We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fox Run”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fox Run”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have had a time share at Fox Run 4 years. It is a single standing unit on Fox Run Rd. bought this for $1.00 on eBay. Sleeps 8. Is equipped with all the basics for a great week. We are golfers so we try and add new places within a 40 mile radius. A few things need to be updated but we have the first Sat week in April. Nice and quiet. Also near Asheville. Lots to do everywhere. National forests, Cherokee NC etc. or just chill.

Room Tip: Single units in the spring. Families with kids could do summer to take advantage of all the resort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chinapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    59
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
65
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I did an exchange through Interval International for a 2 bedroom unit for Mid August 2013 for our yearly motorcycle trip to see this great country of ours we go to a different place every year to ride their beautiful back roads and see the country we also take a yearly beach trip or cultural trip once a year.

This area of NC is known for its beautiful riding with mountainous windy curvy roads and beautiful views so we were surprised when after we booked I called the resort because it said to call ahead of time if you are in an RV or on motorcycle and could other reasons. So I called and was told NO MOTORCYCLES are allowed on the property! Well its no different than our car we don't trailer our bike it is our form of transportation for these these trips and we have NEVER run into this before! They said we could park it at th guard shack and walk the 1.5 miles with our luggage to our unit and that is what we would have to do everyday! Needless to say we canceled and lost our 174.00 exchange fee to boot but that's an issue with Interval not the resort.

The kicker is this EXACT SAME property has Fairway of the Mountains which you can exchange into as well but it is located before the guard shack and we could park our motorcycle in front of our unit there but they wouldn't move us to a unit there even though they had one that hey offered to RENT ME. Said she couldn't' just change it and when you call either resort you get the same front deck person because its the SAME RESORT!


So just a heads up for anyone who plans on taking trip in anything other than a car to this resort you will probably want and should look else where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sassycingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Lure hotels

PLANT CITY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Arrival date 10-20-2012. I read the Guest from St. Louis' write-up in its entirety before entering ours just to be certain we were talking about the same condos...'sounds liek 180 "out" from our condo. 'Makes me wonder what # unit they were in. We were in Unit 41 and encountered only two mentionable problems: 1.) The stairs leading down to the condos from the parking area in front of the condos (as ours) need lighting for nighttime. Although the top and bottom steps have a "yellow" stripe painted across them, the stripe barely shows up in true darkness and the stair and steps are without question a hazard and 2.) The dryer vents need to be cleaned out, once in a while. It took my wife three times to get one load of clothes dry.

The Wyndham condo units on the Rumbling Bald property appear to have the same style and layout as those located @ Fox Den and Fox Run. Check-In for all is located at different locations, but our Check-In as scheduled for Sat. 10/20 went fluidly. This time of the year the entire Rumbling Bald Resort area is generally booked.

A mentionable pitfall is cellular and wireless computer service. Cellular service is "spotty" at best depending upon where YOU are actually calling from. If you are in an open area on the golf course, reception is fine... 'Get in your unit, no reception. If you are hill or mountain side forget any reception. The units are not set up for wireless and if you want internet connection, you MUST go to the Rumbling Bald Business Office.

Our unit appears to have recently been refurnished and the furnishings were definitely above average quality particularly, the mattresses, which were very comfortable...rare in the majority of timeshare units these or in years past.

Two of the three televisions in the units are 32" HD, the 3rd, in the 2nd bedroom is an older analog, but worked fine, when turned on.

The most surprising inconvenience was the in-ground garbage bins... They are far too small to handle even two, small garbage bags.

Although this Resort is definitely "out there," ( My wife complained profusely for the first three days) , we gradually adapted to the location realizing it was 30-50 minutes from Hendersonville or Asheville. It was exactly what I expected and WE WILL RETURN!

Lastly, there is a convenience store and gas station located on the Wyndham property. A marquis alongside the Wyndham property identifies the spot... Unfortunately, for us we learned all too early, the convenience store and gas station are CLOSED FOR REMODELING. There should be some type of notation on the marquis the convenience store and gas station are CLOSED.

Room Tip: Try for a condo with as few "downward" stairs to the unit(s) as possible. Take Dureflame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PlantCityBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Wyndham was full so they transfered our reservations to Fox Run Resort without our knowledge. The lay out is nice and nestled in the woods and hills with nice views. There ends the magic. The greeting on arrival cold, couple sentances, no welcome, no ammenities described, handed the keys and map good luck.
The nightmare: The unit is infested with roaches .5"-2"inches long. Not a couple here and there you can count on seeing a dozen a night. I killed 7 nitely on walls, picture frames, cabinets, kitchen counters, shower stalls. Wife tried to sleep with hoody on, lights on, and sprayed a perimeter around the bed. The management is cavalier and passive aggressive about complaints. "These are mulch roaches you have to expect these your in the woods". They said they would spray by 1PM and major cleanup. Didn't spray and just picked up the dead roach we left near the entrance. Incidentally, 1 foot cobwebs in every corner. Same response for 3 days so we had to cut our vacation and flee.
This place management stinks from the top down. For memories count on a long case of PTSD.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were able to book at the last minute. Our stay was wonderful. The condo was very clean upon arrival and the view we had was magnificent. We had a great view of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock Mountain. After the kids were in bed, my wife and I enjoyed star gazing on the clear nights. We brought a lot of our own food with us and ate lunch out only a couple of times. There is a dishwasher, along with soap and scrub pad provided in case you decide to eat in. There are charcoal grills in the common area that are very convenient. The kids loved being able to go to the lake and play in the sand. The pools are a short walk from the beach. The other entertainment amenities were great as well. We enjoyed the Saturday night marshmallow roast. Fox Run and Lake Lure are a great family get away vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Fox Run Resort actually has two types of condos, the Fox Run, which is 3 level, and the Fox Den, which is 2 level. Ours was a 2 level unit, #303, a 2 bedroom, 2 full bath unit.

Entering the unit, to the right, there is a guest bedroom with 2 double beds and connecting full bathroom which also can be entered from the hallway, that leads to the full kitchen, living room and dining room area, and large deck. Also to the left of the entry way, stairs that lead to the lower level master suite, with king bed, stall shower, and huge jacuzzi tub, and a private smaller deck.

The kitchen had been recently updated with solid surface countertops, and was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook / prepare meals. The living room had a sofa and two rocker/recliners, and a fireplace. There were two huge floor to ceiling window panels, and there were two sliding glass doors on the 3rd wall that opened to the deck - when we opened the vertical hanging blinds, we had a beautiful panaromic view of the woods - the trees were within reach - and because the unit is built on a steep slope, our deck was literally high off the ground, in the tree tops - we saw squirrels, birds..and looking down, we saw many deer on the ground below.

Our unit was "on the golf course", however, it was surrounded by trees, and we could barely see the greens of the golf course peeking through the leaves. It was a feeling of seclusion and peace, even though another condo was only 20 feet away, we had privacy and could not see our neighboring units.

The resort itself has much to see and do. We did take advantage of the outdoor pools, and the lazy river (tip: bring your own inner tubes for the lazy river! They are $6 each at the resort). There were many tables and chairs, lounge chairs, shade and sun areas, around both pools, and a snack bar with ice cream, food, alcoholic beverages. We also took the pontoon boat tour of Lake Lure, leaving from the private beach / marina area of the resort, and it was the highlight of our trip. Our guide, Tracy, was very informative and a great source of history about the area (she is also a realtor with Buffalo Realty).

We didnt make it to the restaurants on site, but we did hear from other guests that they are great.

Overall, this property is well kept, with plenty to see and do, especially for a golfer or outdoor enthusiast. Unfortunately we only stayed a few days, and did much sightseeing in the neighboring towns, so we didnt take in everything at the resort. With on site putt putt, tennis, volleyball, fitness center, spa, salon, business center, paddleboats, kayaks, etc etc, we could have spent a week here and still been entertained!

The only complaint, if it is a complaint, is the double beds in the guest bedroom - would have preferred queen beds...and the bathrooms are a bit outdated, but again, very clean, very nice unit, and would not hesitate to return to the Rumbling Bald Resort and to Fox Run!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is closer to the pools. None of the units are really meant to be within walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ChippyandTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Starting June 22, 2012 we stayed at our home resort at Fox Run Resort, Lake Lure, NC. We had a two bedroom stand alone unit. Our unit was excellent, roomy and I would give it a 5 Star. My wife and I played golf 4 times at the Rumbling Bald Golf Course. They have two courses but we never played Apple Valley Golf Course. We enjoyed every round. The course was in excellent shape and the views were spectacular. I would give the course a 5 Star. The folks working at the golf course were VERY accomodating. Our golf rate averaged around $35 per person. We ate at all 3 restaurants at the resort and had great meals and excellent service. I would highly recommend the 2 hour Lake Lure Cruise and Dinner. We visited Ashville Biltmore Estates(1 Hour drive) and a day trip to Hendersonville. Nice shops and great restaurants. I bought a 50% off Groupon for a 6 Hour wine tour of 4 wineries for $109 for two people. The wine tour was excellent even though it was 107 degrees that day!!! Just drink enough wine and you didn't even notice the heat. The swimming pool area was realy 1st class and had/tennis courts/horseshoes/ miniature golf. We plan to go back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChuckJ3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.4 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.0 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
25 reviews
19.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
3.4 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
67 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Property: Fox Run Resort
Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing