We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Methodist Retreat, but for everybody”
Review of Lambuth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lambuth Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, NC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Methodist Retreat, but for everybody”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Senior/Adult group, Pine Valley Travelers, visited Lake Junaluska on November 13 - 15. Our trip was designed to tour the Biltmore House at Christmas time.
It turned out that the Lambuth Inn became part of the tour.
Some reviewers have said that the Inn was less than what they expected, but our experience was that the staff goes to any lengths to meet the needs of visitors. The toilet seat in our room was cracked and I reported it the next morning. The seat was replaced within an hour of reporting the problem.
We ate on dinner and two breakfasts in the cafeteria/restaurant located in the Lambuth Inn. The breakfast was a typical buffet, with bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, grits, oatmeal, sausage gravy, toast, biscuits, cereal, fruit, and some very, very good coffee.
Having eaten powdered eggs in the Air Force I can assure you that these were not powdered, unless the cooks are even better than what I perceive.
The view from the Inn is spectacular, and those rooms without a special view is easy to understand when you realize that not all the rooms can be on the same side of the building. In a mountain hotel, somebody has to have a close-up view of the mountain. Which is what we had. But then we never stay in our room to see the view.
The room we had was furnished with a double bed and a single. This was a good arrangement for us.
Would we stay there again? Absolutely!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, which affords a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquareCaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
SquareCaller, Thank you for your review from your group's visit to Lake Junaluska. I will pass on your compliments about the staff to our Chief Operating Officer, who will share your words with the staff. We hope you visit again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    32
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
29
12
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family only spent one night at the Lambuth Inn. We had booked a lakefront room with 2 queen beds, but arrived to find that we were not placed in a lakefront room. (I had originally booked online and later called to confirm the specific type of room as we were traveling with our 2 y.o. daughter). We were moved to a lakefront room with only one queen bed. The room was much smaller than anticipated, and it was in need of a deep cleaning. My sister was also staying and had booked a King, but she didn't get that either. Neither of us will be staying at the Lambuth again.

On the up side, the location was absolutely stunning. The lake is beautiful. I would visit again as a day trip to enjoy a hike around the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms by the porch/balcony are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
mimi722, thank you for your review. I have passed your comments about your visit to our Chief Operating Officer. We hope you will visit again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just spent a weekend at the Lambuth Inn and it was Ok. The room was small with two double beds. The placement of the desk/table blocked off part of the room. I wonder if this was formerly a single room with two double beds squeezed in.
The bathroom was small, clean, but was supplied with small, very thin towels.
The view from our room was the brick wall of the next wing over, plus windows that looked right into ours.
There are an abundance of public areas finished in a vaguely Victorian style. Our third floor had public balconies in the front and back of the building. They offered nice views but they were not as clean and maintained as the rest of the building.
The breakfast was a buffet with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and toast and fruit mix. The not-hot eggs tasted like powered eggs, the not-hot meat was greasy and the fruit was a thawed frozen mix. The coffee was hot and the serving staff kept our cups full.
Over all, it was clean and basic accommodations.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
CarolinaChic, thank you for your review. I will pass along your concerns to our management staff.
Blessings, Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We took a group of our older adults from our church here and they loved this place. The hotel sits high on the hilltop above the Lake and has great views all around it of the mountains and lake. Food service for our group was wonderful with many delicious meals enjoyed here. This is a great place for retreats and conferences. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Give Lambuth Inn a try. I think you will like it too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Fred H, we are so glad that your group enjoyed their experience at Lake Junaluska. I will pass along your kind words to our food service staff. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Blessings, Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I got stuck at this hotel because the Terrace was full. I knew it wasn't going to be good, but I really didn't expect it to be so bad. First of all, the room was not clean. There was dried coffee puddles on the marble window sill. One of the upholstered chairs had a stain on it that looked suspiciously like pee. The beds were old and worn out. The whole lobby area is decorated in dark Victorian furniture complete with fringed drapes reminiscent of Gone with the Wind (not in a good way!). The luggage carts were rickety and did not roll smoothly. I was advised upon check in that I was required to buy the meal plan with my room. That was an additional $116 for a 4 night stay. The food was hit or miss. One day they had chicken salad with croissants that were rock hard. The rooms have no refrigerator or microwave. So if you wanted a drink of water you either had to drink spigot water or spend a dollar on a bottle of water. $106 per night is way too much to pay for this run down hotel. I would have gotten a better room at Motel 6. Crazy that they can get away with this!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere (anywhere) else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have passed your concerns on to the Chief Operating Officer. We hope that you will be able to visit Lake Junaluska in the future and experience the improvements we have planned.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The reviews on this site do not reflect the ambience of the Lambuth Inn. There are beautiful antiques, oriental rugs, cherry furniture, and the feel of home in this inn. The food is country-style and may not be big city food, but it is southern all the way! Great shrimp and scalloped potato meal greeted us the first evening! The staff is super friendly, and there is nothing to equal sitting on that huge porch in those wonderful rockers and looking below at the beautiful lake and straight ahead at some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen in my life! Peaceful and comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front. The second floor rooms have rocking chairs on the balcony. -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare_fan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Shakespeare_fan40, thank you for your positive feedback! I will pass on your compliments about the food and landscaping to our food service staff and landscaping crew. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Stephanie Drum
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The rooms were not clean at all. The sheets on the beds looked like they hadn't been changed from the previous occupants. There were hairs all over the sheets on both beds and they looked like a 5 year old made them. The mattress pads had spots on them and looked like they've never been washed. We requested clean sheets and made both beds ourselves. The bathroom was just as dirty, hairs in the tub and the towels were ripped and falling apart.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lambuth Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
kkarie, thank you for your review. I have passed your concerns on to the housekeeping supervisor. We hope that you will be able to visit Lake Junaluska in the future and experience the improvements we have planned.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Junaluska
0.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
4.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 6 - Waynesville
Super 6 - Waynesville
#5 of 8 in Waynesville
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambuth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambuth Inn

Property: Lambuth Inn
Address: 91 North Lakeshore Drive, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745-9745
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Junaluska
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lambuth Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1921, Lambuth Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Sites. A popular destination for many guests, Lambuth Inn offers panoramic views of Lake Junaluska and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Inside, you will find a recently refurbished and updated full service facility that will meet the needs of any group. Lambuth Inn also offers a unique prayer chapel, which provides an intimate setting for reflection and meditation. There are 131 sleeping rooms, which will accommodate from 1 to 6 guests, depending on the number of beds in each room. Rooms are furnished with flat screen TVs, telephone, in room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryers, alarm clock radio, private baths, heat and a/c. All linens are provided as well as housekeeping services. All rooms have wireless internet access, handicap accessible rooms are available, and the Lambuth Inn has 3 elevators to allow convenient access to guest rooms. There is a dining room that serves buffet style meals for up to 350 guests. There are also several meeting rooms that will accommodate from 15 to 225 guests. Some meeting spaces can be used as banquet rooms and provide a pleasant atmosphere for receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lambuth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambuth Hotel Lake Junaluska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing