We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were in an updated, very pretty two story unit. Plenty of space, large pantry and a washer & dryer (even if the dryer is a little high for us short people to reach). Really nice, large walk-in shower in upstairs bath. Tiny shower in downstairs master bath, but it had a jacuzzi tub. Probably not good for families with small children. Unit had everything we needed except for an internet connection. Not saying it needed wifi throughout; but one computer/internet jack/plug would have been nice. Too many of us need to stay in touch with work and going down to the restaurant every time was a hassle. You also need to put some type of latch on those in-ground trash receptacles. Every morning the trash was pulled out. They were very helpful with giving our parents a unit with no exterior steps. Check in/out was a breeze! Our unit was in the trees, other family had a great view of the mountains. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Mithral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit to the Lake Lure area. The accommodations at Fox Run were very nice with ample space and access to the amenities, restaurants, and activities at Rumbling Bald Resort. Thank you for the great vacation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just come home from a trip to lake lure.
We really loved it. Yes there were stairs in the apartment but this meant that it was a lot larger than usual.all the equipment was first rate. Both bedrooms were large with large comfortable beds the master also had a walk in wardrobe. We would have liked a safety deposit box. We were in the woods and saw deer below us from the balcony. I can imagine in the fall and winter the apartment would be quite dark.
The whole area was beautiful. As stated before the food at huckleberrys was also excellent. Check in and out was quick and efficient. Yes there was no wifi in the appartments but we sat down by the lake near the ice cream shop to use it. Which really was much nicer.
Overall we loved it and would happily return if it was not so far from the uk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week at Fox Run. This is our second time, last was in 2010. The first week in June turned out to be less crowded and easy to get on either of the two golf courses at Rumbling Bald. The unit seemed to be a bit updated from the last visit, yet remained very clean and full of everything we needed for our stay. Check-in was fast and the staff were very pleasant. If anyone is looking for anything but a secluded resort, peace and quiet, this may not be the place for you. Great area and resort for couples, children and families with a wide range of activities for all. We also enjoyed eating at the Lakeside Restaurant and Luna DelSol, both close by and both have specials on various nights of the week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musicman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This resort is located on Rumbling Bald Mountain. The condo is very clean, spacious and well maintained. Our only complaint is that the beds were soft and saggy. Some people may like their beds that way. As you walk into the condo there are about 6 steps up to the front door. The entry level has a foyer, a bathroom and the guest bedroom with two double beds. The bedrooms are huge. You go down 7 steps to the Master Bedroom. This level also has a large master bathroom with a whirlpool but and a separate shower. From the entry level you can also go up 6 steps to the living area, which has a small kitchen, an open dining room and a living area. There are three TV's. We were very impressed with the condo. The resort is located on Rumbling Bald Mountain near the top. If you use the standard directions, you will spend a very long time on 74a going around many curvy roads climbing all the way. Once you arrive, the condo office can direct you to an easier route to I-40 that involves back roads but less curves. They can also direct you to a nearby grocery. The resort has swimming pools, tennis courts, golf courses, a miniature golf course, a fitness building, and a beach on Lake Lure. They also offer pontoon, canoe, paddleboard, and kayak rentals as well as three restaurants. You must drive down a ways to get to all of this. There is not much to do at the condo due to the steepness of the mountain. We had a great week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jnsn502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After arriving at visitor center everything went great and fast check in. Staff were frendly and helpful. They explained what room we had and where it was. We arrived at the room and it was a tri level and clean and roomy. Very nice as nice as any other resort. Yes therer were some things a little different but was still nice A very lovely location. One thing was the small shower encloser but still was nice . We enjoyed the resort and the swimming pools were great all three. One indoor and two outdoor. W really liked the grilling area outside the room and the look out point there also. We do not Golf but looked like they had several courses if you are into that. Restrurants on site, boat rentals in which we rented a patoon boat and enjoyed Lake Lure. All and all it was a real great time and would love to go back and enjoy the property again. We just loved the area and resort and staff. Thank you for a real great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crzcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a lovely location. It is an older facility. Small shower in Master bath but lovely whirlpool tub. Disadvantage for older adults. Master bedroom was a long steep staircase down below the living room. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable living room, comfortable beds. The condo was clean. If you are a golfer it has a lovely course.

The office staff gave poor directions to get to the condo which is quite a drive from the sign in office. We got lost twice getting there and by the time we got in the office was closed. We would probably requested a different condo without the long staircase to the master bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask about bedroom locations. We were told it was only 7 steps to the master bedroom. It was only 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.5 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
5.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: £125 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing