We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Oak Grove, Mn
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I read a lot of not so good reviews about this resort. The very worst thing about this resort is finding it. From the Asheville airport you drive on very curvey roads. Speeds of 25 to 35MPH. The place you check in is no where near the units. It's very confusing to find the unit. Our unit was at the end of the line, so we made many wrong turns before we found it. It takes a couple of days before you can drive to it or leave from it with no problems. The only other complaint is that the check in people weren't very helpful. They answered your questions, but that's it. Most places we stay have employees that give suggestions about things to do or places to eat. We got nothing from them. There were no rodent or roach problems. The unit was large and very clean. The problem we have at every resort is that they never have non stick frying pans. Other than that, the kitchen was well stocked. The high outside windows needed cleaning very badly. They had so many cobwebs that it was hard to see out of them. Our unit was in the woods, so I'm sure it's hard to keep up with the cobwebs. The area has a lot of things to do. They have a 27 inch surplus of rain this year, so everything is so green. I would recommend chimney Rock state park. The elevator is broken so you have to walk up 491 steps to get to the top, but it was worth it. There are places to stop along the way. Then, of course, you have to walk down 491 steps. Then there is DuPont state park. You walk about 5 miles round trip to different water falls. Other reviewers said that there was no cell phone service. We always had service in our unit. Sometimes while driving, we would lose it for a couple of minutes, but I wouldn't complain about the service. We have Sprint, I don't know about any other companies service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OakGrove_MNJoyceN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    59
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
66
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed recently in Fox Run Nr 3 which we traded into via Interval. We had no view from the two decks off the back of the unit since you are looking into an overgrown forest that blocks your view of Bald Mountain Lake. The units are spacious but somewhat dated as others have commented on. It did look like the kitchen area had had a fairly recent update. You do get two flat screen TV's that are connected to cable, while we did not try to use it there was a DVD player and stereo system in the living room. There is no internet access in the units, it is available in the resort's Wellness Center. Verizon cell phone coverage in and around the townhouse was spotty at best, we were told that ATT worked a bit better there. The unit was fairly clean but more could have been done especially with the bathroom floors. We did have both a bug and rodent problem. After we saw the first roaches the staff came out and sprayed which seemed to take care of that problem. The next day we had a mouse, once again the staff responded and put out several traps and they actually caught two during our stay, not very pleasant and wish they had done that prior to our arrival. We actually found the amenities at the resort to be a pleasant surprise . The pool, albeit a 5 minute drive from the townhouse was enjoyable and not overcrowded. We spent a fun day floating in the Lake from the resort's beach. While we did not use them they have a good looking putt-putt course and other activities such as tennis and volleyball. We enjoyed both the Bald Mountain and Apple Valley golf courses, both were in excellent condition, reasonably priced and easy to get on. We'll go back to the resort but probably try to stay somewhere else on the property and not in Fox Run.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Lure hotels

North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Fox Run on an RCI exchange. The 2 bedroom-unit we stayed in was approximately 1 mile from the lake and activity area. The view from our deck was treetops, the unit was clean, furnishing were in good condition, kitchen appeared to have been remodeled. Bathrooms need updating. There was a charcoal grill across from our unit.

I enjoyed several of the free classes offered at the Rumbling Bald Resort - Zumba, conditioning and water aerobics (yoga was also available). All the instructors were very good. The exercise room is excellent. I also enjoyed the tennis Round Robin three mornings a week. The Lazy River at the pool was small, but the kids seemed to really enjoy it. Air for your tube was available at the pool. We didn't play golf, but the course appeared very well manicured. We brought our own kayaks and enjoyed time fishing and paddling on the beautiful lake. There was a $12/wk fee for non-motorized boats on the lake. We had a great time "whitewater" tubing on the Green River about about 25 miles from the resort and only $14 for a 3-hour float. The cold water was refreshing. I would not recommend the tubing for small children because there are a number of rapids. Overall, a really nice resort area. Seems well managed.

Cons:
Can't walk to activity area- too far away and hilly. My Verizon cell phone did not have service in the unit, but did work well in the lake area. An AT&T cell did have service in the unit
One of our unit keys stopped working and we had to drive several miles to the check- in center to have it re-activated. The key was kept in a paper pouch but still somehow became deactivated? Need to store the key away from credit cards and cell phones.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Pearsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and I booked a two bedroom unit at Fox Run Townhouses In June for summer vacation. First we found that the address listed here was only for the check in center. The actual resort is a few miles away. We greeted by a very unpleasant woman at the check in desk. When we booked the resort, there were only 6 days available. Because we were staying less than a week, we were charged a $56 housekeeping fee. It didn't matter that we COULDN'T book a week, "that's the rules" said this woman.

We get to the unit which was in a cul de sac with 4 units to find that even though all units appeared to be empty, we were given the ONLY unit with 12 slatted steps down to the unit. Other units had walk in access to the front door.

Free wireless internet was advertised but when I called the office about how to access it, I was told that it was only available at the restaurant and pool not in the units themselves.

The restaurant, pool, and other facilities served multiple resorts in the same location and were over crowded.

We could not get fresh towels unless we PAID for a replacement.

The townhouse was comfortable and clean but definitely outdated.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get all amenities and charges spelled out before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rrshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice resort area, Lake Lure and the surrounding mountains are beautiful and the resort amenities are very nice and I can tell that efforts have been made and continue to be made to keep the units fresh but the units are showing the signs of aging. Outdated bathrooms, squeaking floors, rust on frig exterior, dishwasher not secured, etc... For what we pay in total between maintenance fees, exchange fees, membership fees, not to mention buying in at the beginning, more should be delivered. It’s time to bail from the timeshare scene and stay in hotels, B & B’s, etc…

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wilson6641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent July 4th week 2013 in unit 64 of the Fox Run Resort. It rained all 7 days we were there so we spent alot of time in our unit. Can't complain at all. The unit was clean, had everything we needed, two balcony's, quiet, private, and comfortable. Only one thing I would change about the unit and it is a biggie, NO WIFI. We would go back which I think say alot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Wow were my expectations not met at Fox Run Resort. While the resort was nice and we were able to relax, they did a very poor job with customer service. If you wanted a pool towel - better bring your own or pay a 'rental fee'. Guess I expected the amenity to come with a towel like other resorts - but since it does not - it would have been nice to know so we could have packed our own pool towels. And if you want "FRESH" towels - better wash them yourself or pay the price!

If you run out of trash bags - better go to the store or pay the resort for a trash bag. Last time I checked a trash bag was not an amenity. Guess what - we get a fully stocked condo with a kitchen to save money and eat better - would be nice to have a trash bag at the end of the week.

Finally, it has been a long time since I stayed in a resort that requires the guest to strip the sheets.

Yes my expectations are high - Time shares can be expensive and I do not want to rent pool towels or purchase trash bags. Guess next time I come to Lake Lure I will find some place else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank deanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.5 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
27 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
6.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
572 reviews
3.5 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Property: Fox Run Resort
Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing