We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to just relax and enjoy the view”
Review of South Wind Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Wind Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great place to just relax and enjoy the view”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We spent 3 nights here Thanksgiving weekend at the end of the season. The room was clean and the bathtub spotless. We were given clean towels every day. If you need a large flatscreen tv and WiFi, this is not the place for you. If you enjoy sitting in a rocking chair on a balcony and watching the sun break the surface of the ocean, dolphins swimming by and fishing on the pier, you have come to the right place. We were on the second floor oceanview. Room had a small refrigerator (also spotless) and microwave. We could walk to restaurants and the pier. We brought our kayaks with us and were less than 2 miles from Ft. Fisher Recreation area. This was a perfect place for nature lovers. We didn't need air conditioning and left the door to the balcony open each evening so as to fall asleep to the sound of the breaking surf.

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors look out over the pool and to the dunes. The side view roo...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    39
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
55
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Oh my God, this was the WORST experience that I will never, ever forget. I trusted my friend to select the room because I have never visited Kure Beach. The rooms were nasty, moldy, stinky, stink, stinky and very old. The window air conditioner blew my mind, not to mention the little 19" 1995 color television. Unfortunately, we were there for 2 nights - I could not WAIT to get out of there and would not even recommend to my worse enemy. If you don't mind a DUMP for $130 night, this is the place for you. But if you are willing to simply settle for decent, bump it up a few dollars or just simply take the time to research; you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula G, Manager at South Wind Motel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Every room at the South Wind is different and some are more updated than others at this point. Our rooms are continually occupied until the winter, making that the only time of the year we are able to renovate. We cannot fix "old" but we are doing our best to make things feel more modern and fresh as we update furnishings, decor, televisions, floors, etc. We are proud of our business and our friendly staff and we are fortunate to have the most convenient location in Kure Beach. Our updates are not finished yet, but we will start again in November and continue through March to do as much as we can to make our little property the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Me, wife, daughter stayed here for 3 nights. Had the effeciency room first floor. Room was pretty clean. Read where the person had black feet. I think this is why. Place is all pavement with cement sidewalks. Right on the beach. Parking lot is between building and beach and the dirt from cars and the sand from the ocean blows right onto the place. No matter how careful you are you cant help but drag sand into the lower rooms. Floor covering and carpet were clean as could be in that situation. Beds were pretty good too. Just out the door and across the parking lot you were at the Kure Beach Pier. They do NOT charge to go onto the pier to look. Just $5 dollars a rod (1 rod per person limit) to fish from midnight to midnight. Great pier with great friendly people running it. Shops all around too and some good resterants. Big Daddys's across the street with good food and not too overly priced. I didnt get the motel owers name but he was very friendly and made sure that we were ok. No it is not the Ritz or Hampton Inn. It is an old place but still taken care of the best you can for an ocean front building. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead because this place stays busy. Specially near fall fishing season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bivens40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

South Wind is convenient to stores, restaurants, and pier, however, all the hotels are in Kure Beach. It was very nasty, our feet turned black by walking on the floors. I was shocked, I said this must be from outside, so I took a wipe and rubbed over the floor - the wipe was black from just wiping over a small area. Disgusted! The tub was dirty, I said well it must be stains, took out a wipe rubbed over tub, NO, it was dirt! Do these rooms ever get cleaned?? It sure does not appear so. It was ridiculously nasty, luckily I took our own sheets and we used our beach towels when we showered, scared of what may be lingering on those linens since the floors and tub were so nasty. House keeping did come by everyday and took out trash but they never swept, vacuumed, and clearly never mopped. However, there was some good: the pool and pool area was very clean, much cleaner than the rooms, the balcony was a nice comfortable size, and the fridge and microwave was clean. The hotel is older, so we expected out-dated furniture, carpet, hard beds, old linens and sheets, and all that was fine, but to have your feet turn black by walking on the floor, that is just un-called for. I do not get black feet by walking on my floors at home, and I definitely do not expect to pay for a hotel room and get black feet. Their website and business card states CLEAN, several times, maybe it’s an over-compensation because they know it never gets mopped, I’m not sure. We did read all the customer reviews before booking this place and most said CLEAN, that is why we booked it, maybe we got a bad room? I don’t know, but we will never stay here again, nor recommend it - ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeachLovers1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula G, General Manager at South Wind Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
We are never happy to hear about a guests bad experience with us. We have worked very hard over the past three years to throughly clean, update, and renovate our property. Unfortunately, even working at our hardest, we can only renovate a handful of rooms per season. Last year we began removing carpet and tiling ground floor rooms and are very excited about doing more of that this winter while we are closed. We are also planning to re-carpet the second and third floor rooms. We do clean our carpet regularly, as well as mop every single time a room is cleaned. If a customer ever has a complaint, we always try to find a way to fix the problem as quickly as possible. We do our best to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable, but we realize that occasionally things occur that can put an unpleasant spin on your visit. The best way to make it better is let us know! We will be happy to go above and beyond to make your stay as clean, comfortable, and enjoyable as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Climax, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have stayed here for several years with our kids. New owners have made a BIG improvement on this motel. The staff is very friendly. When we left we felt so close to them that it was like leaving part of our family at the beach. I enjoyed the late night just sitting out on the porch , rocking in the rocking chairs and having good conversation with the other visitors staying there. Leah (housekeeping) is the best! If we needed anything they were right on it. rooms are clean and newly renovated. I will always come back to Southwinds! See ya'll soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CollinsFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

It is very basic motel. The room and furniture were old. We paid extra for the kitchen but the supplies were very limited. Our room was also ocean view, which I really did not think worth the money. The sheets and cover were old so there were stains. They offer change towel every day, however, not sheets and room clean. No shampoo or body wash, bar soap only. They do have WIFI, but can not reach in the room, we have to go to office use internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelerbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is our place to stay. The Southwind is so close to everthing, you don't even have to move your vehicle. The pier, beach, and eating places are all so close, you can walk to them. Rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
1.7 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.9 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#4 of 6 in Kure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Wind Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind Motel

Property: South Wind Motel
Address: 109 S. Ft. Fisher Blvd., Kure Beach, NC 28449
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a clean, oceanfront, and family-friendly motel right next door to the Kure Beach Pier. Restaurants and attractions are within walking distance, private oceanfront balconies are available, and state aquarium and ferry are right down the street. New for 2011, our family suite!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Wind Hotel Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing