We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to enjoy lake lure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in this inn years ago, it changed owners and was shut down for a long time for renovations, so we strayed away. Tried it again this year and were quite pleased. Staff friendly and professional. Room was clean and well furnished. It was a bit noisy because of a vent in the hall but this was no major problem. Good appetizers and wine in the evening is the gathering room. We recommend dinner here, the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Lodge itself is gorgeous. Loved the true Lodge feel. Breakfast was fantastic and you can make reservations for dinner if you want to stick around the lodge. We didn't have dinner here - but spent just as much at Larkins on the Lake and the service at Larkins wasn't great and the food probably wasn't as good either - so I would make a reservation for dinner there if you can. We stayed two nights. The first breakfast was omelets and the second was your choice of French toast or eggs benedict. There are appetizers between 5 and 6pm, along with a complimentary glass of wine. The lodge has a boat house with 2 canoes for your use. We really enjoyed canoeing on the lake. We stayed in Mellow Yellow. It was a nice room located with several other rooms separate from the main lodge. The only complaints I have are that there is no fridge available for you to store any cold items. You have to bring a cooler and ask them to fill it with ice. While the staff is delightful and will fill the cooler with ice for you, it is a bit of a pain and not as trusty as a fridge with items like mayo or milk. The other complaint is that Mellow Yellow has a door that connects it to the barn room. It is well locked, but you can hear just about everything that happens in the room next door and the couple in the next room attempted to open the door a few times. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our anniversary stay at the Lodge and would visit again.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that does not have a connecting door with another room and a room that is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masongirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We love every trip we make to the Lodge on Lake Lure. Beautiful rooms, great view and tasty breakfast. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. One of us is a vegan and the chef accomodated morning breakfast perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurers11805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Lodge on Lake Lure is exceptional for this area which is served by rather mediocre-looking motels, to say the least. The setting was beautiful, the room large and comfortable (air-conditioned quietly by forced air not a noisy thermostated window unit), the bathroom luxurious, and the breakfast more than ample, especially the wonderful homemade biscuits. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at The Lodge this past weekend to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday without the kids. It was the perfect place for us to relax and enjoy the outdoors. The restaurant was AMAZING. Loved every bit of our trip. We stayed in The Secret Garden room. We liked the privacy the room offered.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights in May. The room was very comfortable. It had a lake view. the breakfast in the morning was wonderful on the terrace. We also had dinner there one night and it was just delicious. Only complaints which are not big were only 2 hangers in the room and no glasses set out with the ice bucket and in a place like that I would expect both.

Room Tip: Lake view since lodge is on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at the Lodge for a 3 night 25th anniversary treat. We couldn't of been happier. We stayed in the Dreamcatcher with a veranda right outside our door where you had a beautiful view of the lake. Chelsea in the office was FABULOUS! Her bubbly personality assisted us with all our needs. Breakfast is included every morning and was delicious with homemade biscuits and pastry and a special entrée each day. We had dinner there one night which was equally delicious. Don't pass up the boat tour in town. It will take you around the lake and show you the sights. You even get to see the stairs where Jennifer Grey danced down in Dirty Dancing!! We most definitely will be returning!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
3 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
4.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range: £116 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing