We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite Place Beach Location”
Review of Sand Dunes Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Dunes Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Sand Dunes is a small "mom & pop" motel located in the very small (one traffic light, no chain restaurants or stores), quaint town of Kure Beach, NC. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a very nice oceanfront view of the beach, pool & pier. We had a basic kitchen with small stove/oven, full size fridge & microwave. If you plan to do a lot of cooking bring a decent knife as with most efficiency rooms the basic dinner knife is all there is. There is not an ice machine, ice may be purchased for $2 a bag from the office or there are two ice trays in the freezer to make your own. Our room was clean but was very basic, this is not a chain hotel so it does not have the bells & whistles and the price is affordable because of that. The outdoor pool was professionally cleaned by a pool company every morning of our week long stay. Housekeeping cleaned the public spaces daily and overall everything was in good shape for an older oceanfront motel. The rocking chairs on the balcony were very nice also. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The Kure Beach pier located almost next door is open 24/7 and there is no charge to go out and watch people fish. Kure is less than 20 miles from Wilmington, a fantastic historical and cultural town, packed full of dining and shopping venues. We visited there several times. Also close to several golf courses. Cape Fear National golf course was beautiful and I recommend playing 18 there if you have a chance. If you are looking for a less crowded beach in a small community beach town, Kure, NC is the spot! Loved it!

Room Tip: Third floor oceanfront offers the best views and lifts you high enough to not feel like you are sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wvmountainwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Horrible Motel!!! My wife developed a reaction to the air condition and black mold, They refused to give us a refund when we left early to go to a different motel. My wife ended up having a asthma attack and being treated at the local urgent care. Their rooms smell and you could see black mold everywhere!! They had bed bugs that were crawling on and biting my daughters legs. We filed a complaint with OSHA and other government agencies to get this place shut down. A terrible health hazard!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Comfy beds and pillows. Secure and clean. Super location. friendly people. Will go back again.As for the man that said housekeeping didn't make the beds, evidently he did not read the Sand Dunes book when he got there. It says "any personal items left on the bed's and housekeeping will not make up the bed". Well don't leave your personal items on the bed. I wouldn't want housekeeping moving around personal items.Great place!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our room had been remodeled. The kitchen was nice. Wonderful view and great location. Good resturants and the Pier are a short walking distance. We loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Our sons loved the pool. Housekeeping did a great job. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amayes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Toilet barely flushes, doors hardly shut, needs updating, housekeeping didn't even make our beds while we were out, no deadbolt in door just a lock on knob. A little high for the price and we had a side view for a room. On the positive, great location and air conditioner.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravisandJessic... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staff is very friendly. Told us about the area. Rooms need updated, but were nice and clean. Cleaning staff acknowledged us every time they saw and and were always friendly. Not a bad place to stay for the price. Wish we had gotten a room with a balcony. Missed being able to sit out and look out at the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHart6283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed there and the staff was great. Very friendly and helpful with all our needs. Room was nice with plenty of towels and privacy. Will be staying there again when go back to the beach. Loved that the pool was at the back of motel and not on the street side. Plenty of parking in the back. Also easy access to the beach. Very quite place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoutshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
2.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
432 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#4 of 6 in Kure Beach
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Motel

Address: Route 421, PO Box 132, Kure Beach, NC 28449
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing