We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Athens, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Weekend”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in the Apple Valley Villas for our long-weekend stay. We came for a regional golf tournament and had a very pleasant experience. While my boyfriend was off playing golf there was plenty of things for me to do around the resort. I enjoyed sitting on the terrace of the Lakeview Restaurant overlooking Lake Lure and reading a book while he was out playing.

Our villa was very comfortable and quiet. We did not utilize the kitchenette but it appeared adequate. The bathroom was clean with enough towels provided to last us the four days, three nights, we were there (if you need more it appeared there would be a charge). The water pressure in the shower was better then expected and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend bringing your own pillows as ours were very lumpy. The A/C unit cooled the villa down quickly, even it was kind of loud. The villas are not on the main resort campus so we did not have a view of the lake but it was a short, 2 minute drive from where we needed to go.

The resort offers a health center, mini golf, lazy river, "beach" access and two golf courses. My boyfriend enjoyed the Apple Valley course better then the other course but both were will managed. There are two outdoor pools but we chose to go to the Apple Valley pool as it is geared more towards adults. There was hardly anyone at the pool the two times we went so we were able to swim and relax without lots of kids. Bring your own beach towels because we read that the resort charges for beach towels and other little things. We played mini-golf our last night there which cost $10. For a resort, I feel that things like towels, inner-tubes, and mini-golf should be included.

The restaurants were hit or miss. Our first night we ate at Legends which is the pub at the main resort. They were very busy and it the type where you pick your seat and a waitress comes to see if you have been helped. Our waitress was not good (didn't know what beers were on tap, messed up our order, never brought the check) we ended up complaining to one of the other waiters right after the table behind us complained to. The bar also ran out of draft beer and only had canned beer left (what?!?) Our meal ended up being comped because everything was so messed up. It was typically bar food but my boyfriend said the hot wings were excellent. Legends is the cheapest place at the resort to eat so we ended up eating there our last night too. We had a different waitress who was awesome and it was a much better experience. I ate lunch at the Lakeview restaurant. The staff was very polite and constantly checked on you. Since I was dining solo I struck up conversations with the staff and other guests as we looked out onto the lake. I ended up ordering my boyfriend a sandwich once he was done with the tournament and our waitress packaged his BLT up quickly and put all extras on the side for him. We did not try the Luna del Sol restaurant at Apple Valley as we are not big Italian food eaters and the menu seemed limited.

Overall it was a great, quiet, relaxing weekend away. We would return.

Room Tip: Apple Valley is not on the main campus of Rumbling Bald Resort so the rooms are not as pricey as som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and our amenities. Additional towels for rentals are provided at no charge. Please forgive us for any inconsistency with our restaurant service. Your comments have been shared with our staff to help us make improvements. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    97
    32
    30
    23
See reviews for
145
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We just returned from a wonderful 3 night mini ladies retreat at Rumbling Bald resort and we were very pleased with our accommodations and all this resort had to offer. We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom deluxe in Fox Den Unit #304 and felt like we were in a very nice tree house when we were in the living room because of all the tall trees surrounding the house and 2 sliding glass doors leading to little porches on each side. We were frequently amused by the playful and friendly squirrels! Everything was beyond our expectations. The resort has a very nice beach area, playground for the kids, all kinds of boat rentals, huge outdoor pools with a lazy river, indoor pool, exercise room, tennis courts, basketball courts, corn hole games, miniature golf course, and basketball courts. This is a beautiful and well cared for resort and all the staff are very friendly and helpful too. We will be returning and bringing our families next visit.

Room Tip: It is best to ask for a unit that is not connected to other units for more privacy like the one we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelgirl1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It was great to have you as our guest while you were visiting beautiful Lake Lure. Our staff was excited to hear everything exceeded your expectations! We hope to have your family stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmCity
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is the first time that I am writing a review but I was so impressed with Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure that I felt compelled to do so. We stayed at the Apple Valley RV Resort which is part of the Resort and we just loved it. The area of Lake Lure is so scenic and the RV Resort was one of the nicest we have stayed at. The service of everyone we came in contact with was outstanding! We had to make several changes to our Itinerary and they were so accommodating and pleasant. There are two golf courses on the properties and they were in great condition and the views were spectacular not to mention the price was very reasonable since we stayed at the resort and got a discount. We can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Apple Valley Resort and we can't wait to go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardena6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our Apple Valley RV Resort. Guests frequently comment that it is one of the nicest and most scenic parks they have stayed in. We welcome you back.


Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband was in a golf tournament at Rumbling Bald, so we decided to make a mini family vacation out of the weekend. We stayed in Apple Valley Efficiency Unit #16. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into this unit. The decor was quaint and appeared to be well taken care of. The back porch was super cute. There were herbs, such as basil, oregano, parsley, and others growing in containers. I loved this! I wanted to snip a few to bring home, but wasn't sure that was appropriate. If we return to Rumbling Bald, we will definitely stay in this unit again.

The Resort itself was fun too. We had an excellent time kayaking on the lake. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the golf courses, although he did like the Apple Valley course the best of the two. I do, however, have a few complaint, and thus the reason for only giving the resort 4 stars. First, they have a lazy river, but you have to either provide your own float or purchase one from their snack bar. They are $6 each. I feel as though they should provide floats for everyone to use and return. I have never been to a resort where they had a lazy river but did not provide floats. The second complaint about the lazy river is that there were bees flying all around. I asked the pool attendant if they were bees and she confirmed, but told me they weren't aggressive. It made me very nervous for my family to float in the river with all those bees, and I finally decided we would not go in the lazy river. This did not make for happy children. The final complaint is that we had to pay to play mini golf. We have stayed at a lot of resorts, and things like this are usually inclusive in the fee you pay to stay at the resort.

Overall, I feel these are minor complaints, and I must say that every person we came into contact with who worked at Rumbling Bald was polite and courteous. Our stay was great and enjoyable. We will definitely return!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Duckyhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for staying at Rumbling Bald Resort. We appreciate your kind comments about our Apple Valley unit, kayaking, and golf course. Please forgive us for the bees around the Lazy River. I know they must have been unsettling and we have since taken care of them. We do not have a daily resort fee here at Rumbling Bald and, therefore, have to charge a fee for some amenities. We do our best to keep this as minimal as possible. We truly value your business and welcome your return with "open arms."

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I was in charge of the arrangements for 20 people on our golf package. None of our guys were ever here before nor did they know about Bald. We had three days of golf and 2 nights in great accomidations. Both the Bald Mountain course and the Apple Valley course were in great shape.
At night right across the street from our condos were picnic areas for grilling out and nice benches to sit and relax. Saturday night we enjoyed the D.J. at the pub and watch some great karoke singers including yours truly. The staff was great and ready to handle our requests with prompt service. We enjoyed a great luncheon on Sunday before our trip home, the food was excellent. We all enjoyed the hugh pools. All 20 guys really enjoyed the accomidations and the price. We have booked another trip later this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenk0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We know planning a golf getaway can be challenging. We hope to do our best to make it easy for you! I’m glad everyone enjoyed themselves, especially the karaoke. We are excited about your return later this year!


Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

There was so much to do here that all of the families in our family reunion group were happy. We had over 80 people staying at 10 properties inside and outside the resort. There was always a place to gather and another activity to do if you were so inclined. The outdoor pool complex was very clean and had activity areas for toddlers, kids, teens and relaxing adults. Free compressed air hose to blowup all the toys! The Volleyball set up in the large pool was used extensively by our group. The pool and beach were popular, but not overcrowded. There was a nice fireworks display the night we arrived. My boys loved the tennis (small charge) and basketball (free).
There was a nice brisk Walking Group that met at 7am weekdays at the fitness center -- what a nice way to see parts of the resort while getting a workout. The group was a mixture of visitors and residents who had great advice about where to go and what to see. The Lake was typical of a Carolina inland lake -- nice but ... well not up to Michigan lake standards. But not everyone gets to live in the Land of Lakes the other weeks of the year like we do!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! We are fortunate to have families of all ages visit us. We do our best to provide amenities and activities for everyone. Next year, you will have to try our new mountain bikes! We hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramseur, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My family has stayed at this resort several times & plan to return again. We usually have stayed in the Maple Ridge area, but this year we were lucky enough to get the Mountain Loft area close to the recreation area. It turned out be an absolutely awesome vacation this year. My husband enjoyed golfing while my daughter & I enjoyed swimming in both the lake & the Trout Stream pool. We got mani-pedi's together, took a scenic boat tour of Lake Lure, got ice cream at the beach cabana, & ate lunch together during a break from swimming & golfing at the Legends grill. We only left the resort one time to go a horseback trail ride. They also offer a kid's camp on Wed, Thurs, & Fri with day-long activities for the kids. Awesome place to stay, it's always one of our very favorites!

Room Tip: Mountain Loft is great for kids, Maple Ridge great if you like a little quieter area. One-bedroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We’re thankful your family chose to stay at Rumbling Bald Resort. Thank you for your recommendation. It means a lot to us.


Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.5 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,197 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
586 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Property: Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Address: 112 Mountain Blvd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9852
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. With close to 150 vacation rentals that range in all sizes and price ranges. Each home, studio and condo on the Resort property are individually owned and each site therefore has a unique personality. Our rental sites are fully furnished, but will vary in the amenities each offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing