We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Grove Park Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Better than the Grove Park Inn”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Lake Lure Inn and Spa on Saturday, 11/16/2013 and then went on to the Grove Park Inn for 11/17 and 11/18. The Inn is more quaint, more relaxing, the prices are much more reasonable and the food was much better. In my opinion, the only thing the Grove Park Inn has over the Lake Lure Inn is the view. If you want an off the beaten path place that has history and is close to great food and local shops, the Lake Lure Inn is the stop to make!

Room Tip: If you want a quaint room, stay in any room. For a little more space choose one of the suites like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TarheelTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    211
    79
    55
    35
See reviews for
254
329
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Beautiful setting in spacious grounds. Staff all friendly and helpful.
Dining in the Inn restaurant or at an Italian restaurant a short walk away are both recommended.
Lots of nearby trips including Chimney Rock Mountain that are well worth visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Was married here and the service and ambience were wonderful. The staff helped us any way they could. One took our pics eliminating the need to hire a photographer. Our couples massage was great and the area was very private for our hot tub and wine and chocolate. Cake and flowers were handled locally and we're beautiful and yummy. Also don't miss the Sunday brunch -- yummy!!



  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The staff at Lake Lure Inn were above amazing in helping with the wedding and reception. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and quick to respond to any needs. There was a problem scheduling services in the spa unless you had reservations prior to arriving. The food was incredible but was served warm because of wedding toasts. The food had to be carted in from the kitchen in the main building to the garden. The service was superb however. I would recommend it highly to anyone planning a destination wedding.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MwokyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was an anniversary trip for my husband & I and I must say we were very disappointed. The place is beautiful even though it's aged. Our room was immaculate; however, it was so small that we could barely get our duffel bags unpacked, there was no place to sit & the shower is ridiculously small. I do not feel that the accommodations were accurately described on the website and we will not return to the inn due to what we paid vs. the accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof21973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I planned a last minute weekend away, and our stay at Lake Lure was wonderful. The Inn is just beautiful-everything you'd expect from an "old fashioned" Southern inn. Decor was great. Our cabin (Baby's Cabin) was clean, nicely decorated, and beyond our expectations. The only drawnback-the furnace in Baby's Cabin was so loud it woke my husband and I up several times during the night.
We weren't able to experience the dinner service as it was cancelled due to a wedding. That was a bit dissapointing, but the Sunday brunch the next morning was great! Lots of selection and the quality was wonderful.
I would recommend the Inn to anyone and hope to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mrlea115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I just had our wedding at the Inn and it was absolutely perfect. All of our guests traveled from all over and stayed at the Inn as well. The Inn staff is so wonderful and accommodating. I can't say enough about how friendly they all are. The Inn itself is beautiful, the rooms are classically decorated with antiques and there is so much history throughout the Inn. The food was delicious. The Sunday brunch is phenomenal and the food at our wedding and the bonfire the night before was also incredible. We had so many comments on how good it was as well as how great the Inn is. There is a lot to do in the area around the Inn as well. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Swayze Suite. So great, separate room with a huge jacuzzi tub. Great view of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PER2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
15.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
4.5 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
572 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing