We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stay in the same unit every year and love it. Housekeeping does a fantastic job and the place ( 303 ) is just immaculate. Of course these places aren't new but they are well kept. It's so quiet and the beds are quite comfortable. And, it just happens to be on one of the most beautiful golf courses in the country. We found everyone we came in contact with to be fantastic and happy. Everyone. We look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Upon arrival to lockoff units 3313 A&B opened the door to an awful smell of mold/mildew. Units were filthy. Stains all over the bathroom ceiling. Front of white refrigerator was BLACK with dirt. Broom in the closet was BLACK with dirt. Blinds broken on doorwall. Vents dirty and rusty. Holes in the wall. I would have left had my family & I not just spent 13 hrs driving to get there. Due to the smell of mold/mildew; asthma flared up and couldn't breathe. Requested to be moved but was told there were no other units available. Had to leave unit the next day for 8 hrs so they could "clean the air"; which only worked for 2 days and the smell was right back. Smell was so bad in the lower unit no one could use it. The last day, we ran the dishwasher in the lower unit to find that it leaked all over!! That's probably were the mildew smell was coming from; place is probably full of black mold. Fox Run is Managed by VACATION RESORTS INTERNATIONAL. I found the staff unprofessional, unfriendly and difficult to work with. Jeanette (manager) not helpful at all. When speaking to her about no one being able to stay in the lower unit due to the smell and the dishwasher leaking all over, her reply to me was, "I thought you just said no one was able to use that unit." Not how I want to spend my vacation and then to deal with this RUDE & ARGUMENTATIVE woman. I don't live my life like a pig and I'm not going to spend my vacation like one either!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here over thanksgiving week. The place is a little older but had a whirlpool tub, and three balconies. From out unit there was a nice view of trees and mountains, we were not able to see the lake. The resort has indoor and outdoor pools and golf course and restaurants on site. Most of the time we were at the unit. It was a family get together and we did not travel to Asheville for the sites like Biltmore House this time. There are nice things around but not within walking distance. So bottom line, if you want a secluded place to go and relax quietly this is a good place. I have looked at the other reviews and some of the points need repeating. It is a long drive from the interstate or airport, the units are a little older, the check-in is offsite, GPS systems have a hard time taking you the quickest route (print out directions and distances before hand, Our unit 213 was great. If you need to check in with care-givers give them the phone number of the unit and have them call, cell coverage can be spotty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50nightsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just arrived Saturday and were pleasantly surprised based on some of the negative reviews. We traded our Barony Beach time share in Hilton Head. WE LOVE THIS LOCATION!! Have an individual unit #213 with 2 bedrooms. Has 3 balconies, is clean, nice and soooooo quiet here. Yes, we have to take a short drive to resort. Not very far so you COULD walk - but there isn't a flat piece of land that I've found yet!! We knew as soon as we got here that this will be on our list of places to return to. There are pontoon tours at the resort. Alan was our guide. I highly recommend spending an hour or two having Alan give a tour. He is very hospitable and knows the area. If you aren't one for country settings you may not agree with me but if you're like me and embrace the serene quiet of the mountains - you won't find a better choice!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dhartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Unit 90 is clean and has a well-appointed kitchen. More supplies in kitchen than we expected including kitchen tools, paper towels, dish and dishwasher detergent. There’s a good sized deck w/chairs off the 3rd floor living area. Areas for improvement: blender is grubby looking; in our bedroom there’s only one lamp and no ceilng lights. Very dark. We had to take a lamp from the LR in order to bring enough light in the room for unpacking. Bathroom has door to bedroom and to common area by front door. The bathroom door is delaminating for 5” from the bathroom floor. The vanity/sink is cultured marble and badly scared in sink. Nice to have medicine cabinet, tho. Pieces missing from vertical blinds in bedroom. Bathtub faucet leaks: drip, drip, drip. Artwork obviously removed from walls.....you could see where pieces had been at one time. Early one evening our card key ceased to work. The rental office was closed, so we had to have security open the unit for us before and after dinner. We got the impression this malfunction happens to the card keys on a regular basis. The Fox Run resort is within the Rumbling Bald complex and far from everything. Therefore, not the best location if you want to visit sites in the area. Takes much time to get anywhere from Fox Run on the surrounding twisting mountain roads. Keep in mind there is no internet service at the units. Internet service is supposed to be available at the Rumbling Bald restaurants and pool/spa. I had no luck getting on internet at the restaurant. Lake Lure is lovely. Had a wonderful lake tour one late afternoon that started from the Rumbling Bald dock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank du3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I read a lot of not so good reviews about this resort. The very worst thing about this resort is finding it. From the Asheville airport you drive on very curvey roads. Speeds of 25 to 35MPH. The place you check in is no where near the units. It's very confusing to find the unit. Our unit was at the end of the line, so we made many wrong turns before we found it. It takes a couple of days before you can drive to it or leave from it with no problems. The only other complaint is that the check in people weren't very helpful. They answered your questions, but that's it. Most places we stay have employees that give suggestions about things to do or places to eat. We got nothing from them. There were no rodent or roach problems. The unit was large and very clean. The problem we have at every resort is that they never have non stick frying pans. Other than that, the kitchen was well stocked. The high outside windows needed cleaning very badly. They had so many cobwebs that it was hard to see out of them. Our unit was in the woods, so I'm sure it's hard to keep up with the cobwebs. The area has a lot of things to do. They have a 27 inch surplus of rain this year, so everything is so green. I would recommend chimney Rock state park. The elevator is broken so you have to walk up 491 steps to get to the top, but it was worth it. There are places to stop along the way. Then, of course, you have to walk down 491 steps. Then there is DuPont state park. You walk about 5 miles round trip to different water falls. Other reviewers said that there was no cell phone service. We always had service in our unit. Sometimes while driving, we would lose it for a couple of minutes, but I wouldn't complain about the service. We have Sprint, I don't know about any other companies service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OakGrove_MNJoyceN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed recently in Fox Run Nr 3 which we traded into via Interval. We had no view from the two decks off the back of the unit since you are looking into an overgrown forest that blocks your view of Bald Mountain Lake. The units are spacious but somewhat dated as others have commented on. It did look like the kitchen area had had a fairly recent update. You do get two flat screen TV's that are connected to cable, while we did not try to use it there was a DVD player and stereo system in the living room. There is no internet access in the units, it is available in the resort's Wellness Center. Verizon cell phone coverage in and around the townhouse was spotty at best, we were told that ATT worked a bit better there. The unit was fairly clean but more could have been done especially with the bathroom floors. We did have both a bug and rodent problem. After we saw the first roaches the staff came out and sprayed which seemed to take care of that problem. The next day we had a mouse, once again the staff responded and put out several traps and they actually caught two during our stay, not very pleasant and wish they had done that prior to our arrival. We actually found the amenities at the resort to be a pleasant surprise . The pool, albeit a 5 minute drive from the townhouse was enjoyable and not overcrowded. We spent a fun day floating in the Lake from the resort's beach. While we did not use them they have a good looking putt-putt course and other activities such as tennis and volleyball. We enjoyed both the Bald Mountain and Apple Valley golf courses, both were in excellent condition, reasonably priced and easy to get on. We'll go back to the resort but probably try to stay somewhere else on the property and not in Fox Run.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.5 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
5.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
0 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
17.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
2 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: £124 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing