We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like filth, stay here!”
Review of Sand Dunes Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Dunes Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Room 120 and likely several others, needs to be gutted! Linoleum floor at entrance had not been cleaned in ages. Feet stuck to floor. Using a sheet of paper towel to clean up a few water drops, the white towel was blackened. Took evidence to front desk. They had floor addressed the next day - well 90% better. When inquired about carpet, they said it was cleaned 4 months ago. I wonder by whom and how well and after all the tracking of filth from the linoleum floor to the carpet??? That dark colored carpet has to be housing multiple species of bacteria and fungus. Spoken from a biologist.

As I looked for my children's toys under the edges of the beds, many cobwebs seen.

Furniture and appliances have never been upgraded from original construction. Badly worn.

Seriously needs a health inspector to visit!

We all arrived with clean feet, and left with badly soiled feet - from the rooms interior! My two year old twins always wore (new shoes) when outside - too young for sand and surf.

Front desk help seemed helpful and concerned, but it was like "heard it all before". Housekeeper blamed it on the old linoleum. But then why was she able to get it cleaner the next day?

I like to frequent budget friendly motels when I travel. A lot of travel in Europe. This was the filthiest place ever.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pappenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Room smelled musty. Carpet was not clean. Housekeeping staff were nice and caring. TV was a 19" color console. There is no ice machine for guests - you get 1 free bucket of ice per stay. Otherwise you buy 10 lb bags at the office. If you need extra towels you pay $5.00. Location is good you can walk to restaurants and to the pier and game room. There is a small quick-shop market within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66Linda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We just got home from our 1st Stay at The Sand Dunes Motel but it won't be our last !! We stayed in room 123 it is a suite and worked very well for our family . We had a bed and couch in our room also a full bath and kitchen in between. The other room had 2 beds , mini fridge and a very nice bathroom as well . The location is great !! The room has been nicely kept and updated , no it's not a Hilton , it is a motel on the beach , but it was clean and comfy !! The staff were great to us , Todd the desk clerk treated us like old family friends , the other lady in the office was very friendly as well !! The running housekeeper made me tired just watching her ... She did an outstanding job !! Can't wait to go back !! The only complaints I have are mattress was comfortable but had a middle sag and toilet in main bath is very small , the bathroom though is a great size . Overall A+ from us !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This place is kind of a dump. The rooms were VERY musty and smelled like smoke, even though we had a "non-smoking room". Carpets turned your socks black. Just didn't feel clean. Maybe OK for a night or two, but I think there are better options out there. Didn't get the impression that the staff cared at all. For the price, they should be ashamed. The only thing this place has going for it is the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a smaller, older motel in the "family beach" town of Kure Beach, NC. Much like Kure Beach's personality, it's quiet and friendly. We like Sand Dunes and stay here often.

There's not a lot of frills... but here's what we like:
1) it is a "family" motel - and we have decades of good family memories here
2) the location is prime - close to the Kure Beach pier
3) it is ocean front (with some great views)
4) they have a nice ocean front pool
5) free wi-fi
6) nice little balconies on the ocean front units
7) many units have a nice little kitchen (stove, refrig, microwave, sink, etc.)
8) we've always found the staff helpful and pleasant
9) they have several room layouts to choose from - we've found them roomy / spacious
10) although older, the rooms are clean

Now ... this motel isn't perfect. It is an older complex, 3 stories with no elevators, and tight parking - but we still like it. We think it is priced pretty fairly, is clean, quiet, and overall very nice.

Room Tip: Ocean front units are nicer and newer than the side units. Overall, its a very good place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Pictures speak for themselves. No reservation so we Paid 500 for two nights and was told our "suite" had been recently renovated. Obviously not. Called the office within two minutes of entering the room and was told sorry no refunds. Wasnt there for FIVE MINUTES. Got the cell number from the office girl for the manager, but kept getting a generic voicemail. Rusty fridge, dirty coffee maker, dead room phone, broken light switch, rust stained bathtub, old couch cushions for pillows, carpet turned our feet black, furniture looked like it came from the dump. Couldn't even sit on the balcony without cutting the air off or it would blow hot air on you. Our towels reeked of smoke, which isn't surprising since housekeeping had a cigarette hanging out of their mouth while cleaning the rooms. I could go on and on.....
Make sure you know what you are paying for before hand. I did see MUCH better rooms on facebook, but not our room of course! The office girl obviously made a mistake in telling us about our room, but wouldn't take any responsibility for it. Felt scammed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ripple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

EVEN better now they have done alot of remodeling. new refrigator in our room new carpet and tiled the bathroom floor. i have been coming to the sand dunes fof 18 years and never had a problem staying at the sand dunes motel. the house keeping is excellent and friendly. walking distance to places to eat and kure beach fishing pier is near buy so if you want the comfort of a hyatt regency stay there its a whole lot higher

Room Tip: Third floor has a excellent view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandfiddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
8.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
0.1 mi away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#4 of 6 in Kure Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Motel

Address: Route 421, PO Box 132, Kure Beach, NC 28449
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing