We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful old inn.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old inn. Rooms were small however we truly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend Madinas for breakfast and Larkins boat house for dinner. The inn was filled with antiques. Just fun to walk around and look at all the clocks and music boxes from a different Etta. Especially enjoyed the player piano on Sunday in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marywootten100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    205
    73
    53
    34
See reviews for
242
317
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my daughter's wedding. We stayed in the Swayze Suite, which is, in our opinion, the best room in the hotel. My daughter and her new husband stayed in Johnny's Cabin. Some of our guests stayed in the main hotel and some in the motor lodge rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Suite and the cabin were roomy, but some of the rooms in the main hotel were barely big enough for the bed and had tiny bathrooms. All the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The event manager, Patrick, did a wonderful job of seeing that all our needs as a group were met. We were so busy we never did get to the pool! We had a bonfire and S'mores on the beach arranged by the hotel which was great fun. My brother and his wife took advantage of all the nearby hiking trails. Asheville is about 45 minutes away if you want to experience more of the city life. There was a nice range of prices on the rooms. Only problem we had during our stay was the inability to get cell phone service inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dalawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archdale, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I love historic buildings and vintage/antique appointments and the inn delivers on the atmosphere. I was visiting for a cycling event and stayed in the motor court, so I didn't get the full on experience of the main building. The room was nice and very clean. The shower was a little small but serviceable. The staff was all wonderful and friendly. I was in a corner location, so I did not get a view out my window and the parking space outside my room was not accessible. There were two weddings that weekend, so I didn't have access to the pool area but was made aware of this immediately upon making my reservation and decided to stay anyway. Overall, I was very pleased between the quality of the room, the location in relation to all the attractions of the area. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa0migod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for my brother's wedding weekend and we're impressed by the charm of this historic hotel. There were some nuances to the hotel given it's age but overall the hotel was clean and the staff seemed friendly. We stayed in one of the larger rooms at this hotel, called baby's bungalow and my parents stayed in Johnny's cabin, both were well appointed and had ample space, which I can't say is consistent with all of the rooms, specifically the standard ones that I visited. The salon was ok, the trolley was adventurous, and the food was good, but the real selling point for this hotel is the location on the very picturesque lake and it's vintage character!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sunflower619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely location, great price. We stayed in the main building and enjoyed the experience. It was decorated with numerous antiques, our room had clean and comfortable beds, very quiet, and a nice sized bathroom. The pool was clean and the inn is very conveniently located across the street from Lake Lure where you can swim or rent kayaks and paddleboats. It is a short walk from the marina where you can rent boats or take a boat tour of Lake Lure. Chimney Rock is two minutes away by car or you can take a nice walk there, where there is hiking, shopping and plenty of restaurants. I was pleasantly surprised at the overall stay and visit to the area and would definitely recommend this inn and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the "motor lodge" for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised how much we liked it. The furnishing were great. The room was quite and there was a great place to having breakfast within a few feet of our front door. Parking was great - at our front door. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queens was a little tight, but very manageable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were traveling back to Illinois with 2 children ages 6 and 8. We had a nice stay... enjoyed Chimney Rock State park.... tried to swim in the lake but got there too late... sign said they closed at 6:00pm but actually closed at 5:30.... didn't realize the hotel had such a nice pool or would have used it... room was comfortable enough... didn't spend much time in the room... enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
15.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
4.4 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing