We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return was great as usual!”
Review of Kure Keys Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kure Keys Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Clemmons
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Return was great as usual!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I just stayed again for four nights and had a great time. Pool was wonderful and had great time fishing!. Rooms were spotless and really appreciated after checking in to number one rated hotel with family in north myrle beach if you want to read that review!

Like people will say, sometimes you don't really appreciate what you have until you have gone somewhere else!

David, Mark, Tyler and JoAnne keep up the great work and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KureKeys, Owner at Kure Keys Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
LOL......that'll teach you to "stray" ;-) . So sorry for your family's less-than-great experience down in Myrtle. We're always awaiting your return to the "Reel Kure", here at the Kure Keys. It is always a pleasure to be your host, here on Pleasure Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    6
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Im sure all the other reviews you see here are written by the workets or the owners because after staying there..they seem laughable.

All that was available was a "suite" which consisted of 2 queen beds and a studio kitchen. They charged a extra 10 dollars to the rate because they considered my 2 yr old child an Extra person!!!!

They ac was old and loud. All the fixtures and faucets look as they havent been changed since 1962,they had actual crust on them. Place smelled moldy.

The pool looked clean and the best part was easy access to the beach, but then again...most of the places had beach access.

DONT go here unless truly desperate.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KureKeys, Owner at Kure Keys Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Ouch! ;-)
Your opinions remind me that, perhaps despite our best efforts, we simply won't be able to please everyone. It seems apparent that our older, little limited service motel is not what you desired. I wonder, though, why you feel so driven to disparage the opinions of so many others?
Please at least be honest about the one issue of *fact* (not opinion): You were, in fact, given a $10.00 *discount* on your room.....certainly *not* charged extra, as you claim.
By the way......none of our air conditioners are older than four years. That's their maximum life span in the salt air, here at the beach. Trust me.....I replace them *personally*. :-) .
Kindest regards~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is always a gamble when you look online for the perfect place to stay, especially when your searching a location you've never visited before. My wife and I took a chance and chose the Kure Beach Motel for our first trip to Kure Beach NC. It turned out to be a great find, and it will be our go to place every time we revisit Kure Beach. David, the owner/operator, is laid back, makes you feel welcome, and has great tips on where to eat. The room was very clean, and the bed was comfy. The sparkling pool and jacuzzi provided a wonderful place to relax after being in the sun and salt water all day. The location of Kure Beach Motel cannot be any better, it is literally 100 feet from the beach, that equates to only 50 steps from the edge of the parking area to the sand. I can't wait to return to this jewel of a motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank khiggins54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KureKeys, Owner at Kure Keys Motel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We love meeting new folks and having the opportunity to please you during your stay! Thanks *very* much for giving us a try and for sharing your kind thoughts. We'll be watching for your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stumbled upon this jewel a couple of years ago; it was exactly what we were looking for quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The staff is very accommodating and goes overboard to make sure our stay was awesome! Options include fully stocked kitchen, hot tub, well maintained pool, use of outdoors grill and they even have a laundry facility on site, if needed.

The close proximity to the beach, pier and several restaurants options help make any visit perfect.

Highly recommended for families or as a couples retreat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KureKeys, Owner at Kure Keys Motel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
:-) Thank you, so much, for your kind words, and your kindness to my staff during your visit. It is always a pleasure when cool folks like you return to visit with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The owners and operators were wonderfully nice and very helpful! The room was also very clean and comfy which is a top priority on my list. Also very close to the beach and the pool and jacuzzi were awesome also! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KureKeys, Owner at Kure Keys Motel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you, so much, for the kind words. It was a pleasure for us, as well!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have stayed here every year for the past 15 years. I love that I can walk to shop, fish and eat so that I do not have to deal with traffic. The rooms are great and clean!! I would stay no where else when in Kure Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The motel was quiet and relaxing. The proximity to the beach was what we wanted. It is not a fancy franchise Hotel with new cushion top matresses or french-door refridgerator or a 32 inch flat screen tv. Goto Wilmington or Carolina Beach for that stuff. I wanted quiet and close to the beach for a reasonable price. It was clean and cool for our August trip. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. I would recommend it if you want a motel that is quiet and clean.

Room Tip: No restaurant nor fitness center are attached at the motel. The pool and hot tub are available as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#5 of 6 in Kure Beach
44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
55 reviews
2.5 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kure Keys Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kure Keys Motel

Property: Kure Keys Motel
Address: 310 Fort Fisher Blvd N, Kure Beach, NC 28449-4800
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family-owned and operated oceanside motel. (Not oceanfront). Just 100 feet from the beach and boardwalk in Kure Beach, NC, our rooms face parallel with the beach, so you must step out of your room for the ocean view. We have no "ocean view" rooms, though the public deck/porch on the ocean side of our building affords an excellent view of the beach, ocean, and magnificent sunrises!NO PETS : please don't ask if we're "pet friendly". We absolutely *love* pets (have some at home), but they are not allowed at our motel. It is really not a matter of "friendliness" :-)We have no designated "non-smoking" rooms. For those guests requesting non-smoking accommodations, in advance, we aggressively sanitize and deodorize our rooms with a *very* effective ozone generator. Our guests are nearly always *very* pleased with the results!We have a large grill available, a coin laundry, fish cleaning facility, and more than ample parking. There's even room for your boat, under 23'. With two "extra-long" double beds, all of our rooms can accommodate four guests rather comfortably. A small rollaway cot/bed is available for a fifth guest, but there can be no more than five people occupying a room, regardless of ages/sizes. We have excellent quality linens,flat screen TVs, and free WiFi! Outdoor jacuzzi! Plenty of free ice (can you believe that so many places *charge* you for ice?!), a convenience store just across the street with bait and tackle, beach supplies, etc. Yes, we *really* will inflate your water toys for you! Come visit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kure Keys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing