We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Shabby Place”
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox Run Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Shabby Place”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

The Rumbling Bald Resort complex, with it's beautiful setting on Lake Lure in the NC mountains, it's two excellent golf courses, and it's great people, is wonderful. We have stayed there in the Wyndam timeshare units and loved it. But this year we could only get a unit in Fox Run. It was in need of repair, everything was old, the downstairs master bedroom stayed cold while the upstairs was burning us up, and "shabby" is a kind way of describing it. Too bad too, since the unit was in a prime location at the top of a blazingly colorful hill. Do go to Rumbling Bald, but don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    59
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
66
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My family and I selected Foxrun as a timeshare exchange through RCI. Located at Lake Lure, NC, these townhouses offer NO amenities themselves, other than a fireplace and cable TV. What they do: is piggyback off the amenities offered by the Rumbling Bald resort, which is also on the lake. What that means is that if you want to go to the pool, or use the internet, you have to drive 1.25 miles to the Rumbling Bald facilities. Now, everything offered by Rumbling Bald was great - good pool, nice spa, good food in the restaurants, however, the Foxrun townhouses left a lot to be desired. We lost electricity two separate times, the cable went out multiple times, and the day before we left, my wife woke up to mouse droppings right out in the open on the kitchen counter, and evidence that it had gotten into some sealed food there. When we called, the front desk staff made no apologies, and only offered to send housekeeping (which we saw no evidence that they came).

The lake is nice, and there are several other resorts right there that also use the Rumbling Bald amenities, and you'd be better off staying at one of them than Foxrun.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GD2J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Lure hotels

New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

My family stayed at Fox Run in April, the week after Easter. One thing you should know is that the resort is not free-standing - it's on the grounds of (and inside the security entrance of) the Rumbling Bald golf resort. We found that a bit confusing upon arrival, but got used to it, once we got our bearings. The townhouse we stayed in was nice and roomy for two adults, one 8 year-old, and one 14 year-old. The bedrooms weren't huge or fancy, but were fine, given that we spent most of our time (when there) in the high-ceilinged, comfy living/dining area. It was great to have a full kitchen and laundry - both of which we put to good use. The townhouse had 3 great balconies, which we would have used more if the weather had been warmer. The kids loved the indoor pool facilities, which were a bit crowded, but they didn't seem to mind. (The outdoor pools were set to open a week or so later.) We also played miniature golf and rented DVDs at the rec center, and enjoyed long walks around the golf course. The Lake Lure area is beautiful, but the driving is challenging. Be prepared to grip your steering wheel tightly, because these mountain roads require a tight turn every 100 feet...or so it seems! Allow lots of time to get to your destinations. A ten mile trip will easily require 30 minutes, due to the twisty roads. Don't miss hiking Chimney Rock, feasting on pizza at La Strada, and horseback riding at Cedar Creek Stables. While you're in the area, you'll also want to go to the Biltmore Estate and spend a day in artsy Ashville. We enjoyed all of those things!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rogersjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbabeling
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My family visited Fox Run Townhome on a short mini-vacation in March. The resort itself is compiled of these townhomes, plus some other townhomes as well as golf villas and private mountain residences. It is private access which makes it nice to have the whole resort to only owners and guests. The resort is beautiful with the golf course all throughout the property. We went while the resort was largely unoccupied which made the overall trip much more enjoyable. However, the downside was that many of the amenities were not open for us to enjoy such as the on-site restaurant and some of the pools. Yet, in the summer this resort easily has some of the nicest amenities of any other resort around. There is a huge beach area and marina, as well as mini golf, business center, and indoor/outdoor pools. There are also really nice walking paths everywhere that are great to walk on during the evening or early morning. Look to some of my pictures for a better idea of the amenities.

The townhomes themselves are near the back of the resort and the streets get very confusing especially the very first time. So you definitely do not want to arrive at night!! However, after a few days you get used to it and it becomes much easier. There are 2 townhomes together and they are in a more wooded area that the rest of the resort. Our particular unit even had a partial view of a small lake down below. There are also many deer on site and the first night we were there we encountered about 10 of them right below our deck. The inside of the townhome is older, but it was clean! They are beginning to replace many of the decks and furniture so most of the units have a mix of old and new. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are spacious. The kitchen however isn’t very big so I really wouldn’t want to cook very many meals there. It is also a split level plan with varying numbers of steps in each unit but for us it worked out nice with practically 3 separate floors. The only problems in our unit was the heating was a little off making the basement master bedroom a little cold sometimes, and the refrigerator desperately needed replacing as it was hardly cooling. Look to some of my pictures for a better understanding of the inside of the townhomes.

The general surrounding area of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock is definitely what makes this place worth the visit!! This area of the N.C. Mountains is easily one of the most beautiful natural places I have ever seen. The resort is located at the furthest end of Lake Lure, so the drive into town is about 25 minutes one way, so you definitely want to make longer rather than shorter trips. The broad river or the lake itself is running right beside the road for most of the ride so the beautiful scenery will make the time pass quickly. When we visited the towns were very quiet, but they seemed to have a ton of amenities for the summer. Stop by the visitor’s center in Lake Lure; the people are very helpful and have wonderful suggestions of things to do. There is also a beach swimming area and boat tours of Lake Lure in town. Further up the road just a big is Chimney Rock; a very charming mountain town with lots of really neat shops. One thing to definitely not miss is the River Walk which is a natural rock walkway that runs along the river and is one of the coolest things you will ever see!! We also took the time one day to make the trip to the Biltmore House and Asheville which is about an hour away. We got a great deal this time of the year, but if you decide to go regardless of the season get your tickets from the check-in office because they provide a great discount! The city of Asheville is also a really unique city and really completes a wonderful day trip. Also like some other people have said, the grocery store is not really nearby, BUT it is on the way to the town of Lake Lure, so you could easily make a stop one day - just ask the front desk and they will be glad to give you directions!

Overall, this resort was decent and enjoyable. No, it was not the nicest place I have ever stayed, but the overall area will more than make up for it! The units were older, but they were clean and to me that matters the most! Also, the time of season that we went, they were at a much discounted value, so it made it easier to deal with. You will be sad to leave and the area will make you want to visit again and tell all your friends about it. It’s such a unique mountain area that makes it a must see for anyone!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbabeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

My husband and I loved our trip to Lake Lure area. We booked Fox Run via an RCI exchange. I read another review that said there was a $50 activity fee but we DID NOT find that to be true.
The two golf courses were beautiful and only $28 after 1pm. We put our kayaks in on the resort's Bald Mountain Lake (no fee). You do need to pay a weekly fee if you put in on Lake Lure though but it's only $10. The resort's end of Lake Lure had a beach that was very nice as was the lake. We didn't use the pools or mini golf but they looked good. The exercise facility was good. Our unit was very nice although the living room furniture could have been a little better. Loved sitting out on the deck in the evening and early morning, looking at the mountains. The view was beautiful, air was so fresh and we loved the quiet. Wildlife could be seen from the deck and balcony. Had a very good dinner ( prime rib buffet ) at the Lakeside restaurant and loved the green beans at Laura's in Chimney Rock and the homemade jams and butters we bought at Lawters roadside stand were fantastic. Mikes on Main in Hendersonville provided a good breakfast on our trip to Hendersonville. Between golf, kayaking on the lakes, and hiking to the Waterfalls in Chimney Rock park, siteseeing/shopping in Hendersonville and Asheville, we had plenty to do. In fact, we would like to go back and check out the fishing and horseback riding that we didn't have time for. We could have easily spent another week there.

  • Liked — quiet comfortable
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mergallo50Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans City, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

If you like scenery and peace and quiet this is the place to go. We just came back from Lake Lure in North Carolina and had a great time. The resort itself was okay, but the scenery was great! We stayed in Fox Run Resort as we have a timeshare and wanted to see Lake Lure. We were at the top of the resort away from all the amenities that they have, so we had to either hike or drive to everything. The golf course was great according to the men and the swimming pool was great also. The condo we stayed in had two bedrooms and two baths. The master bedroom had a king size bed and a master bath with a whirpool tub and the other bedroom had two double beds with a tub-shower combo. It had a dining room-living room with an open out couch and a small kitchen. We enjoyed the cool evenings on the back deck. The only draw back was that you could not see anything from the deck as it was facing the woods that surrounded the house. We took a ride to the beach on the resort which was across from the pool. It was very clean and had picnic tables and a playground for the kids. The only draw back with staying there was that everything and I mean everything was so far away. They had a restaurant at the golf course which was very expensive and everything else was quite a distance. There was a grocery store about 15 miles away which we took advantage of. We went to Chimney Rock Park about 25 miles away and Ashville about 50 miles away. Chimney Rock was awsome! You have to go there if you are in the area. We probably will go back sometime in the future, but by ourselves and not with family. I would recomend this resort.

Helpful?
7 Thank gramap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We booked our week via Interval International using a trade from our "home resort" of Swallowtail (Hilton Head Island.)

Fox Run may be an older property; however, our particular unit (# 14) had recently been refurbished and was in excellent condition.

The on site activities (golf, pools, beach, boating) were great and there is free wireless net access in the main buildings where the restaurants are located (but not the individual units.) Some of the units have quite a few steps to get to unit entrance and many are in need of significant repair.

Contrary to some other reviews, there is now a full service grocery (Ingles) that is fairly close by so there is no longer any need to shop on your way to the resort.

The boat tour of Lake Lure is very nice and the guide narratives of the history and the details on some of the lake front homes was well worth the price.

For those who like gambling, there is a casino in Cherokee that is managed by Harrah's. If you have a Rewards account, check their website to get a comp room -- the hotel/casino is very nice.

Asheville is fairly close by and the Biltmore Estate is is a great day trip.

Take another day to drive through the Great Smoky Mountains. Bring a bathing suit -- there is a great "swimming hole" on the drive where the road splits to Townsend and Cades Cove.

  • Liked — Location was close to several WNC attractions.
  • Disliked — Steps to the unit were in really bad shape; bordering on dangrous.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Namgrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.5 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
5.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
6.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Property: Fox Run Resort
Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing