We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Junaluska
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Terrace at Lake Junaluska
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have never complained about a hotel, but I've never been attacked by bed bugs until if visited the Lake Junaluska Terrace Hotel for one evening. The hotel is dated, dingy and dirty. The lake and area are beautiful, the staff friendly, but I won't return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 240ErichS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at The Terrace at Lake Junaluska, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We take our guests' feedback very seriously. After receiving your feedback, we immediately had our facilities professionally inspected. We can confirm that there are no bedbugs. We maintain routine inspections of our establishments, and the comfort and safety of our guests are our priority. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    47
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
49
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed on the 4th floor. I had a crappy view of the roof and air conditioners. They did get new mattresses and pillows and towels. It's just a drop in the ocean at this place. The hallways are dark and dingy. Grout in bathroom is yucky. Still no fridge or microwave and the ice machine looks dirty. Staff were not friendly and welcoming. Still too much to pay for this room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at The Terrace at Lake Junaluska, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Upgrades to Lake Junaluska facilities are ongoing, and we appreciate your patience. We hope you will notice a difference upon your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Well, I still don't understand how The Terrace Hotel can charge over $120 for a room. No microwave, no refrigerator. I did, however, get a decent view this time. I had to ask again and again if they had cancellations for front rooms because they had me booked in a back room. My friend got a back room and people walk by and look right in at you. I guess I was just a squeaky wheel because they did honor my request. Cyndi was most helpful. She signed me in at the welcome center and then was at the Terrace desk when I checked out. And one more thing: I thought they were remodeling. The rooms looked like they did before. The Terrace still does not deserve a "very good" rating. But at least it was a little better. Maybe next year!

Room Tip: Tell them you do not want a room on the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at The Terrace at Lake Junaluska, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I have passed your concerns on to our Chief Operating Officer. I will pass on your compliments to Cyndi at the front desk.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed for 4 nights and had requested a room with a lakeview. What I got was a room with a roof view. Yuck. Room was not very clean. Housekeeping did not even vaccuum the rooms. They would make the bed and a couple of times they changed the towels. At $125/night I expect more.

Room Tip: Stay some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at The Terrace at Lake Junaluska, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
freakingumby, we appreciate your feedback. I have communicated your concerns to my supervisor. Lake Junaluska is in the process of renovations, and we hope you can come back and visit soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I often plan small group trips for friends several times a year. Since our family rents a home at Lake Junaluska each year, I decided to take a group to the Terrace Hotel for a long weekend. We were all pleased with our rooms, each of which overlooked the beautiful lake. The lake also has a wonderful walking trail around its perimeter. The rooms were not fancy (did not even include a hair dryer) but were clean and fairly spacious. At less than $80 per night, we were all well satisfied with the rates, as we have paid much more per night in other mountain resort areas. The small gift shop at the hotel is staffed by a friendly, helpful young lady and I purchased an unusual piece of pottery made from silt from the lake! Lake Junaluska is the most beautiful, peaceful and spiritual place, no matter where you should decide to stay (they have many options) and is a ten minute drive to the charming town of Waynesville, which has numerous restaurants and nice shops. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who just want to get away and enjoy themselves and relax in the gorgeous NC mountains.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorthSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I stayed here with my Youth Group when we went skiing, and also for confirmation.

Granted, this isn't a 5 star resort, but it's not bad, either.

There is free coffee in the lobby, and the staff is always nice.

They do have a few computers in the lobby, but they are pretty old.

Beds are nice.. I have stayed in a room with twin beds both time. Last time I was there, they had very nice flat screen tv's

There are vending machines and Ice Makers at the end of every floor.

I love to stay here while in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rainytwilight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

I planned my youth group's ski trip with Lake Junaluska this year and it was absolutely wonderful. Everyone who went on our trip (kids and parents) had a great time. The accommodations were fantastic, the staff was extremely friendly and everything was organized so well that it made the weekend extremely easy and enjoyable for me. We definitely plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Junaluska
0.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
4.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
0.0 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#3 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
7.2 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace at Lake Junaluska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace at Lake Junaluska

Property: The Terrace at Lake Junaluska
Address: 689 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745-9745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Junaluska
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Junaluska
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking beautiful Lake Junaluska, Terrace Hotel is a popular choice with many because of its central location and full service facilities. Relax in a rocking chair along the lakeside terrace or enjoy a peaceful walk through the adjacent rose garden. Terrace Hotel offers all the best of Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center. There are 105 sleeping rooms, each of which will accommodate 1 to 4 guests. Rooms are furnished with flat screen TVs, telephone, in room coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryers, alarm clock radio, private baths, heat and a/c. All linens are provided as well as housekeeping services. Internet service is available in all rooms, handicap accessible rooms are available and the hotel is equipped with 4 elevators allow easy access to guest rooms and meeting spaces. Terrace Hotel consists of several meeting rooms that will accommodate from 40 to 350 guests. There is a dining room that serves buffet style meals for up to 350 guests. Some meeting spaces can be used as banquet rooms and provide a pleasant atmosphere for receptions. Deluxe King Rooms - Our most recent renovations in the Terrace Hotel are 5 guest rooms outfitted with King Beds, Flat Panel TVs and remodeled bathrooms, with solid surface countertops and upgraded lighting. The Deluxe King rooms offer premier views of Lake Junaluska and are convenient to meeting and dining spaces, as well as the hotel front desk and lobby. Please click on the photo below for a view of one of these rooms. Free Wireless Internet access is available in the lodging rooms, dinning rooms, lobby and meeting space of the Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing