We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the motor lodge. It was plenty of room with a bedroom and sitting area. Everyone was friendly and the maid service was exceptional. Thought 8.00 was a little pricey for the beach/lake, but not sure if that is the hotel or town charging!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    197
    72
    52
    35
See reviews for
234
297
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We planned to stay 2 nights Labor Day weekend. We were assigned room 210. The room is obviously dated but we didn't mind.

When we got back to our room from playing at the beach I found a bed bug on our towel.

When I called the front desk she said "oh yes, we've been having problems with fruit flues & gnats". I told her this was no gnat.

When she came to the room I had the live bed bug in a cup & she tried to tell us it was a kudzu bug. Apparently they've been having problems with those too. We showed her picture of bed bugs on the IPAD. No denying it. Its a bed bug.

She tried to find us accommodations at another hotel, but since it was a holiday weekend, of course there was nothing available.

We drove 3 hours home.

So extremely disappointed.


Ruined family vacation,

Lake Lure is Lovely,

Do not stay at this Inn.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DELBRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1927LakeLureInn, Manager at The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All reviews are helpful, however, we must express that this post is suspicious. Our hotel has had two consecutive 100% “A” Sanitation ratings from the State Dept of Health. We host thousands of guests annually and have reviews of exceptional cleanliness from our large, well-trained housekeeping staff. The towel on which the guest claimed they found a bug contained grass cuttings and other debris which means the guest may have brought this bug into the hotel. The room was stripped bare and thoroughly inspected and there was not any sign of any bedbugs found anywhere in the room; nevertheless, because the guest may have brought the bug with them or brought it into the hotel from wherever the towel had been, we took the room off line and sterilized it; the room will remain off line for ten days as precaution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were only able, on this trip, to stay for two nights. It was our first trip to this area. The Inn was not exactly what we expected. It was better. It was 1927 or more probably a 1950s 1960s era Inn. Window air conditioning, and a small shower with a lot of water from the shower head. It felt wonderful. The windows open to let in the clean mountain air, if you like. The furnishings in the Inn are worth taking the time to examine. The Inn staff and the Spa staff were very helpful and friendly. We visited Chimney Rock for the first time and also the village of Chimney Rock. We did not have time to use the beach facilities but we plan on returning soon to do so. It was a great get-a-way for my wife and I.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing location next to Lake Lure. Where Jennifer Grey & Patrick Swayze stayed during the filming of Dirty Dancing. Pet friendly. Neat history. Small room with huge king bed. Friendly staff. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My visit was during the beginning of the week and I enjoyed the quiet time and great location. Accommodations were very comfortable and the staff accommodating as well. Beds were comphy! Recommended! Beautiful area of Western NC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maloftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a lovely, old (historic) property. Do not expect large rooms and for everything to be "perfect" as in a new facility. That is part of the charm. The pool is absolutely beautiful and it over looks the lake. Be sure to eat breakfast on the veranda over looking the pool and pool grounds (they offer complimentary coffee and danishes/fruit every morning). The little town of Chimney Rock is super touristy, but really quaint and the riverwalk area is so beautiful and peaceful. Of course, Chimney Rock state park is not be missed. Skip swimming in Lake Lure at the beach across the street. Just enjoy the pool over looking the lake for free!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nktraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old inn. Rooms were small however we truly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend Madinas for breakfast and Larkins boat house for dinner. The inn was filled with antiques. Just fun to walk around and look at all the clocks and music boxes from a different Etta. Especially enjoyed the player piano on Sunday in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marywootten100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
15.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
4.4 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#2 of 3 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Property: The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Address: 2771 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28746-6320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing