We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service: Exceptional; Location: Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 April 2010

What more needs saying. The staff was professional, friendly, and there when needed - absent when not needed. The location was peaceful and an excellent spot for our corporate retreat. Our breakfasts were excellent, and lunch and dinner was readily found very close by, after a nice glass of wine in the Lodge's Great room. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
Thank JustMeInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

My teenagers and I stayed at the lodge this past weekend. We absolutely loved it. They were in the Magnolia room and loved the view from the sitting room and the balcony. I stayed in the Overlook room and loved the viewof the lake from the bed and private deck. I also loved the tub. The staff is awesome. The breakfast and snacks are great. I would highly recommend the lodge and look forward to a return visit with my husband.
KLK from Cary, NC

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klk315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Our second stay at the Lodge was just as good as our first 12 years ago. The staff makes you feel at home and the Happy Hour wine and cheese are a nice touch. We love the views overlooking Lake Lure from the sitting area above their boat garage. Our room was so comfortable and cozy that it made sleeping too easy. So close to Lake Lure downtown, Chimney Rock and Bat Cave for sightseeing. Breakfast out of the deck was not tobe missed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IronLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Several years ago we passed by The Lodge at Lake Lure and said then that we needed to stay there sometime. Well we finally made it back to The Lodge to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and The Lodge at Lake Lure truely was the perfect retreat for us! The rustic lodge with its beautiful setting overlooking Lake Lure made us totally relaxed. The staff made us feel like we were with good friends! We stayed in the Magnolia Room and enjoyed the fireplace and the deck overlooking the lake. Breakfast was good both mornings with a set menu of hot food or we could have ceral, yogurt and fruit also.
Overall The Lodge at Lake Lure was an excellent place for us to spend our anniversay! We look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctravelinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My husband and I just returned for a weekend getaway to "The Lodge on Lake Lure". We have stayed at several bed and breakfast's before but, this one is the TOP of our list. First the staff is the best! They are all friendly and helpful. You can tell that they love working together. And the breakfasts are to die for. Arlene the cook is amazing. Each day there are two choices for breakfast. You order and then it is prepared just for you. In addition there's a buffet of breakfast goodies. The scones are so good, and I enjoyed the homemade peanut butter each day. Do not plan to stay on your diet if you go. There's always goodies throughout the day too. Last but not least is the location. There are views all around the lodge of the scenic Lake Lure. Take advantage of the free canoes to go out on the lake. Our room was the "Garden room" it was cozy, and the view was of the front of the lodge which looks like a european garden. I always had the curtains drawn, and I almost forgot that the parking lot is there too. :)
Things to do while you stay...
Hike Chimney Rock.
Go on a two-hour trail ride at "Cedar Creek" stables.
Eat dinner at Larkin's on the Lake.

Another tip...get gas at Ingles grocery store (hwy 9). If not, you'll run out of gas driving around looking for it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband & I just got back from a lovely weekend @the lodge on lake lure. We stayed in the treetop room on the main floor. The room had a nice private deck, a great view of the lake and was nicely decorated. My favorite part was the clawfoot tub in the bay windows of the bathroom, also with a great lake view. The full american breakfast every morning was delicious (great cook!) and the wait staff was super friendly and attentive. I believe the cook is from Germany and she made some fabulous baked goods, they even had fresh ground peanut butter (my favorite). The lodge was very quiet, but I think it was because only a handful of the 17 rooms were occupied. When we visit there again, and we will, I might try another room that is not next to the main entrance and dining area - to ensure that quiet, cozy atmosphere once again. Cheers

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Lake Lure, NC is one of our favorite places to visit and the Lodge on Lake Lure one of our favorite spots. Many guests come to the area to visit Biltmore Estate, Chimney Rock State Park or golf at the nearby course, however, to us the Lodge is the destination. The lake is so beautiful and we love to jump in for a refreshing swim and then relax in any number of welcoming places on the property to read or nap. If you enjoy taking a leisurely bath, the tubs are amazing--either old timey claw foot or jacuzzi tubs are available as well as separate showers. The breakfast is always a treat. I had the best eggs benedict and french toast ever the last morning of our stay and the fresh, homemade treats with coffee/tea are always a treat in the afternoon and evening. The staff is so welcoming and always available if you need anything.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2goNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
23.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range: £118 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing