We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Small Wedding Venue”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lake Lure, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryW4122
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Small Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Jo Beth House for a week. I was looking for a cabin in the mountains to host about 20 people for our wedding. The back porch was perfect for an aisle and alter. The dining and living rooms were perfect for standing hors d'oeuvres. The size of the house was perfect to accomodate my out of town guests. We had 9 people stay overnight for the first half of the week. Then, my husband and I stayed alone for the rest of the time. My favorite part of the cabin was the huge garden tub in the master bedroom. During our stay we had Sunday brunch at the 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa - phenomenal! We went zip lining at Canopy Ridge Farms - perfect build up for those afraid of heights. Mini golf at Rumbling Bald Resort was also fun. Then, we went shopping in Chimney Rock and hiked the trails. Hickory Nut Falls is where my husband proposed. The stairs were killer, but great views! We will definitely be back again!!

If I'm to be really critical to give some suggestions... blinds on ALL of the windows and doors would be great. The light in the mornings made it difficult to sleep for some of our guests. Updated televisions and DVD players would be better. A second refrigerator downstairs would be good. The house can potentially hold 12 people. One fridge doesn't quite cut it. I would change one of the two foosball tables to something else, like a pool table or air hockey (for example). The foosball tables to do need to be oiled. The poles don't slide as easily as they should. Finally, more/better outdoor lighting. It was difficult to see when leaving to porch to go to the parking areas. However, these things didn't take away from our visit. Just suggestions on how it could be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Dear Mary: Thank you for your helpful suggestions, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Remember to contact me for returning guest specials. Peace, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Dear Peggy: You were the ideal guest, and I thank you for your kind words. I look forward to hosting you at JoBeth House in the future. Blessings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rodman16
1 review
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great place to vac. Good location right at the resort where we had a wedding!! Boating, fishing , just relaxing. Hiking. Several sporting events.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review. We strive to make sure our guests are the happiest in the area. Please contact us for special rates for returning guests. Again, thanks! Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a week and just loved the place. Clean, lots of amenities, full kitchen, great view. There was plenty of bedrooms and everything you need for a great vacation. Close to many things to do and resort facilities were awesome. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thanks for the great review. Be sure to contact me about returning guest discounts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was wonderful and the amenities was great.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Dear Gayle: Thank you so much. I look forward to opening my home to you again in the future.
Blessings, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JenKE23
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, well stocked, awesome location”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

House is beautiful. Everything was ready when we arrived. All linens provided. Kitchen well stocked with everything you need to cook. Bedrooms are slightly different configuration then the summary. There is a king suite on main level. Super comfy bed. Upstairs is king bed and another room with 2 singles and a bunk. In basement are 2 bedrooms both with pyramid bunks. One is good but the other pyramid bed is metal which squeaks a lot and uncomfortable. All other beds good.
The resort is great. So many fun things to do. Everyone on site is super nice and friendly. I highly recommend this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open floorplan, game room, lots of amenities
Liked least: wifi is not robust. Usable but only one device at a time or it crashed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Dear Jennifer
Thank you for the positive review. We do strive to provide everything possible for our guests. Please feel free to contact me for returning guest discounts. Peace, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P
Sarasota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed the area of Lake Lure, and would definitely visit again. The cabin was tucked away in a quiet area, which is a bonus. Since we were traveling with 3 daughters 19-21 years old, the bedroom set up was not ideal for us. We would have preferred more bedrooms in the main area as to not alienate anyone. One daughter had to sleep in the basement alone. In some instances, many families may prefer this set up, so this was my fault. Unfortunately, we stayed a week after a big storm went through and the internet was down. We spent a few hours working with the owner (who was very accommodating) and workers to get us up and going again. Normally this wouldn't have been an issue, but it was a school-working vacation for a family member.

The cleaning service does a good job inside, but there was loose trash outside around the cabin. This was a little surprising to me, but that is something easy for the owner to take care of with a phone call since he does not live in town.

The owners need to consider new mattresses, comfortable outdoor seating, and potentially screening in one of the porches.

Overall, I think this is an up and coming rental unit. It's in a fantastic location and the arcade games were a hit with the whole family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of comfort outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Dear Barbara
Thank you for your input and suggestions. Contact me anytime for returning guest specials.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing