We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge on Lake Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband, myself and our 11 year old daughter stayed here for two nights this month. We hadn't even heard of Lake Lure before, but were on a road trip from Austin, TX and took the recommendation from John at the Canopy Ridge Farm right up the road from the lodge. From the moment we got there we were all awestruck by the beauty and serenity of the grounds. Upon check in we were greeted and shown to our room, the Roman Holiday. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our deck. The bathroom was the highlight for us, taking a hot bath in the clawfoot tub while watching the sunset through the windows was absolute heaven. We dined there both nights - one was a prefixe menu, the other night you ordered from the menu. The chef they have is very talented and you can tell there is great care put into the ingredients. Everything was fresh and cooked to perfection - we highly recommend eating here as well. In the morning the breakfast provided was delicious and be sure to enjoy it on the deck, weather permitting. We just can't say enough great things about Horst and his staff and we can't wait to go back. Our stay here was absolutely the highlight of our two week trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    45
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
234
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Imagine that a place existed where your heart and soul could reconnect, a place that allows escape from a hectic pace and where diamonds dance upon the water. This is exactly what we discovered at The Lodge. We encountered an exceptional staff who anticipated our every need and a most gracious owner Horst. Horst allowed us to bring the first dog ever permitted to stay at The Lodge, our miniature schnauzer "Rascal". Rascal and his owners enjoyed jaunts to the scenic boathouse and the winding trails laced into the terrain around The Lodge. The Secret Garden, our little slice of heaven, was the perfect retreat with it's own private balcony nestled in the treetops. The view will be forever etched in our memories! Thank you Horst for allowing our "Rascal" to be the first but certianly not last, dog to be welcomed at The Lodge. Please know the kindness, the atmosphere, the food and the tranquility will not soon be forgotten! See you again this fall!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffejmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was our second wonderful visit to the Lodge. We had stayed there about 10 years prior and knew we wanted to return. Picture a lovely lodge tucked in a hillside overlooking a beautiful mountain lake. We stayed in the lake house and loved the deck overlooking the grounds and the lake. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting the friendly owner and drinking his fine wine in the evenings. Morning breakfast was elegant and delicious. We hope to return soon. The location is excellent for sightseeing too. Very close to Chimney Rock and not too far to the lovely town of Brevard. Close to Pearson's Falls too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Plantation Rose - beautiful. The lake house is separate from the main lodge and we lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We wanted to treat our three daughters to a very special weekend and to celebrate graduations. Knowing that in a few years they will marry and family dynamics will change, we wanted our " Lake Lure " weekend to be a very special and memorable family time.
I called months ahead and talked with someone to advice to the best rooms for us and decided the girls would stay in Africa Queens and my husband and I would stay in the adjoining Plantation Rose. Perfect choice as both rooms open up to a shared balcony with a breath-taking view of the lake.
I set up a snack area in the girls' kitchenette and their room had ample space for them to spread out. The girls were quite impressed with the more modern look and art. Our Plantation Rose room was just beautiful and reminded me of our room we loved in Paris.
At 5 pm, appetizers and wine are served (owner's private vineyard) and because the weather was so perfect, we strolled on down to the deck on the lake. The view was spectacular! Then back to the room to change for dinner (dress is casual) at their Treetops Restaurant. The meals are delicious and service impeccable. We ate dinner both nights there and can not imagine going anywhere else. The breakfasts were so delicious and my husband, who loves to start his day with a great breakfast, was a happy man.
What do you do all day with 3 girls? Upon recommendation from the staff, we took a trail ride which was such a fun adventure with Tammy deserving very bit of her tip. Chimney Rock was fun during the day and ending with a late-afternoon Boat Tour.
We didn't want to leave and our girls said the weekend was dreamy. What a memory. (Plus I came out as the master of planning a wonderful time).
And the good news...my husband wants to take just me back. Ha.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Floating on Lake Lure, you could certainly image that you are on a lake in Northern Italy. And, the warm European charm of The Lodge on Lake Lure would do nothing to betray your daydream.

The Lodge, as the name implies, is located on magnificent Lake Lure in the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. You will discover warmth and ambiance are keynotes at this quaint mountain hideaway when either Horst, the owner, or his staff make you feel instantly welcomed at check-in. The Lodge is a 17 room waterfront B&B and country inn with every room uniquely named and appointed . . . and, you can see every room on the Lodge's website when planning your trip. The rooms have names like Looking Glass, Chocolate Paws, and African Queen's Room . . . which I am sure must have been created to remind Horst and his wife of their home in South Africa.

While The Lodge on Lake Lure will serve as a special getaway treat for my wife, Amy, and me . . . it has the potential to be so much more than that alone. The Lodge has a small conference room, so it could easily serve as the location for a unique business meeting. And, it is serving as the wedding destination for our dear friends' daughter. This is sure to be a very special event.

As other reviews have stated, there is much that could be written about The Lodge on Lake Lure. But, long story short, The Lodge is a very special place you can go to relax and re-charge. And, most important of all, I feel certain that you won't be disappointed in the setting, food, or staff. The Lodge is certainly a place to enjoy.

Note: You do want to try Horst's private lable wine . . . if available. And, only guests are permitted to buy a bottle.

As you can see from an attached photo, Horst interrupted his meal to greet us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRossAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

These folks live and breathe hospitality. The room is perfect, clawfoot tub and all. We played a little game with one another, trying to find a speck of dust anywhere. We failed...The food is exceptional. The staff is friendly and cordial without being overbearing. We love the location and would recommend the place to anyone wanting to get away for some fresh air.

From the moment you walk through the wonderful-smelling jasmine archway, you will be transported to a different world. I slept better than in my own bed and ate better than I do in my own hometown. We wish we could stay forever. Horst and his staff will be fondly remembered and we will visit as often as possible until we have a place of our own in Lake Lure. Thanks for everything...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustinclemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Only spent one night here but could have stayed forever. We were treated like royalty and the room was perfect. The facility was well run, everything was spotless, and the amenities were luxurious. Each room is individually decorated and very pleasing to be in. The breakfast even impressed my breakfast-expert husband. The cinnamon rolls alone sold me but the eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, and biscuits needed no improvement.
The outside surroundings are well cared for and the boathouse is a great place to sit in the evening to watch the boats go by.
Perfect place for relaxing after a long day on the road. Highly recommend spending more than one night. Dinner is available certain nights with reservations and there are local restaurants nearby. Wine reception is offered each evening and cookies, etc. are available almost all the time.
Yes, we will definitely go back - can't wait. And my husband never wanted to stay at a bed & breakfast but he is sold on The Lodge on Lake Lure.

Room Tip: (Sorry, accidentally clicked pool but not available) Stay in the Lake House if you can. For exerci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisuretraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
16.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
23.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing