We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lake Junaluska Conference Center is a little bit of heaven. There are a variety of accommodations from tent camping and hotel suites, to cabins and apartments. The views are incredible and the people are friendly, There are numerous activities, as well as a pool, walking trail and you are just down the road from Cherokee. You can stay as busy or as relaxed as you like. You choose!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
ecm777, thank you for sharing your images and kind words about Lake Junaluska. We hope you come back soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
25
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The double bed rooms at the Terrace Hotel really needed a deep cleaning as did all the windows on the hotel. Lovely grounds, nice range of amenities and a really cool auditorium. Did not eat at the hotel but went into Waynesville for dinner and can recommend The Sweet Onion. It was great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centerseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
centerseat, thank you for your feedback. I will pass on your comments to our Chief Operating Officer regarding the Terrace. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

There one night for business in the area. Stayed at the Terrace Hotel in one of the renovated rooms. Had a great client dinner in downtown Waynesville... 6 mins away. Had to hurry in the morning so enjoyed coffee and pasty from the cafe right out the hotels front door. Look, it was a quick business trip and would have loved to walk around the scenic flower lined lake but, no time - next time I will! Experience was all good.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Doug A, we are glad that you had a pleasant business trip and stay at the Terrace. We hope that you will come back soon and have a chance to walk around the lake.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first time camping here, & we loved it! Very well maintained & great location. We had a campsite off the main road, which was very peaceful. The staff were friendly & helpful, & it was an overall wonderful place to stay. We didn't want to leave! The campground can accommodate any rig, & there are endless things to do in this area for all ages. If you stay, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnauzerlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Schnauzerlovers, we are so glad that you have a pleasant time camping at Lake Junaluska. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope that you come back soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We found the Terrace Hotel to be a nice spot for our family reunion. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we liked that the sink is outside the bathroom. We bought the meal plan for the dining room and found the food to be mostly good with nice staff. Did not expect to have to tip for the buffet style meals but wanted to reward the attentive staff. The outside could use some attention to cleaning, especially sweeping. Liked the view of the lake and especially enjoyed the walking path around it. The outdoor swimming pool on the grounds could have been cleaner in the shallow end and more chairs would be nice to have. Especially enjoyed attending church services in the worship center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Wltarheel, we are glad that your family enjoyed their family reunion at Lake Junaluska. I will pass your concerns about the cleaning of outdoor spaces and the pool to our Chief Operating Officer. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a nice family place - the lake is beautiful with the mountains in the background! We enjoyed the paved path around the lake as well as the boat tour, and gardens (liked the native one the best). We stayed in the apartments which were dated but clean, convenient, and affordable. Waynesville is close by which is a very charming mountain town with nice shops and restaurants (not too touristy & far from tacky tourist stop). Also, had a fabulous birthday dinner at The Blue Rooster - great food and excellent southern hospitality!

Room Tip: the apartments don't have TVs and or internet which was fine with us for this trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thigpenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
thigpenc, we are glad that your family had a pleasant stay for your mother's 85th birthday. Thank you for your kind review of our grounds - I will pass your compliments on to our grounds keeping crew. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unicoi, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Was thhere for a retreat, stayed at mountainview lodge, the museum is amazing so much history! Very well maintained! Ate at at the terrace hotel food was excellent and friendly staff everywhere!...................................

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DylanUnicoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review, DylanUnicoi. We are glad that you had a chance to explore our museum and learn more about our history. I will pass along your positive comments regarding the food to our staff. Lake Junaluska's Centennial is next year (2013), and it will be a great opportunity to explore Lake Junaluska's rich history further. We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Junaluska
0.1 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#3 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
94 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
603 reviews
3.5 mi away
Laurel Park Inn
Laurel Park Inn
#6 of 8 in Maggie Valley
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center

Property: Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Address: 91 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745-9730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Junaluska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 400 lodging rooms we can easily accommodate groups of all sizes and budgets. All of our facilities are unique inside and out. From the historic columns of Lambuth Inn to the spectacular views from the Terrace Hotel dining room, our lodging will make your visit exceptional and memorable. Also available are the Lakeside Lodge, a motel style facility as well as the Sunnyside Lodge and Mountain View Lodges, with dormitory style rooms with private baths. The Junaluska Apartments are great for families and youth groups with kitchenettes in most units and a wide range of accommodations are available at our Camp Adventure camp ground from tents and RV hookups to cabins and apartment efficiencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Junaluska Conference And Retreat Hotel Lake Junaluska
Lake Junaluska Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing