We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not exceptional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge on Lake Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #1 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for about 4 days last August. I had high expectations based on the reviews on tripadvisor, from the photos I saw on the inn's website, and of course, the fairly expensive room rate. I left feeling that my husband and I were the only people who did not find the experience worth the price. It is mainly due to the lack of attention to details that the previous reviewer so accurately described. This could be a jewel of an inn if only they upgraded their room amenities (no cheap toilet tissue, for example), and paid more attention to the needs of their guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contadina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    45
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
234
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Recently stayed at The Lodge on Lake Lure for a few nights.

Let me be clear, everyone was extremely nice and tried their best to be helpful.

It's a very nice place...not really a B&B, and not really a hotel. Probably an Inn would be a better description. A limited number of rooms and a very "inn keeper" vibe.
Rustic but not "rough". Public areas are very comfortable and cozy. A small, but not too small, dining room.
Dinner was very good as was Breakfast. Please note the dining room (for dinner) is open only Tues thru Sat. Winter hours may be reduced even more
Dining room service was great. While not "professional wait staff" the boys and girls made up for any shortcomings with a sincere concern for the customers' well being and enjoyment.

Room(s) are good sized and generally, well appointed

If I sound a bit less that enthusiastic, the following is why:

This is a $300 p. night inn.
If it were the W in NYC, well, ok, it's NYC. It isn't. It's Lake Lure. But regardless of location, there are somethings a $300 p. night traveler is used to

Room Furnishings
No dresser. No place to unpack your clothes, not even a folding luggage rack.
Closet size ok, but 5 hangers ?

Private deck/patio
Very nice addition. Small, private deck off the room over looking the lake. Great place for a glass of wine or morning coffee, which we would have enjoyed had there been a small table to go along with the two chairs. Nitpicking .....?.....$300 p. night

Leaking shower head....shower was ok, but leaking fixture greatly compromised the water pressure

Laundry bags
Maybe they don't have a laundry service but when was the last time you were in a $300 p. night hotel that didn't offer plastic laundry bags for dirty clothes ?

Other oddities
Waiting to speak with the front desk, the gentleman ahead of me asked if the Lodge had toothbrushes as he had forgotten his.
This seemed to stump the folks behind the counter. Finally, he was advised, no, they did not have a toothbrush, but the (only) store is only a couple of miles away.
We're pretty remote..not much around...I thought this would be the perfect place to offer a mens and ladies personal toiletries kit....instructing a guest to drive out of the mountains, in the rain,at night on unfamiliar roads doesn't seem like a well thought out inn keeping plan

"Get Acquainted" Hour....aka Happy Hour

5:00-6:00 in the evening, light hor's d'oeuvres and complementary wine
d'oeuvres were yummy....different offerings every night , very imaginative and tasty.
Wine was good too. For the one glass offered. After the first one, it's $5 p. glass
Hey no big deal right......
$300 p. night

Outside Areas..

Very nice decks off the public rooms. Weather permitting, a very nice place to enjoy the afternoon. It would be even nicer if the decks and outdoor furnishings were power washed every so often. Exterior just did not look like it received much attention


Again, it is a very nice place...the people are great.....the location is great...probably the only decent place to eat on the Lake...but I just can't get excited about it

Just did not give the guest the feeling of upscale attention to detail one might except at this price point. Might be perfect for others, but for us, we'll look around a bit more on our next visit.
Now having said that, based on the lack of quality restaurants on the Lake, the other places to stay might be far worse..this might be the best.
If that is the case, well, so be it. Seems to be a great $175 p. night Lodge for $300 p. night

If you choose to stay, you'll probably have a lovely time, but it will cost you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst B, Owner at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Allan 16,

thank you for staying with us for three nights in our most popular room during peak season in July and not in June, as you had erroneously stated. I am sorry that your otherwise positive experience was marred by the episodes which you mentioned, most of which could have easily been resolved had you mentioned it to our front desk staff, who earn high marks from our other clients.
They are certainly points which made us look at these aspects and help us improve our service delivery.
We generally keep 6 wooden hangers in every room closet for our customers' convenience and will gladly bring more if requested. We carry spare toiletries, such as tooth brushes and razors at our front desk, free of charge for those who depart home without it. Laundry bags have never been an issue before, as we were not providing any laundry service, however, this will change as we have recently installed new laundry equipment to order to do our own in house laundry service.
Upon closer inspection you would have noticed that there is a small dresser inside the closet and we apologize if the luggage rack was not there at your arrival. All of our rooms are equipped this way and a spare one can be requested at any time. We are sorry about the leaky shower head. This is an item which our maintenance manager is easily able to fix when called upon.
We always have a spare shower head on hand for such cases.
My final comments refer to your questioning of our room rates and your personal assessment of the same. You were staying in our most popular room as I stated earlier, with a wonderful lake view, a private balcony and a claw footed bathtub overlooking the lake. Even in peak season when this room is nearly 100% booked the average room rate is $ 285.00 and only $ 300 on the weekend. Our average room rate for all rooms is approximately $ 220.00.
I believe we are delivering a first class product for this price including a cooked breakfast and as you agreed varied and interesting hors d'oeuvres including a free glass of wine, which of a higher standard than most house wines in fine restaurants. When we charge $5 for a second glass of wine which we sell at $ 9.00 in our restaurant, then I believe we are still delivering value for money. If you do return to the area, we would appreciate it if you gave us another opportunity to prove to you that we deserve the ranking which we have earned based upon valuations from our guests who are frequent returnees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Even in the rain, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Lodge at Lake Lure. The views from our room and the dining room and deck were spectacular, lake and mountains in the clouds in the distance. The food was delicious; be sure to make reservations for dinner when you book. We thoroughly enjoyed taking with Horst, the owner of the inn, who lives in South Africa half the year. One of the real treats was having wine servied from his South African winery at the social hour from 5 - 6 p.m. each evening. If you enjoy boating, kayaking, and hiking you will love this lodge. Also, there are some reasonably good golf courses 15 minutes from the inn. If you need a city fix while there, Asheville, NC and Greenville, SC are a short drive away, as is the horse country in Tryon, NC and Saluda, SC. Lots to enjoy.

Room Tip: Just ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let's face it, Lake Lure is a pretty small town. There's not a lot around to recommend. But, if you want peace in the woods by a lake, this should be your resting place. I was in a tiny room called the "Jewel Box" with a balcony facing the lake. The view was private and breathtaking. I could see the lake and the mountains from the bed AND the bathtub - priceless. There's a lovely walk down to a boathouse where you can borrow the owners canoes for FREE. Technically, it's a B&B so breakfast is included. The biscuits will make you weep. Coffee, water, ice, snacks, they're all available, all day long. If you want fresh coffee, they'll brew it. Dinner is the best, hands-down for probably at least 25 miles around. Make a reservation, you'll need one. And be aware, it's a Prix Fixe menu but oh-so-worth it! It's not for families with children but grownups with a taste for good food, art, coffee-table books and peace will adore this place.

Room Tip: Prices matter. You'll pay more for a bigger room facing the lake. But if you want to try it anyw...
See more room tips
Green Features: The fixed temperature in the room is a no-brainer. The real kicker is that they offer an extra free glass of wine during happy hour for guest if you re-use your towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlyep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Lodge on Lake Lure is a charming B&B nestled in among tall trees on the steep banks of Lake Lure (NC) and each room has a view of the lake. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the lodge for 3 days. To learn about the history of the lake and surrounding area, we would recommend the lake tour. We had a very entertaining guide.

The lodge offers a free glass of wine each evening from 5-6pm with hors d'oeuvre. We enjoyed sitting on the deck each evening and enjoying the company of other guests. We met very nice couples from Mississippi and Virginia.

There are quite a few restaurants in the area that are excellent, We enjoyed the Bayfront Bar & Grill, LaStrada at Lake Lure (Italian Bar & Grill) and the Huckleberry Restaurant (in an old farm house). The lodge also serves an evening meal (must make reservations) on Wed thru Sat. We did not have an evening meal at the lodge but heard some very good comments about the menu.

The breakfast each morning was very good and included pastries, fruit, cereal, bagels, muffins and coffee. After a guest is seated (inside or on the deck), a waiter/waitress gives you a piece of paper to check items you would like from the kitchen (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, quiche, etc).

The staff was very gracious and helpful. Our room (Golden Pond) was very comfortable, clean and had a claw-foot tub sitting by a bay window with a great view of the lake. The lodge has canoes for guests and our last morning at the lodge was spent in a canoe on the lake.

We would highly recommend a stay at The Lodge on Lake Lure and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a two night 40th Anniversary getaway weekend at the Lodge at Lake Lure, as a gift from our daughters. As our youngest daughter was engaged there earlier this year, it came highly recommended. Our room, the Barnwood, was excellent; we found champagne, cheese and fruit to greet us. It had a nice deck overlooking the lake, so we enjoyed coffee and later, wine with the great views. The two breakfasts were superb, taken in the restaurant, also looking at the spectacular views. We had a chance to swim, and canoe at the Lodge. Then were able to play golf nearby, hike and climb Chimney Rock, then had a pontoon tour of the lake. There is a lot to do near The Lodge, which added to the relaxation! Staff was friendly and courteous, so we prevailed on them to snap a souvenir photo. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Barnwood, but some of the rooms in the "big house" looked nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wife and I had a very good stay here but there were spots in the lobby/sitting area that needed a good dusting. In addition, the appetizers put out during social hour should have place cards highlighting what they are, especially if they contain meat. Overall, very good but just some minor attention to a few details.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
16.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
23.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Property: The Lodge on Lake Lure
Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing