We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
5 Star Holiday Accommodation in Burghead
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 Star Holiday Accommodation in Burghead
Welcome to The Millie! Home from Home!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
5 Star Holiday Accommodation in Burghead
Welcome to The Millie!
Home from Home!
Middle Floor Bathroom
Relax by the fire....
A great place to hide with a book!
Great place for the adults to have a wee drammie!
Fab Family Kitchen!
Happy Days!
Going Up - 3rd Floor!
A great place to chill out with the whole family - with fabulous sea views...
Open plan snug through to Master Bedroom
Beautiful place to relax with excellent sea view...
Rogue's Gallery!
Going Down - ground floor!
Speaks for itself!
Jacuzzi Bath for two ;o)
Great for the kids or the grannies!!
Alfresco anyone?!
A wee cosy hoosie with a great view of The Clavie!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Burghead, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KKIRKP
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay but could have been better”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had an enjoyable stay at The Millie but there are a few points that future guests might want to be aware of which we were not. Perhaps I didn't pay enough attention to the literature.

On the positive side, the Millie has been beautifully renovated by interior design enthusiasts and is very welcoming. It is positioned in Burghead with lovely beach and sea views and has a lovely sheltered garden. It was immaculately clean and well presented.

We did however note some drawbacks.

Dogs must be kept in the basement where there is an open utility area and two bedrooms. This means that you must either leave your dog alone in the basement behind the gate or sit in the basement with your dog...while the rest of the family sits upstairs. The guest book advises that there is a £50 fine if your dog goes out of the basement. We found this a very odd arrangement.

We booked as a party of 5 and due to the dynamics of the group, intended to use all four bedrooms. I realised that one of the bedrooms doubled as a snug but I hadn't realised that access to one of the bedrooms was off of this bedroom. This meant that we had to go through my adult sons bedroom in order to reach our double.

This arrangement was also a problem as the only TV in the house is in the snug/4th bedroom. Luckily my son was very accommodating and didn't mind all 5 of us sitting in his bedroom every night but I can see this could be an issue for some.

The living room does not have a TV. It does have a TV point but there is no signal. It is very dark and we didn't use the living room at all. We noted that one of the armchairs in the living room was broken.

The upstairs double room is very noisy as the wind whistles through the slates. You can hear this from the street. I have noted that other guests have raised this as an issue.

There is a clothes horse and outside line but we would have benefited from a tumble drier on the wetter days.

The kitchen is a very generous size and very light. I spent a lot of time in this lovely room. There is a dresser in the room which provides the only storage for food. This is one small cupboard below knee height.

The shower room downstairs is very nice but the shower drain needs urgent attention to bring it back up to standard.

We enjoyed our stay at The Millie and hope that the items we have noted above are a fair reflection of the house that will inform the owners and future guests. In the main it just needs tweaked and it would have worked much better for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Whistling wind in attic bedroom and living room which was dark, uninviting and had no TV.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretw...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great house. Suitable for all the family, dogs, toddlers and adults. lovely harbour and beach on the doorstep. Sea views from the property are 1st class. Facilities in house are excellent, such as the jacuzzi bath with tv built in and wet room. Also, second bathroom with sauna. The bothy restaraunt is well worth a visit. Also, so close to other areas to explore such as Findhorn, Elgin, Inverness and Speyside And much more. Would certainly visit again and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: difficult to single out as enjoyed the overall package.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaE31
Melton Constable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday home, amazing location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Holidayed at Millie for third consecutive year. Beautiful home with great attention to detail and amazing, far-reaching views.
Have known this area from a teenager and returning at least once a year is a must.... Choice of long sandy beach walks, forest trails or rocky coast....especially enjoyable with our dog. Weather was good, and the freshness of the air invigorating.
Didn't venture far as everything for relaxing is in Burghead, with Bothy for meals out and fish and chip van on Fridays, jacuzzi then glass of wine sitting in the window seat gazing at friendly walkers on the beach.
A place to love!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopingfor...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Accommodation”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had a great week at the Millie in Burghead. Very classy and comfortable accommodation - good quality furnishings and beautiful decor. Sauna and whirlpool bath make this property stand out from the rest - a definite bonus! Weather was fairly kind to us so the outside areas were enjoyed on a few occasions. The Bothy coffee shop is 2 mins away and does fantastic pizza and breakfasts.
The house does have fairly steep stairs which may be a problem for some families but our 3 & 5 year olds coped fine.
Overall a lovely house - hope to return one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bath!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordy1210
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

All the reviews are spot on. The location is great- ideal for the beach and Roseisle for great walking. The house is lovely, everything you could ask for plus a few extras. Sauna and jacuzzi were great after a long walk. Dogs loved the underfloor heating. The Bothy was great for coffee and pizza.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JACKPHOTO
EDINBURGH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Windy But Worth It!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Just returned from a very chilled out time at this lovely cottage over the New Year with family and friends. Beautiful decor and furnishings with loving detail at every turn. Kids loved the upstairs crash out pad in the attic whilst the adults got on with the festivities in the lounge downstairs!
Pros :
The whole house layout is brilliant for a large get together.
Decor and attention to detail is spot on.
Garden/Summerhouse and decking area will be a delight if the sun shines
Location is ideal for harbour/forest walks on your doorstep
Lovely big kitchen.

Cons :
Wind noise in the attic rooms which will keep you awake if you are a light sleeper.
A few basic items need adding, i.e. table place mats to protect the lovely kitchen table, clothes dryer and sieve to make it perfect!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The harbour location
Liked least: The wind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay!

We were abroad over Christmas and New Year so we're not aware if the winds during your stay were partucularly bad - we've not had any other guests mention wind noise. The trade-off for the sea views is that the house is exposed to the elements - including the wind - so unfortunately there isn't much we can do about it. The slate roof is insulated with 150mm of kingspan insulation to keep it cosy and this should also reduce any noise as much as possible.

We are planning a pulley in the utility area which will cover the clothes drying in the winter months when the lines in the garden and summer house aren't much use!

We will take on board your comments regarding the place mats. There was a sieve so we will also check if that needs replaced!

Thanks again for your feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptmanning
cottered
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything you need and then some”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

my family of four and my sisters family of four stayed at the millie for a week at the end of oct .the house has everything you need for a large group and some things you dont,but that you still enjoyed using e.g. sauna,jacuzzi complete with telly etc.
we know the area very well,so knew what to expect,great for walking,lots of golf courses and plenty of areas of interest in the surrounding countryside.
the house coped well with eight people with plenty of space and in the summer it would be great to use the rear decked area for a bbq,but in oct it was a little cold for that.
at first i thought that only having one main telly area might be a problem with us having four children with us but it wasnt,as a lot of the time we would sit in the living room surrounding the woodburner not even thinking about the tv.
if you dont want to cook you can get fantastic fish or steaks with proper chips just round the corner at the harbour bar.
the quality of the finishings etc.in the house is superb,the kitchen has everything you need to cater for large groups.we would recommend this dwelling to any large group except for people with mobility problems as the stairs might be a problem.
but overall the house is excellent.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: banging head on low ceiling
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing