We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Legends on the Lake
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rumbling Bald Resort is excited to announce the NEW Legends on the Lake Restaurant, a full service, sports themed, family-friendly, neighborhood style restaurant. Providing a dining experience that will showcase fresh ingredients and flavors in a relaxed and fun atmosphere. With billiards tables, arcade games, 40 flat screen TV’s, and Movie Theater, there is something for all ages. Enjoy the handmade artisan pizzas which are made to order by our new award winning chefs. Come by land or by water to the new drive up dock. This restaurant will quickly become a staple of the Lake Lure community. With an emphasis on quality ingredients and house-made dishes, Legends on the Lake is sure to become a family favorite.
spartanburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Brie & shrimp stuffed salmon was excellent! We sat on the deck and enjoyed a beautiful view. My only complaint are the parents allowing their kids to play chase on the deck while waiting about 20 minutes for their table. I guess they assumed since it was outdoors no one would mind but it was very annoying but definitely did not ruin the experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lhardy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    49
    50
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The best part was the view and no smoking on the deck. The food was okay. The children's menu was limited, and I had to pay a sharing charge for my daughter to share with me. There wasn't extra food, so why charge? Waitress was good, but food was average.

Helpful?
Thank Mom2mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, average service”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Since the change in management the restaurant does not seem to be run as well as it was in the past. The servers need training on how to pronounce the names of the items on the menu and the dishes should be cleared away after you have eaten. We brought our own wine and paid a corking fee, however we were given heavy water glasses to use instead of wine glasses, which they had at the bar. Good management would have been sure to provide those wine glasses with a smile. The bill was still $170 for five people, so it's not like they were losing revenue on us. The special we ordered was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruraldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view of lake”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Rather than go down the mountain, we chose this restaurant at our resort hotel. Our table had a nice view of the lake and since we apparently were near the end of the dinner service, we were seated near the restaurant entrance. I am on a special diet and had a modified Cobb Salad, my husband had the Shrimp and Grits and an appetizer. Dinner started with a complimentary bite "from the chef" and tasty bread. The main courses were ok--not great, and not memorable. Service was quick -- the wait staff flew by delivering meals, refilling water glasses and showing off a large tray of desserts to the diners. Unfortunately, fulfilling their mission didn't do much for making an enjoyable experience. I had to duck to avoid being hit by a dessert tray by an oblivious waitress.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view ... But that's about it.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here during a family reunion at Rumbling Bald. The view from the dining room out onto the lake is quite nice, and the bread was good, but that is where the "good" ended. Out of a party of 11 people, 2 had to send their meals back because it was either burnt or simply not edible (the latter was the chicken pot pie ... Two people in our group ordered it. One was ok, the other had to be sent back as it tasted like perfume and was awful ... Actually making our family member sick before dinner was over). The steaks were mediocre at best (very little flavor to them). Overall, I would recommend saving your $$ and eating elsewhere, and going down to the ice cream parlor for the view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rrankin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legends on the Lake also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Legends on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing