We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner!”

La Strada at Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: La Strada is a romantic Italian restaurant overlooking beautiful Lake Lure. Come visit us and surround yourself with plush mountains and a picturesque lake while you dine on our elevated covered terrace. Lake Lure received its name because it was said that the scenery and peacefulness lured you back time after time. We hope our rich family traditions and vintage recipes will have the same affect. In 1974 La Strada opened the first of several locations in Charlotte, North Carolina. Starting as a small family business specializing in New York style brick oven pizza and traditional Italian cuisine; word quickly spread about the great food and La Strada became a Charlotte favorite. After over 35 years of serving great food in Charlotte, La Strada and the original family members came to Lake Lure with their family recipes offering one of the most varied and unique menus in the area. There’s something special for everyone!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our server, Destiny, was very personable and attentive. The food was amazing. The view was incredible. We sat on the patio and dined at sunset and it was just gorgeous. We split the lasagna, thankfully since it was huge, and each got a salad. We also got the calamari which was very tasty. The prices were reasonable and the food was great. We will definitely be back again on our next visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    295
    116
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
2 reviews
“Just ok”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We sat outside and found the patio, tables, etc dirty. We ordered pizza, which we found just ok. Maybe we were visted on an off day, since it generally comes recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank guinnessCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Real NY Italian food in North Carolina -- this was one of our favorite dinners of our whole trip. Beautiful restaurant, fantastic view, extremely good service, and some of the best Italian food I've had since growing up in NY. The lasagna was simply AMAZING, and my husband's Pesto Penne alfredo dish was incredible. My teenage son gave the pizza a 10. If you are in this area, you must not miss this place!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
277 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Super food in a super location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We moved in here for a brunch on our way back to Charlotte but the food was so good we ended up having a real heavy lunch. The fish was fresh, the pizzas and pastas authentic and the choice of wines and beers a plenty. The staff here had the most refreshing smile and delivered service impeccably.

The location of the restaurant is also something to write about. If you chose a table on the covered verandah, you will be overlooking Lake Lure. What more could a tourist ask for?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the view”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

totally not what I thought! to see the outside you would think this restaurant was just your average pizza joint but it was far from average!! the food is good, the atmosphere was laid back, and the service was ok. He could have checked on his tables more, all of his tables not just us. supper was so good that we went back and got some takeout to go back to our room. the bacon and bbq cheeseburger is amazing!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Strada at Lake Lure also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to La Strada at Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing