We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend trip to Waynesville” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Certificate of Excellence
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend trip to Waynesville”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed in one of the apartments during a weekend trip to Waynesville. Very disappointed. Cobwebs visible over the pull out couch, linens were see-through, mattresses were like rocks. Shower had stains from dirty water drips and toilet had a ring around the bowl. Pipes must be very old as all water was brown and had to run awhile before it cleared up. Bought bottled water and did not shower for 2 days! No TV either. Would not stay here again. Scenery was beautiful, staff was friendly and other parts of the resort may be better, but certainly would not stay in an apartment again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb11562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    30
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
25
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed here for a conference from Sept 24-27. This is the 3rd year I have attended this conference and it has been held here every time. The view of the lake is beautiful and there are lots of things to do within driving distance.

The lobby is nice with lots of rocking chairs to look out over the lake. The staff is all very friendly-from the cleaning crew to the lunch servers. The check in/out was very easy and quick. They also had fresh coffee all day.

I stayed on the 5th floor...The room is VERY BASIC. The pillows and mattresses are just about on thier last legs and really need to be updated... but the sheets and towels were all very clean, no stains or discoloration. There is no hairdryer in the room...(which I had forgotten, so I had wet hair the whole time). Also, it seemed the air was cut off at night. Both my roommate and I would wake up around 2am feeling hot and smothered but by 5am it had kicked back on and was cool again when we woke up.

Lunch was ok. I LOVED the pecan pie and the salad bar was very nice but the main entree food was not what I would have picked to feed a huge group (broiled fish)...but that is not the fault of Lake J, but more on the conference committee.

The land is very well maintained and seems very safe. The are always people walking around the lake which is full of ducks, geese, swans and HUGE fish. There are beautiful rose bushes and bridges that form a 2.5 and 5 mile loop that you can take advantage of.

Although the rooms are in need of a little tlc, this is a great conference center that I enjoy returning to year after year.

Room Tip: There is a Dillards Outlet center that makes for some good shopping...800 Brevard Rd, Asheville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Appsgirl, thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear compliments about our staff, and I will pass those along. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Junaluska. I have made a note regarding your comments about the air conditioning, and will inform our maintenance staff about that. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Have stayed there three times and family loves it. Stayed in apartments each time which are not at all fancy but clean and have kitchenette. If you want something a little more upscale then stay in one of the hotels. Beautiful lake, grounds, nice facilities, a man made waterfall where bridge is with picnic area and stream down below. To us is great place to stay and is convenient to so many attractions and cities in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Jonathan J, thank you for your review, and we are delighted that you and your family enjoy your visits to Lake Junaluska. We hoe that you will visit Lake Junaluska again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Before planning a senior adult retreat for the older adults at my church, my husband and I went to Lake Junaluska to see the property. We were most impressed with everything we saw. The rooms in the hotel are being refurbished and we stayed in one of the finished rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the view of the lake out our window was breath taking. The sun setting on the lake is such a beautiful sight. Next time we will do a sunset cruise on the lake. The restaurant food was very tasty and the waitstaff were so friendly. You really felt like they were glad you were dining with them. We will be going back with our group in October. I am anxious to be in this beautiful location when the trees are spectacular. I am excited to share this with my group.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the far end from the check in counter facing the lake are bigger rooms with king be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagent59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
travelagent59, thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a chance to experience the beauty of Lake Junaluska. We look forward to your return visit in October.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Lake Junaluska provided an excellent location for our annual family reunion. Our large family was able to rent out an entire building, the Lakeside Lodge, which included a large common meeting area for everyone to gather. While the place is quite dated it was clean which is the main thing and the beds were comfortable. Very nice swimming pool area. We rented a canoe and they also have paddle boats. There are also nice walking paths. We also reserved a large gazebo for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
thinson, we are delighted that your family reunion enjoyed its stay at Lake Junaluska, and we hope that you can join us again soon. We are glad that Lake Junaluska provided a place where your family could gather together and enjoy the recreational opportunities such as the walking path and the paddle boats. We hope that you can join us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My entire family and our friends loved this place! Lake Junaluska offers economically priced cabins, dorms, apartments, motel rooms, and camping facilities. During the summer it is a great place to stay while exploring the Great Smoky Mountains. The meals were simple southern dishes that were cooked in a healthy style. The room accomodations are very simple but clean (no telephones or televisions). We took day trips to the Biltmore Estates, Dolly Woods, and the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and National Park. We shopped for handmade jewelry (from the nearby sapphire mine), arts and crafts while the men particpated in water sports (rafting, skiiing), golf, and snowboarding and skiing. Great slopes... There were plenty of activities for the kids as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penntrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Penntrainer, we are delighted that your family and friends enjoyed your stay at Lake Junaluska! We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the many local and regional attractions of Western North Carolina during your time with us. Thank you for your review, and we hope you visit again with us soon!
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I had the wonderful experience of visiting Lake Junaluska during the Applachian Christmas weekend activities. Lisa's review "Lake Junaluska: Jem of a Getaway" does a great job of explaining the experience. I echo her comments.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHPColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
DHPColubmia_SC, we are glad that like Lisa, you also had a wonderful experience during Appalachian Christmas weekend! We have a lot of great programs planned for 2012 including another Appalachian Christmas weekend. We hope that you can join us again soon! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your positive experiences.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Junaluska
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
7.0 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center

Property: Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Address: 91 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745-9730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Junaluska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 400 lodging rooms we can easily accommodate groups of all sizes and budgets. All of our facilities are unique inside and out. From the historic columns of Lambuth Inn to the spectacular views from the Terrace Hotel dining room, our lodging will make your visit exceptional and memorable. Also available are the Lakeside Lodge, a motel style facility as well as the Sunnyside Lodge and Mountain View Lodges, with dormitory style rooms with private baths. The Junaluska Apartments are great for families and youth groups with kitchenettes in most units and a wide range of accommodations are available at our Camp Adventure camp ground from tents and RV hookups to cabins and apartment efficiencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Junaluska Conference And Retreat Hotel Lake Junaluska
Lake Junaluska Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing