We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great food and wonderful staff !”
Review of The Bothy Bistro

The Bothy Bistro
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Burghead
Price range: £2 - £20
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open seven days and also Friday and Saturday evenings. The Bothy serves locally sourced produce cooked to perfection by our chefs. We have an extensive Gin and Rum Library and import fantastic wines from our friends at Albet i Noya - Spains first organic vineyard. The Bothy serves a range of food to suit all tastes from brisket to bruschetta, macaroni to lobster and gypsy eggs to scallops.
Reviewed 5 February 2024

Had a lunch with friends and everything was perfect : place is lovely, food is great and the staff is just so nice ! Highly recommended !

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loudness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2024

The best food on our trip to Findhorn. The menu was fab, and the food divine; served by lovely, cheerful, helpful women on the night we were there. Recommended most highly. You'll be astounded and delighted.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ceryse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2023 via mobile

Visited the Bothy for the first time today after following for a long time but never had the opportunity to visit.
A warm welcome from all the staff to begin the visit was lovely.
They were serving a Christmas menu that offered so many delicious options it was hard to choose!
To start we both had the Brussel sprout fondue, a fun concept and very delicious way to enjoy a sprout! Followed by (for me) the Turkey & trimmings (my auntie) the sea bass.
I’ve never tasted Turkey like it - melt in the mouth and all the trimmings cooked to perfection, the sea bass was also devoured.
We weren’t chased out either which was lovely and would highly recommend this gem of a restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank AliG800324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Wonderful food and excellent service in an independent cafe/restaurant. It was a busy night with a few bigger groups (xmas nights out) and the staff were so good, attentive without imposing, great communication and calm efficiency on what could have been a challenging night. I had scallops - perfection, seabass - delicious and pana cotta to finish. I will recommend this gem of a place in a heartbeat.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank madeleine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

We took friends and family here for a evening meal and everyone was happy with their food. The staff accommodated some of the fussy eaters by adapting things on the menu.
The house wine went down a treat and the Bothy gin got the thumbs up too.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank JMI42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bothy Bistro also viewed

 
Craigellachie, Moray
 

Been to The Bothy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.