We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Restaurant I've ever had!”

Freddie's Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Lima
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant I've ever had!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We always make it a point to go to Freddie's when we're vacationing in Kure Beach. The place itself is small and intimate. The staff is super friendly and personable. And then comes the food....oh. my. gosh. The food! They are known for their pork chops but I can't ever go with out getting Barb's Special Pasta. It will blow your mind. The best part is the salad. It has beets, garbonzo beans and homemade Italian dressing. They also serve loaves of bread with italian butter. Go with an appetite. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    66
    19
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Have only been here one time but loved there chocolate cake and I got there chicken alfredo. Loved there salad and bread. Wanna try there spegghitt next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Efland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never Ceases to Amaze!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The atmosphere, the food, the staff - top notch, as always! Do not miss this place. Squid for appetizer. Pretty picky about squid, and this was fried - but fantastic, with a great marinara. Then came the salad (which comes automatically with the meal) - great dressing, just the right amount. Then came the meals - and we realized immediately we would never be able finish! I had the pasta with fra diavlolo and portabellos. Excellent. My date had the seafood alfredo (very good but very rich). Worth a trip to Kure Beach from anywhere within at least 30 miles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Italian over seafood at the beach? You bet!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

No trip to Kure Beach would be complete without a visit to Freddie's. Italian is not what one thinks about when going to the beach, but this is a not to miss place! The service and food is wonderful.

It's tiny inside with about a dozen tables or so and unless you make a reservation well in advance, chances are you may not get in. Perfect place for intimate meal for two or a Very small group.

The pasta's are wonderful, the chops some of the best I've had anywhere, and a delicious homemade house dressing that you can also buy to take home. They also do early bird specials from 5-6 a few days a week, a great savings and have a two-fer pork chop night. I think they list what days they are on their Facebook page.

Even if I only had one night at Kure Beach I'd have to have dinner at Freddie's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't miss Freddies”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent Italian food and to die for pork chops. It is small inside but delicious food. The steak was a little pricey but the chops and Italian food was reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freddie's Restaurante also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Freddie's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing