We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Lake Lure Flowering Bridge
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Flowers from the tropics to local varieties. If you love flowers this is not to miss. This is a very interesting idea to do this and have it cared for by volunteers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SydneyS786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    79
    18
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice garden in an unusual setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It would have been easy to demolish the old highway bridge and just walk away. Instead, the gardeners of Lake Lure have turned the old bridge into a gardener's fantasy of color and whimsy. My wife is a dedicated gardener who thoroughly enjoyed wandering around while I enjoyed the lake and river views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely great idea!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I totally enjoyed this visit. A free attraction that was so unique with many great ideas for anyone's garden that seemed fairly simple to implement. I only spent about 30 minutes because we were going on a boat ride at the lake but I would have loved to have stayed a bit longer. There were volunteers there who were very much appreciated. Make sure if you go you look in the mail box at the beginning. I didn't notice a sign or anything so I didn't look in it until the end but there's a little paper in there that tells you the story of the bridge as well as many of the plant names that are displayed. They do have areas where they have boxes available for donations and once you speak to the volunteers and see what a beautiful job they are doing making a donation seems like common sense.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Take this short stroll if you like gardens”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I bet this little spot is overlooked by many travelers, but what a shame. An outstanding civic project, maintained by volunteers, has put to good use an old road bridge. If you love gardens, you need to stop here. Make sure to read all the signs and talk to any volunteers you find working. Well done, Lake Lure!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldManDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Lure, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great use for an old bridge. You can tell that the community has done a great job transforming into a beautiful garden. Well worth the time to stop and see. You will love the flowing gardens and views. Help them out with a donation well worth it!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Lure Flowering Bridge also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lake Lure Flowering Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing