We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pork chops you'll ever taste!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freddie's Restaurante

Freddie's Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pork chops you'll ever taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Freddie's is an absolute must every year when we go to the beach. It's very small, so get there early...but the food and the service are amazing! I used to always order an Italian dish until some friends told us about the pork chops; now that's all I ever order. I've never been a huge fan of pork chops, but what Freddie's does with pork chops is magic...perfect sear, chargrilled flavor, super moist and tender...their chops are guaranteed pork heaven. And all of the topping options are amazing (peach-pecan and raspberry-almond are my favorites). It's not typical beach fare, but I'm telling you, you will not regret an evening spent here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    64
    19
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have been going to Kure Beach since the late ‘90’s and this was my first visit here. Have wrongly thought Italian fare was not top on my list in a seaside town. I was definitely wrong. Will be a regular in future visits. Their pork chops (prepared a number of ways) are juicy, tender and flavorful. The Shrimp fra diavlo is excellent with a thick, flavorful marinara sauce and an abundance of fresh shrimp. Service is efficient and friendly without being over bearing. After dinner, enjoy a short walk on the Kure Pier – the oldest fishing pier on the Atlantic coast.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 788skips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We've eaten at Freddie's 5 or 6 times both in the tourist season and the offseason. The food has always been excellent !! Ravioli, spaghetti, carbonara, and lasagna have been excellent. My daughter loves the different presentations of pork chops. The service has always been excellent and very accommodating. At the beach, seafood places are plentiful, but good Italian restaurants are rare. This is one of our favorite restaurants !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceantrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place was excellent!! Something for everyone here and the food is scratch made with many house dressing and sauces. I ordered the firehouse chop and it was to die for. Thick grilled chop topped with goodness. This was such a nice find and I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pork Chop Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have never ventured far from the pork chop page. Their peach and maple syrup/pecan chop is the best, and huge. Cute little place, best to go with a reservation early in the evening, off season if possible. Good wine list, great house salad. They sell the salad dressing, too! One of our fave places for a quiet meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luckytraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freddie's Restaurante also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Freddie's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing