitty Hawk. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed time on the beach and fishing off of our Kitty Hawk Pier. We would love to have you stay with us again, so please keep us in mind for your next visit to OBX. Follow us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My mother and I spent 4 glorious days here a few weeks ago. We booked an ocean *front* room (that's the key to make sure your room faces the ocean, not ocean *view*) and it was terrific. They gave us a corner room with 2 queen beds. On the ocean side we had a balcony with a couple of chairs and a small table (inexpensive plastic, but still quite comfortable), and on the side of the room facing the foot of the bed, there were 2 huge windows, which because of the shape of the hotel also gave us ocean view. When the blinds were open, we almost felt surrounded by the ocean. It was fantastic! Our corner room was straight up from the swimming pool, and we were on the top floor, which is 5. Slept with the sliding glass door open every night so we could listen to the waves crashing. Heavenly! (Be sure to keep the gauzy curtain closed, and the heavy inner curtain closed too, so any light inside will not attract any bugs.)
Great beds, room comes equipped with a good sized small refrigerator, larger than the one I had in college, a microwave, a Keurig coffee maker, (yes they supply you with Keurig coffee and decaf, and those nice non-refrigerated liquid coffee creamers, but my mother brought along her favorite Keurig tea, and was *very* happy to be able to have that every morning, and the usual hair dryer, etc. Good sized bathroom, good counter space on either side of sink, useful for two women! There's also an extra sink sort of in between the room and the bathroom. That was handy too.
Only small things we would have liked better would have been more hand rail grips in the tub, especially a horizontal one in the middle of the tub. And, the toilet paper dispenser is a long way away from the toilet, you really have to reach across to use it. (It's attached to the front of the sink cabinet, which is more than a couple of feet away on the left.) Lovely big desk, comfortable desk chair, free wifi connection which we enjoyed every day.
Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The young man who packed all our suitcases onto the cart and then into our trunk could not have been nicer or more helpful. Even helped us get enough ice to fill up our cooler for the long drive home.
Location of the hotel is lovely. You overlook the pier, can go walking out on it for free, or watch the fishermen and surfers who go out every evening, short drive away from many wonderful restaurants. We never ate in the hotel because there were so many seafood places we wanted to go to that had been recommended by friends. The huge outlet outdoor mall down in Nags Head is only about 15 minutes away. Highly recommend this place. Just wish the prices weren't so high in the summer season, but that's the norm at the beach, and this hotel was more reasonable than some of the others, especially for such a large and lovely room.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Remember that there's a dune between the hotel and the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaspardRueben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are thrilled that your time spent with us recently was enjoyable and we appreciate the feedback you are sharing with others! It was our pleasure to make your stay in the Outer Banks comfortable and relaxing and we’re glad you enjoyed all of the wonderful activities in the Outer Banks area. Thank you for your comments and please visit with us again soon. Also be sure to keep in touch at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing