We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week in the mountains” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“week in the mountains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a lovely location. It is an older facility. Small shower in Master bath but lovely whirlpool tub. Disadvantage for older adults. Master bedroom was a long steep staircase down below the living room. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable living room, comfortable beds. The condo was clean. If you are a golfer it has a lovely course.

The office staff gave poor directions to get to the condo which is quite a drive from the sign in office. We got lost twice getting there and by the time we got in the office was closed. We would probably requested a different condo without the long staircase to the master bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask about bedroom locations. We were told it was only 7 steps to the master bedroom. It was only 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    58
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
64
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my first review of which I feel compelled to write. I read the past reviews after we booked the week of May 17th. And we had invited friends to stay with us ! Yikes! Roaches and mildew, o my! Much to our happy surprise the place was spotless. Yes, the bathroom sinks were a little old, as was the outside of our refrigerator. I would suggest bringing your own non-stick frying pan and a couple of sharp knives. Beds were great! We had no problem air conditioning the downstairs bedroom, once the vents were open. Beware, the fireplace vent is always opened. We blocked the face of the fireplace to prevent any air going up the chimney .Nothing to complain about. We were on fox run road and probably met the people who have previously written a review. Everyone was very friendly and happy. We took the lake tour which was beautiful... About 2 hours and only $16. Chimney Rock was nearby... A must. The elevator is not operational so you must use the stairs....well worth it. The path to the waterfalls has it's ups and downs but very well suited for kids. We did go to the prime rib buffet at the resort restaurant and found all the food to be cold, even though we were there when it opened up. Not much flavor either. A must is the restaurant on the lake ( can't think of the name) but it is on rte 64 just at the turn off for Ingles... A beautiful grocery store. I was much impressed with fox run and lake lure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fireball92771
Level Contributor
188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I checked into this resort on May 17th, 2014. Upon check-in I was apprehensive about the condos due to some bad reviews here on Tripadvisor. I hesitated when I unlocked the door to allow my husband and guests inside...if this was a bad idea, it was all on me. To my relief the condo was clean, bug free, very up-to-date and not at all like those bad reviews described.

We stayed on Fox Run Rd. which is the two level condos. We allowed our guests to take the lower level (master bedroom) and their only complaint was that it was a bit too cool at night. (for some reason the sunny weather the weather-man promised turned unseasonably cold) We tried to no avail to figure out how to heat the lower room...and in the end, we finally gave up and admitted that it wasn't going to work.

Two nights in a row a couple of bears raided the garbage cans in front of the condos. It was a good photo opp but very bad for the crew that had to clean up the mess. We saw several deer on the golf course and more squirrells than you could imagine.

My huband is an avid fisherman...fishing in Lake Lure and Bald Mountain Lake is very limited. There just isn't much access to fish from the bank and for those of you who wonder about a boat...yes, they rent them...to the tune of $65 an hour. Then, if I understood correctly you'd still owe a boat access fee. I didn't question that charge much, so don't take my word for it...by that point I had already lost interest.

We saw one roach while at the condo...we stayed 5 nights. Just like the check in package warned...the roaches are in the mulch. As long as it was outside I was okay with it.

Finally, the access to this resort is limited at best. Don't bother searching for a straight road, there are none. Through no fault of the resort, the roads are endless hairpin curves that leave you beaten and worn after a few trips from the resort to the local activities. If you aren't okay with life away from town, this isn't for you. If you don't do well of curvy roads, this place certainly isn't for you.

All in all this was a very good trip. We couldn't have asked for a better resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fireball92771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stay in the same unit every year and love it. Housekeeping does a fantastic job and the place ( 303 ) is just immaculate. Of course these places aren't new but they are well kept. It's so quiet and the beds are quite comfortable. And, it just happens to be on one of the most beautiful golf courses in the country. We found everyone we came in contact with to be fantastic and happy. Everyone. We look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Upon arrival to lockoff units 3313 A&B opened the door to an awful smell of mold/mildew. Units were filthy. Stains all over the bathroom ceiling. Front of white refrigerator was BLACK with dirt. Broom in the closet was BLACK with dirt. Blinds broken on doorwall. Vents dirty and rusty. Holes in the wall. I would have left had my family & I not just spent 13 hrs driving to get there. Due to the smell of mold/mildew; asthma flared up and couldn't breathe. Requested to be moved but was told there were no other units available. Had to leave unit the next day for 8 hrs so they could "clean the air"; which only worked for 2 days and the smell was right back. Smell was so bad in the lower unit no one could use it. The last day, we ran the dishwasher in the lower unit to find that it leaked all over!! That's probably were the mildew smell was coming from; place is probably full of black mold. Fox Run is Managed by VACATION RESORTS INTERNATIONAL. I found the staff unprofessional, unfriendly and difficult to work with. Jeanette (manager) not helpful at all. When speaking to her about no one being able to stay in the lower unit due to the smell and the dishwasher leaking all over, her reply to me was, "I thought you just said no one was able to use that unit." Not how I want to spend my vacation and then to deal with this RUDE & ARGUMENTATIVE woman. I don't live my life like a pig and I'm not going to spend my vacation like one either!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Lure hotels

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here over thanksgiving week. The place is a little older but had a whirlpool tub, and three balconies. From out unit there was a nice view of trees and mountains, we were not able to see the lake. The resort has indoor and outdoor pools and golf course and restaurants on site. Most of the time we were at the unit. It was a family get together and we did not travel to Asheville for the sites like Biltmore House this time. There are nice things around but not within walking distance. So bottom line, if you want a secluded place to go and relax quietly this is a good place. I have looked at the other reviews and some of the points need repeating. It is a long drive from the interstate or airport, the units are a little older, the check-in is offsite, GPS systems have a hard time taking you the quickest route (print out directions and distances before hand, Our unit 213 was great. If you need to check in with care-givers give them the phone number of the unit and have them call, cell coverage can be spotty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50nightsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhartel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just arrived Saturday and were pleasantly surprised based on some of the negative reviews. We traded our Barony Beach time share in Hilton Head. WE LOVE THIS LOCATION!! Have an individual unit #213 with 2 bedrooms. Has 3 balconies, is clean, nice and soooooo quiet here. Yes, we have to take a short drive to resort. Not very far so you COULD walk - but there isn't a flat piece of land that I've found yet!! We knew as soon as we got here that this will be on our list of places to return to. There are pontoon tours at the resort. Alan was our guide. I highly recommend spending an hour or two having Alan give a tour. He is very hospitable and knows the area. If you aren't one for country settings you may not agree with me but if you're like me and embrace the serene quiet of the mountains - you won't find a better choice!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
0.0 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
2.8 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Property: Fox Run Resort
Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing