We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!”
Review of Huckleberry's - CLOSED

Huckleberry's
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The History of Huckleberry's Lake Lure In the early mornings of high school, you could find Michaila in the kitchen at Huckleberry's Lake Lure stirring up all kinds of "goodies." In April 2012, she began serving a full breakfast and lunch menu six days a week. By May 2013, Michaila had hired an Executive Chef, Jim Camillo, to join her in bringing you the restaurant's fine international cuisine. She also expanded to seven days a week in the Lake Lure Season. In December 2014, she opened another location in Tryon, NC, "Huckleberry's Tryon." The Tryon facility took off so fast and furious, that in May 2015, Chef Jim and Michaila closed their Lake Lure location and moved to Tryon full time.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After a morning of finalizing some wedding plans at the nearby Rumbling Bald Resort, my soon-to-be daughter-in-law and I were driving home when we came across this quaint farmhouse named Huckleberry's. Always ready for an adventure, we stopped in and immediately fell in love the the ambiance of the place. We were greeted with big smiles and accommodated quickly when we asked for a high chair for the wee one we had with us for the day. Our server, Ms. Kathy H., was knowledgeable of the menu and when we asked for suggestions, she inquired about our favorites. Being southern girls with a palate to match, she suggested the shrimp and grits and the chicken and waffles. We both agreed that the entrees were the best we had ever eaten. We ordered the mac and cheese for the two-year-old we had with us and the mac and cheese wasn't the boxed kind with orange powder . . . it was creamy, cheesy heaven. We all snuck a few bites of that as well. We received a sample of the peach chardonnay soup, which was beyond delicious and refreshing on a hot summer day. We were so impressed, we changed our plans for the bridesmaid's luncheon we will be hosting prior to the wedding to have it at Huckleberry's. I can't wait to go back. Thank you, Kathy H, for your kindness and to the whole staff for making our day and meal so delightful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good morning Patti, and Bride to Be
It was great to meet the three of you on Saturday. We are looking forward to seeing you and your bridal party on Oct 2, 2014 for high tea luncheon.
Can not wait to see your wedding colors and theme.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    38
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ate here for lunch while staying at the Rumbling Bald Resort. Ms. Kathy H. helped us decide what to eat. The Shrimp and Grits were among the best I've ever had (and that's coming from a girl from Charleston SC). My hubby had the Chicken and Waffles with fries. It was also delishious, even the fries were fantastic. Don't miss this place, way better that the nearby places.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoCoYumYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Good evening CoCo
Mrs Kathy made a excellent recommendation to you both on those two popular lunch items.
Our fries are beer battered and are very well liked by most of our diners.
Thanks for visiting and have a great summer.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfield,wi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Out Of the Way Gourmet Restaurant You'll ever want to revisit!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Huckleberrys is a small restaurant located in the Hills of Lake Lure. The amazing success of this place is established by some remarkably intelligent people who really know how to make your meal worth every dime you spend. There are 3 chefs, and 2 cooks who work very hard to create a meal you'll never forget. The menu is not only remarkably pleasing to the pallet, but the food itself is incredibly healthy.

The menu has been created by culinary specialists, and represents a meal you don't want to miss. The service was very friendly, and Ms. Julia our waitress provided a lot of insight on the history of this remarkable operation; besides doing a great job in serving our meal. With all the food served, we had to leave with a doggy bag!!

The prices were definitely NOT OUT OF LINE!!

Great people, great food, all at an affordable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erhrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs WI
So glad you stopped into visit us on the way to your daughters home. It sounded like you were really enjoying your road trip. Thank you for taking time out of your road trip, to stop and give us a glowing review. I do not have much for a advertising budget, so this free website, really helps me grow my businesses.
See you next summer, when you return to the Lake area, until then, stay well.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We didn't want to eat anywhere else!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an adorable little place with fantastic food and very reasonable prices--but it was the service that just blew us away.

We visited Huckleberry's during a weekend stay at nearby Rumbling Bald. Since we were only at the resort a couple nights it didn't make sense to stock up our condo fridge. We dreaded having to negotiate the winding roads to dine out for every meal but weren't wowed by the food at Rumbling Bald, so we tried Huckleberry's for breakfast our first morning.

The breakfast was quite good and quite a deal. The pina colada French toast in particular…heaven! And I'm not usually a big fan of unsweet ice tea but whatever they put in theirs had me asking for refills. Ms. Kathy H., our server, was quite helpful and gracious, and a peek at the dinner menu had us determined to return that evening.

So get this: it so happened that it was our 5 year-old's birthday, and he loved the eggs and pancakes he'd had for breakfast there so much that when he returned, he begged us for the same meal that night. We asked our server Amber if there was any chance the chef could make it happen, not expecting much…but she returned quickly and said that Chef Jim said that since it was the boy's birthday, he'd do it. Not only did he whip up eggs and pancakes (decorated with whip cream and sprinkles), they also presented him with a dinosaur birthday card signed by the staff--and Chef Jim came out to personally wish him a happy birthday and pose for pictures with him. The table next to us was celebrating a birthday at their table as well and sent over a slice of strawberry birthday cake, prepared at Huckleberry's (it's also a bakery), and it was amazing. If we had known we would have ordered a cake ahead as well!

My husband and I opted for something off the dinner menu, which was impressively extensive for such a small venue. He had the shrimp and grits, which he proclaimed were better than any he'd had in the years he'd lived in Georgia, while I had a rib eye cooked to perfection with tasty mashed potatoes. The stuffed portobello appetizer was phenomenal as well. We took advantage of the BYOB opportunity and lack of corkage fee and enjoyed our own wine with the meal. It was all so reasonably priced that it all cost us just $20 more than the doughy, tasteless calzone, undercooked salmon salad, and kid's meal at Rumbling Bald the night before.

We know we'll be back to Lake Lure, and I can't imagine wanting to eat anywhere other than Huckleberry's when we do! Thanks so much to Chef Jim, Amber, and the rest of the staff for making our boy's birthday so special!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Birthday Family,
We all enjoyed celebrating with you, your little one is so cute. I wish Trip Advisor allowed photos on responses, because we have some great ones of you all to post.
It was our pleasure to serve you all, and we are so glad we could make his day special.
Have a safe drive home.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgway, pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ditto”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We were visiting the area and decided to come for dinner...we got there early, just as they were changing over from lunch service and decided to wait for the dinner menu. We were seated at 4:30. Amber was our server and she couldn't have added any more charm and attentiveness. I had the prime rib and he had the famous meatloaf. We shared bites. We saved room for a little dessert. All was excellent. The place is darling with country charm but with a Manu you wouldn't expect. So glad we stopped in. Congratulations on your restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwantavacationnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello PA,
It was great meeting you all and Amber and I thank you for having early dinner with us. Our bacon wrapped meatloaf has been a incredible seller this spring, and I believe Chef Jim will even be keeping it on our summer menu. If you return to Lake Lure please stop in again, in the meantime thank you for encouraging words.
Michaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huckleberry's also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing