We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and value”

Jack Mackerel's Island Grill
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been to many restaurants in the Carolina Beach/Kure Beach area. For our money, Jack Mackerel's is tops....both in quality and price. We usually eat lunches there, and we haven't had a bad meal yet. The prices are competitive with other restaurants in the area and the food better. Jack Mackerel's is our "go-to" place when we have guests visiting. Varied menu with lots of seafood choices, including homemade potato chips. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRDFletcher_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    220
    91
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in Kure Beach on a beautiful April day”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I were at Kure Beach for the first time and stopped here for lunch. I had the shrimp and mango quest dill and it was excellent - plenty of shrimp, the mango salsa had some kick, hubby liked his lunch too..we recommend this place as it has 2 outdoor decks too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Local bar hang out”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We ate lunch at Jack Mackerel’s on Tuesday, April 15, 2014. We arrived around 2pm and were promptly seated in a large booth. I had the fish and chips and my wife got the fried shrimp platter. My fish was rather greasy and my wife’s shrimp were so over cooked they were dry and chewy. The fries that came with both meals were excellent. We never saw our waitress again until it was time for our check so we were not able to complain. This restaurant seems to cater to locals who like to sit at the bar and hammer back their drinks. There were several patrons who were obviously drunk to the point that they stumbled to the restroom. I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone and we will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1967foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great locals hangout”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Where locals go for great seafood year round. Great tiki atmosphere, friendly service, generous portions. Never miss a chance to go to Jack Mack's.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“good food, getting pricey”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My favorite has always been the salmon club sandwich. It is on special bread, lots of taste and very filling. The cob salad is also good. We would go more often if they had not raised their prices some 30-40% in the last 2 years or so. Sit in the top area if the weather is nice and you can get a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Mackerel's Island Grill also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Jack Mackerel's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing