We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Lure
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 November 2010

This was our second stay. The lodge has the same owner, but under new management. Seems like things were better this time, that is if you can improve upon perfect. We liked that the evening wine social was moved up a little earlier. They also now offer a Saturday dinner with Chef Peter preparing an excellent meal with local ingredients. Such a relaxing setting. You will lose track of time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacomajason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

Beautiful views, warm hospitality, exceptional location (unless you are immobile and unable to do stairs to get down to the lake), great breakfast, and the list goes on. If you enjoy bed a breakfast Inns, this one is a must. Rustic, yet clean and up to date. The only problem, you'll want more then just one night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigH21CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Inn itself is great - fab location and great rooms (we were on ground floor having asked to me moved up from the Veranda which felt a but dark and dank) and had a lovely room with a small balcony. Friendly times with other guests during wine hour. The only minor point is that the staff are fairly off-hand and breakfast a bit ordinary for an Inn. Lake Lure is great - we hired a pontoon from up the road and had a great few hours on the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The Lodge was both peaceful and relaxing. The facility was clean and well maintained. The food was superb. The bedrooms were very relaxing and cozy. The thing that stood out the most was the friendliness and how accommadating the staff members were. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill9250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Get a room with a view of the lake and a private porch.Well worth it. Rooms and bathrooms were updated, very comfortable and top of the line. We were on the lower level and would have been perfect except for hearing the people in the room above us, but only for one night, and that's what you accept when you stay in a historic property. Walk out on the boathouse and enjoy the million dollar view from it. Then take one of the inn's canoes out on the lake. Don't miss the complimentary afternoon wine and appetizers. Breakfast was delicious every morning. They seem to have thought of everything.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Lodge on Lake Lure was a lovely place to stay for our anniversary but pricey!!! We started out our stay with a massage that was very relaxing. Once finished, we ventured out to explore the lodge and grounds. Our bedroom was fairly large with a king bed, private deck and a fireplace that ofcourse we didn't use since it was August. The bathroom was unique with clawfoot tub and seperate shower and two pedastal sinks. A large bay window that overlooked the lake was also in the bathroom. The decoration was not fancy but very comfortalble. It was very clean also. The greatroom and other sitting areas were large with lots of sitting areas so you could relas outside your room if you chose too. Breakfast was served from 8-9:30 and was very nice. The only negative I would say about our visit was that we felt the management was not very friendly. They spoke if you had a question but didn't really acknowledge you as their guest. I feel in a place like this the owners/managers should go out of their way to make you feel at home and this just wasn't the case. Both my husband and I noticed this. Still all in all it is a great getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suegirlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The Lodge on Lake Lure is idyllic for a peaceful short or not so short vacation. The pictures in their website were true to what we found and from the moment we arrived I could not wait to discover the property. Had a quiet time sitting by the water edge and admire the scenery and I must say that it took my breath away. The only thing that spoiled it was that we had quite a bit of rain almost from start to finish of our vacation but even so the beauty of the area is unquestionable. I posted a few pictures in my Facebook page and many of my friends wanted to know where I took them. Last but not least, the staff greets you and makes you feel at home from the moment you check in until you leave the lodge. I hope to go back in the future and will and have recommended to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
3.0 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.1 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
75 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Dr, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9833
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range: £117 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing