We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sandwiches.”

Larkin's On The Lake
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had to hunt down a restaurant open because the tourist season hadn't really kicked in yet. So we found ourselves in a nice restaurant overlooking Lake Lure at sundown. Our waiter, Josaphe, was very attentive. There were quite a few people there and the staff was hopping. I had a burger and my wife had an avocado chicken club. The portions were big and we left stuffed.

Thank jporter704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Jporter 704

Nice to hear you found us open and ready to take care of you. Josaphe was excited to read your review and appreciated your compliments on his service.

Thanks' for the review and come back soon,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 655 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

There aren't many choices in the area , which is probably why they stay in business ...I've eaten at this place 3 times , all 3x the food wasnt very good , but the beautiful view made it tolerable ... I suggest having a few drinks here then heading down to La Strada for good food .

2  Thank MikeCheck1-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Mike Check 1-2,

Disappointed we did not meet your expectations; I assure you we put every effort into satisfying our guest each time they choose to dine with us.

Glad you enjoyed the view,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were seated next to windows which gave us that great view everyone talks about. Loved it! Service is top notch. Shea the manager really took care of us. The food was very good. I had the crab cakes, which had excellent flavor, but would try something different next time. My wife had the pistachio chicken which was excellent. Will definitely come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

CarolinatoVegas,

Thanks' for the review. Nice to hear you enjoyed the view, service (Shea enjoyed taking care of you) and food. We are looking forward to your return!

Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

How refreshing to visit a restaraunt on Valentines Night and not be rushed and have great food. From the time I made my reservation until we finished our meal, everthing was first class. I cannot say enough about Larkin's on the Lake!! Thank you Shea and team!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Mike,

Shea and I would like to thank you for choosing Larkin's On The Lake to celebrate Valentines and your compliments are appreciated.

Come back and see us soon,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have been here several times. They have one of the best views of Lake lure. Their food is good but expensive with small portions. Very romantic seating overlooking the lake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LB-Was-Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis B, General Manager at Larkin's On The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

LB,

Thank you for the review and you're right, we do have an amazing view here at the restaurant; sometimes I need to remind myself to take a timeout and enjoy it myself.

Please come back soon,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larkin's On The Lake also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Larkin's On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing