We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amenities Misrepresented”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amenities Misrepresented”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and I booked a two bedroom unit at Fox Run Townhouses In June for summer vacation. First we found that the address listed here was only for the check in center. The actual resort is a few miles away. We greeted by a very unpleasant woman at the check in desk. When we booked the resort, there were only 6 days available. Because we were staying less than a week, we were charged a $56 housekeeping fee. It didn't matter that we COULDN'T book a week, "that's the rules" said this woman.

We get to the unit which was in a cul de sac with 4 units to find that even though all units appeared to be empty, we were given the ONLY unit with 12 slatted steps down to the unit. Other units had walk in access to the front door.

Free wireless internet was advertised but when I called the office about how to access it, I was told that it was only available at the restaurant and pool not in the units themselves.

The restaurant, pool, and other facilities served multiple resorts in the same location and were over crowded.

We could not get fresh towels unless we PAID for a replacement.

The townhouse was comfortable and clean but definitely outdated.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get all amenities and charges spelled out before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rrshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    59
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
66
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice resort area, Lake Lure and the surrounding mountains are beautiful and the resort amenities are very nice and I can tell that efforts have been made and continue to be made to keep the units fresh but the units are showing the signs of aging. Outdated bathrooms, squeaking floors, rust on frig exterior, dishwasher not secured, etc... For what we pay in total between maintenance fees, exchange fees, membership fees, not to mention buying in at the beginning, more should be delivered. It’s time to bail from the timeshare scene and stay in hotels, B & B’s, etc…

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wilson6641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent July 4th week 2013 in unit 64 of the Fox Run Resort. It rained all 7 days we were there so we spent alot of time in our unit. Can't complain at all. The unit was clean, had everything we needed, two balcony's, quiet, private, and comfortable. Only one thing I would change about the unit and it is a biggie, NO WIFI. We would go back which I think say alot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Wow were my expectations not met at Fox Run Resort. While the resort was nice and we were able to relax, they did a very poor job with customer service. If you wanted a pool towel - better bring your own or pay a 'rental fee'. Guess I expected the amenity to come with a towel like other resorts - but since it does not - it would have been nice to know so we could have packed our own pool towels. And if you want "FRESH" towels - better wash them yourself or pay the price!

If you run out of trash bags - better go to the store or pay the resort for a trash bag. Last time I checked a trash bag was not an amenity. Guess what - we get a fully stocked condo with a kitchen to save money and eat better - would be nice to have a trash bag at the end of the week.

Finally, it has been a long time since I stayed in a resort that requires the guest to strip the sheets.

Yes my expectations are high - Time shares can be expensive and I do not want to rent pool towels or purchase trash bags. Guess next time I come to Lake Lure I will find some place else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank deanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Lure hotels

Satellite Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were surprised that Fox Run was located within Rumbling Bald Resort. This turned out to be a great feature as the resort is beautiful and has a lovely restaurant looking out over Lake Lure Our unit #49 was a 3 level. Come in front door and go up to main level of living room, dining room and 2 balconies and The guest bedroom. Go down to lower level for master bedroom which had a balcony off it. the unit was clean but dated, worn furniture and view was of trees. Had to go by car down to the main resort area. The king size bed was very comfortable. We had two bathrooms which were ok, and plenty of all the things we needed. Kitchen was good and had all the basics. All in all I wish we had been down closer to the main area. Was a hassle to have to drive down to all the amentities. It was just two of us so e probably should have gotten one bedroom. Not sure of where these are located.

Room Tip: Get a unit or rental that is located down in main area with a view of the beautiful golf course and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgwood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited the somewhat remote Fox Run Resort located on the Rumbling Bald complex in Lake Lure, NC for a relaxing jaunt in the Mountains over Spring Break. Having previously stayed in the nearby Wyndham condos, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodations. We were in a two bedroom condo (Unit 33) on the periphery of the grounds overlooking the golf course. It was a tri-level design with the Master on the bottom, the guest bedroom on the main level and the dining, kitchen and living rooms on the upper level. The condo was clean, well maintained and functional with relatively new furnishings. The kitchens have recently been remodeled with stone countertops and new appliances. However, the baths and carpet were showing their age (that said I believe the carpets are scheduled to be replaced in the near future). The master bedroom had a plush king size bed, and was quite comfortable other than the room being considerably chillier than the upper levels. The guest bedroom had two twin beds. The condo itself had all that we needed to comfortably relax and enjoy the beautiful, view - both from the living and dining room and the spacious decks. Even though there were condos on both sides, it was still off season so we were pretty much alone. The resort has a nice indoor pool, outdoor pools, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts, restaurant, pub and golf course on site, as well a swimming and beach area on the lake with a variety of activities on the lake. The boys had a great time kayaking one afternoon. All this together with all the local attractions in the area make this a great place for both families and those looking for a quite, restful trip to get away from the hustle and bustle. It only takes about an hour to get to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, which we took in as a day trip. Although that is hardly enough time to enjoy all that Asheville has to offer. If you are there during the off season, the selection of restaurants is even more limited but adequate, but be sure to check out Chimney Rock for activities. It is just a few miles beyond the city limits of Lake Lure and looked inviting with a variety of eateries and shops. As long as you are not expecting a 5 star resort and are happy with simple, clean and comfortable accommodations then Fox Run fits the bill rather nicely.

Room Tip: Most of the Units are split or tri-level with a fair number of stairs. So if you have difficulty get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doc_Brower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have had a time share at Fox Run 4 years. It is a single standing unit on Fox Run Rd. bought this for $1.00 on eBay. Sleeps 8. Is equipped with all the basics for a great week. We are golfers so we try and add new places within a 40 mile radius. A few things need to be updated but we have the first Sat week in April. Nice and quiet. Also near Asheville. Lots to do everywhere. National forests, Cherokee NC etc. or just chill.

Room Tip: Single units in the spring. Families with kids could do summer to take advantage of all the resort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chinapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.4 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
19.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
3.4 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Property: Fox Run Resort
Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing