We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Darlings By The Sea
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kure Keys Motel(Kure Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moran Motel(Kure Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
South Wind Motel(Kure Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sand Dunes Motel(Kure Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's Quarters(Kure Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oceaneer Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Towers(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Inn(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
124
25
3
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
25
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast basketquicheb bbeach chairswhirlpool tubget awayprivate balconythe location is perfectthought of everythinglocal restaurantsnorth carolinarelaxing weekendshort walkexcellent viewvariety of foodshappy placeone way street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our second stay at Darilngs By the Sea. We chose to return because we love the quiet setting and personal touch that the host offers each guest. The rooms are always clean and a lovely basket of goodies is served for breakfast, including the quiche which I had forgotten about, but my husband remembered. The private balcony offers a view of the ocean at all hours. We also enjoy the local restaurants that we can walk to ....really a lovely retreat for these Chicagoans.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at Darlings By The Sea and had a wonderful time. This unique lighthouse B&B is one of the best we have ever stayed. At first I was disappointed in the location as I thought it would be a more private setting on the beach. However, since it was so quiet at night and the beach not as crowded as most in August, that issue was not a problem. Everything was extremely clean. The bathroom is very spacious as well as the balcony. We enjoy drinking our coffee and eating from our breakfast basket every morning on the balcony before beginning our day. Sitting out in the evening and listening to the waves roll in was so peaceful and relaxing. It was a perfect ending to the day! Our bed was very comfortable and the room extremely quiet. You did not hear noise from the other guests even though all the rooms were occupied. The town of Kure Beach is a short distance along the boardwalk outside your room. They have several large swings along the way as well as the fishing pier. I was pleased to see the area keeps a portion of the beach all natural with sea oats and other vegetation. This town is like taking a step back in time. It reminded me of the late 50's or early 60's. I truly loved this lighthouse B&B and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so there are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5,354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We chose this B&B over others because of the rave reviews. The place is beautiful and the service was impeccable. Our rooms were immaculate and we loved the breakfast basket each day that is filled with snacks, fruit, and quiche. While attentive, the owners are unobtrusive and helpful when you need something - like first aid for the blender :-) Unfortunately we had to leave a day early, but we will be back! "G" - the resident feline - was always happy to welcome us back from the beach or dinner. He's' a keeper! Thank you for providing us with a great place for much needed rest and relaxation!

Room Tip: We had the lighthouse room (#55) on the end and it was pretty neat. The view of a storm over the ocean was quite beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon together at Darlings by the Sea. We had a wonderful time. Each day we were given a nice breakfast basket of food, which was more than enough food for two people. The bikes and beach chairs are a nice touch :)

The private balcony gave a great view of the ocean. There is beach access right in front of the room, as well as a boardwalk that can be used to walk down to the Kure Beach pier. Great restaurants can be found there (I highly recommend Freddies and Jack Mackerel's).

A great place to get away and relax. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our 3rd year staying at Darlings By The Sea! It's the perfect spot for a romantic get away! It's quiet and it's just the place for two people to enjoy each others company. The basket breakfast has wonderful variety and all of the little things are supplied such as butter and cream for coffee or tea. We have made this our anniversary spot and plan to return year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindawillyoumarryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews