We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quick One Night Stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently stayed at this property during a business trip out to Eastern NC. The hotel is very impressive for a beach front hotel (compared to most other OBX hotels) when you walk in to the lobby. The staff was extremely friendly on arrival and I was in the door, checked in, and in my room enjoying the ocean view balcony in less than 10 minutes.

Hilton Garden Inn's are usually pretty nice for big name chains and this one was no different. Great location right on the beach and plenty of great restaurants close by for a meal. Also, Duck Donuts is a quick walk across the street and I would highly recommend a dozen for breakfast or the car ride back home.

No complaints on my stay here except for it is kinda pricey for a nightly rate during the high season. AAA rate was around $232 plus taxes for one night. Not the cheapest, but probably one of the cleanest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveVA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for you kind compliments about our hotel. Our hard working staff ensures you have all that you need to have the perfect beach vacation, and we were glad you enjoyed your time here. Please come back and stay with us again when you are back in the area. Also stay in touch at: Facebook.com/OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    433
    194
    60
    31
See reviews for
510
655
48
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just back from a vacation weekend in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. This was our first time to visit the Outer Banks area and we really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the general vicinity of Kitty Hawk and Nags Head and I must admit that it is a little too commercial for my taste – too much traffic and too much like home (Walmart; Food Lion, etc.).

So, the Hilton Garden Inn is quite respectable. When we arrived at the Hilton our check in happened in less than a minute. The front desk was pleasant and they had everything ready very quickly. I also saw some other clients of the hotel registering and they too were taken care of very quickly and efficiently. The lobby always had coffee and ice water. The restaurant and bars at the hotel were nice with average to good food. I wish the outdoor bar had stayed open at night, because the one inside didn’t really have bartenders who knew what they were doing. The elevators worked well even though the hotel was completely booked.

Of course the room is the most important part of any hotel stay. The room we had was on the fifth floor and faced into the courtyard, but you could see the ocean from our porch. The room was quiet, at least from the standpoint of not being able to hear the rooms on either side. The bed was very comfortable and everything in the bathroom worked. The housekeepers did an exceptional job of keeping the room clean and comfortable.

The Hilton is well located at a really nice swimming beach. The sand was clean as was the water. And, if you’re looking for things to do, the Kitty Hawk/Nags Head area is full of restaurants, putt putt golf courses (some of the best I’ve ever seen), hang gliding, and the not to be missed Wright Brother’s Museum. The Wright Brother’s Museum made the whole trip worthwhile! It is, though, very busy – lots of traffic and lots of people. This is not the place to go to kick back into the quiet calm of the ocean front. I would say that the Hilton and the Kitty Hawk area are great places for families and just OK for couples.

And, finally my biggest concern about the Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel is located right next to a pier where weddings take place. I believe that there was a wedding on the pier on Saturday night and that the wedding party stayed at the Hilton. Whoever stayed at the Hilton and partied in the courtyard below all the rooms stayed up screaming and shooting fireworks without any regard to the rest of the occupants of the hotel. Nor, did the hotel management go out to remind them that there were other people in the hotel. So, Saturday evening was kind of ruined as far as getting any sleep. This is unacceptable for any hotel or hotel management. Hence my fairly low rating of the Hilton as a place to stay!

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the upper floors are probably better for couples. But, when the noise level ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailorman9868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We value our guests’ opinions and gain insight from their experience when staying with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we thank you for providing it. Our apology for the disruption with your stay and relaxation due to the in-house wedding group. We’ll be sure to monitor that more closely in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Can't wait to go back. Was only able to stay one night but want to come back for several nights. Great location, clean hotel, nice rooms, great staff. No better place to stay. The pier is right in front of the hotel and there are restaurants everywhere. What a nice place

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us and we are thrilled to see that you had a great visit while here in the Outer Banks. We’re sure you enjoyed the easy access to our beautiful beach and Kitty Hawk pier as well as the great views of the ocean. We hope you’ll come back again soon. Stay in touch at:
Facebook.com/OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is an oceanfront property with plenty of potential; however, at the time of our visit we couldn't help but notice that various parts of the property are in dis-repair and need maintenance. While the rooms are fairly clean for the most part, you could see the dust on our night stand a mile away...clearly hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Additionally, the glass sliding door (pictured) that led to our balcony apparently isn't a part of this hotel's cleaning regimen; it too hadn't been cleaned for some time and it was impossible to see anything outside due to the grime. Once out on the balcony, it was evident that it hadn't been hosed off; it was full of dirt, etc... This seemed to be the case for most balconies as it was evident from the peeling paint from the banisters and other balcony hardware that they were overdue to be updated/refreshed. The indoor pool and jacuzzi have a greenish-brown tint that gives the impression that they aren't cleaned often or thoroughly. The grounds in the courtyard were nicely designed, but again low on maintenance. The evening that we arrived, we noticed broken beer bottles on the ground by the fire pit, where they remained until the following afternoon; not exactly what I would call kid friendly. This hotel is charging for it's location, and proximity to the beach. I felt it was dirty, overly priced, in need of maintenance and given what I saw is not what I have come to expect from this hotel chain or any property that is charging $300+ a night; I most definitely will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0y76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate you staying with us however are disappointed to see that your experience was less than perfect. We value customer feedback and will most certainly be discussing your comments with our team. Despite your opinion of our hotel, we do hope that you had a nice time while in the Outer Banks area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to take a last minute trip to the Outer Banks for 4 nights and could find no houses during peak season to rent. There were still a few rooms available at the Hilton Garden Inn, so we grabbed one. The location is directly on the beach with easy beach access, a small but clean pool, and access to the Kitty Hawk Pier (a nice bonus). The rooms were decent size. Beds were not the most comfortable but were definitely adequate for a beach trip. The restaurant served a nice breakfast, not included but not overly pricey. Complimentary water and coffee were available throughout the day. Our room was an "ocean view", and I would say my only true negative about the hotel was that we really couldn't see the ocean unless we stood out on the balcony and peered between the buildings. It was a view, but not an easy one. We mainly looked out over the road and other rental properties. Overall, however, the beach access and nice hotel setting served our purposes, and we would recommend this hotel to others looking for a place to stay for less than a full week. If you planned to stay for at least a week, renting a house would be more economical.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the ocean if you are going to be in an "ocean view" room, since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBlue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We were delighted to have you stay with us for four nights and thank you for your business. Your comments and feedback are important to us and we appreciate you taking time to post them. We hope you had a blast while in the Outer Banks area and hope you will come back to visit with us again soon. Stay in touch until then at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had my wedding reception at the kitty hawk pier. We got the room for myself to get ready prior to the ceremony and also for the wedding night. The bed was very comfortable.The room wasn't huge but big enough for the night. My only complaint is there is no where to get food later at night. Great views of the ocean, super close!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Congratulations to you both from the entire Hilton Garden Inn staff! We thank you for having your event at our hotel and hope you enjoyed the evening with family and friends. Please continue to stay in touch with us at: Facebook.com/OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I, both over 65, are on a road trip. When we checked into the Hilton Garden at Kitty Hawk it was after 7 PM. We had been on the road almost the entire day, and were very tired. Luckily we met Everette at the front desk; he was wonderful from the moment we checked in and throughout our stay. He was polite, curteous, and very helpful! Hotel staff service is definitely customer oriented.
The hotel is in a great location; we visited four lighthouses and the Wright Memorial during our stay. We are Hilton Honors members and this one was definitely a treat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We enjoyed having you stay with us recently and are happy to see that you had such a wonderful time. Thank you for expressing your nice comments about our staff and service and do hope that you will come back and see us again. Please stay in touch at: Facebook.com/OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
852 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,513 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,473 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing