We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was our second wonderful visit to the Lodge. We had stayed there about 10 years prior and knew we wanted to return. Picture a lovely lodge tucked in a hillside overlooking a beautiful mountain lake. We stayed in the lake house and loved the deck overlooking the grounds and the lake. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting the friendly owner and drinking his fine wine in the evenings. Morning breakfast was elegant and delicious. We hope to return soon. The location is excellent for sightseeing too. Very close to Chimney Rock and not too far to the lovely town of Brevard. Close to Pearson's Falls too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Plantation Rose - beautiful. The lake house is separate from the main lodge and we lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    46
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
241
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We wanted to treat our three daughters to a very special weekend and to celebrate graduations. Knowing that in a few years they will marry and family dynamics will change, we wanted our " Lake Lure " weekend to be a very special and memorable family time.
I called months ahead and talked with someone to advice to the best rooms for us and decided the girls would stay in Africa Queens and my husband and I would stay in the adjoining Plantation Rose. Perfect choice as both rooms open up to a shared balcony with a breath-taking view of the lake.
I set up a snack area in the girls' kitchenette and their room had ample space for them to spread out. The girls were quite impressed with the more modern look and art. Our Plantation Rose room was just beautiful and reminded me of our room we loved in Paris.
At 5 pm, appetizers and wine are served (owner's private vineyard) and because the weather was so perfect, we strolled on down to the deck on the lake. The view was spectacular! Then back to the room to change for dinner (dress is casual) at their Treetops Restaurant. The meals are delicious and service impeccable. We ate dinner both nights there and can not imagine going anywhere else. The breakfasts were so delicious and my husband, who loves to start his day with a great breakfast, was a happy man.
What do you do all day with 3 girls? Upon recommendation from the staff, we took a trail ride which was such a fun adventure with Tammy deserving very bit of her tip. Chimney Rock was fun during the day and ending with a late-afternoon Boat Tour.
We didn't want to leave and our girls said the weekend was dreamy. What a memory. (Plus I came out as the master of planning a wonderful time).
And the good news...my husband wants to take just me back. Ha.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Floating on Lake Lure, you could certainly image that you are on a lake in Northern Italy. And, the warm European charm of The Lodge on Lake Lure would do nothing to betray your daydream.

The Lodge, as the name implies, is located on magnificent Lake Lure in the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. You will discover warmth and ambiance are keynotes at this quaint mountain hideaway when either Horst, the owner, or his staff make you feel instantly welcomed at check-in. The Lodge is a 17 room waterfront B&B and country inn with every room uniquely named and appointed . . . and, you can see every room on the Lodge's website when planning your trip. The rooms have names like Looking Glass, Chocolate Paws, and African Queen's Room . . . which I am sure must have been created to remind Horst and his wife of their home in South Africa.

While The Lodge on Lake Lure will serve as a special getaway treat for my wife, Amy, and me . . . it has the potential to be so much more than that alone. The Lodge has a small conference room, so it could easily serve as the location for a unique business meeting. And, it is serving as the wedding destination for our dear friends' daughter. This is sure to be a very special event.

As other reviews have stated, there is much that could be written about The Lodge on Lake Lure. But, long story short, The Lodge is a very special place you can go to relax and re-charge. And, most important of all, I feel certain that you won't be disappointed in the setting, food, or staff. The Lodge is certainly a place to enjoy.

Note: You do want to try Horst's private lable wine . . . if available. And, only guests are permitted to buy a bottle.

As you can see from an attached photo, Horst interrupted his meal to greet us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRossAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

These folks live and breathe hospitality. The room is perfect, clawfoot tub and all. We played a little game with one another, trying to find a speck of dust anywhere. We failed...The food is exceptional. The staff is friendly and cordial without being overbearing. We love the location and would recommend the place to anyone wanting to get away for some fresh air.

From the moment you walk through the wonderful-smelling jasmine archway, you will be transported to a different world. I slept better than in my own bed and ate better than I do in my own hometown. We wish we could stay forever. Horst and his staff will be fondly remembered and we will visit as often as possible until we have a place of our own in Lake Lure. Thanks for everything...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustinclemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Only spent one night here but could have stayed forever. We were treated like royalty and the room was perfect. The facility was well run, everything was spotless, and the amenities were luxurious. Each room is individually decorated and very pleasing to be in. The breakfast even impressed my breakfast-expert husband. The cinnamon rolls alone sold me but the eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, and biscuits needed no improvement.
The outside surroundings are well cared for and the boathouse is a great place to sit in the evening to watch the boats go by.
Perfect place for relaxing after a long day on the road. Highly recommend spending more than one night. Dinner is available certain nights with reservations and there are local restaurants nearby. Wine reception is offered each evening and cookies, etc. are available almost all the time.
Yes, we will definitely go back - can't wait. And my husband never wanted to stay at a bed & breakfast but he is sold on The Lodge on Lake Lure.

Room Tip: (Sorry, accidentally clicked pool but not available) Stay in the Lake House if you can. For exerci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisuretraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you are plannng a trip to Lake Lure and want to relax in a beautiful, relaxing setting this is the place. We stayed for 6 nights in the African Queens room which is one of the largest and the only one with a small kitchenette (fridge and microwave). There is not enough room here to describe how gorgeous and comfortable it is - but it was all that and more! This room also has a wrap-around deck with great views of the lake.

The owners, Horst and Rebecca, are wonderful people and so are all the staff. Be sure to eat in their Treetops Restaurant which is gourmet and provides great views of the lake. Also ask about some of the wine from Horst's vineyard in South Africa. It was all excellent.

The central lodge itself is wonderfully decorated and inviting. There is also a comfortable lounge where there is a socal hour each day with wine, cheese, etc.

We cannot say enough about how satisfied we were with everything there. We highly recommend it and plan to return.

Ed and Diane from Jacksonville, Florida

Room Tip: We stayed in the African Queens room which is in the Lake House. We think that is the best place bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the lodge late April, and were blown away by the spectacular setting overlooking the beautiful Lake Lure. Our room was so comfortable and so tastefully furnished, our deck had a panoramic view of the lake.
The friendly caring management and staff made us feel at home and were always at hand to spoil us.
A must is to have the meat loaf for dinner, just sublime.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardImmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
16.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing