We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
Nearby Hotels
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa(Lake Lure)(Great Value!)
US$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chimney Rock Inn(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Carter Lodge(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esmeralda Inn(Chimney Rock)
US$1,093
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fox Run Resort(Lake Lure)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
56
59
25
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
59
25
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaple ridgegolf coursemountain loftchimney rockbiltmore estatequeen bedlower unitupstairs unitolder unitsdupont state forestguard gategreat family vacationsitting roomlocal attractionsget awaygreat place to visitoutdoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bdrm suit with the whirlpool. Went you walk in the living room area is there. When you have to go downstairs for the rest of the room, the first door will take you to the bathroom with shower, off of the bathroom is the whirlpool tub with a huge window and great view. Through the other door in that room is the bedroom area which was a good size with a convenient sink and counter space. There was a deck right off the bedroom so waking up the the views were great and even though it was on the golf course there were many trees for privacy. Through the double doors in the is the half kitchen with a table for 4 and laundry/pantry area off from the table. It really felt like home. The room was clean and well stocked with the essentials like utensils, etc.

The staff was friendly and nice, and everything was relatively close by. The amenities for the resort was about a mile away which was also shared with other resorts and residents within the Rumbling Bald. Lake activities were very limited while we were there even though there were nice sunny days.

However, we for plenty other things to do, like horseback riding at Cedar Creek RIding Stable with our guide Akeelie was great! Ziplining at Boulderline Adventure Programs with Tammy and Richard was the best experience! Chimney Rock Park is a must see!

All in all I had a great time and would go back again when more activities are in season. My only complaint would be our time at Luna Del Sol.

Room Tip: If you are getting a one bedroom the room with the whirlpool has 2 floors and seem to be bigger, however the stove is small and right next to the sink. If you get the room with fire place you have to big the wood which isn't cheap.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed a week in February, 2013 to celebrate my wife's birthday and Valentines Day. We were looking forward to a relaxing getawy and that is exactly what we got. Still found plenty to do when we wanted to, but the best part was the quiet. The unit on Maple Ridge was perfect except for that strange thing called a wall phone that they decided to mount in the narrow walkway between the main hall and the kitchen. I think I knocked that phone off at least once a day!
I wish there were better accommodations for the fireplace, i.e. poker, and a decent grate, but we still enjoyed having it along with the TV and a nice movie selection at the rec center. The pool, sauna etc was all very nice as were the views around the facility. Must be awesome in the other 3 seasons.

I could go on and on, but I will mention that I thought it was odd that the office closes so early, but we had no problems with the check-in other than finding our unit. I must say the directions and signage were somewhat lacking and considering that is the first thing you experience when trying to check in, I think they should improve both. Looking forward to visiting in the future in other seasons, but wouldn't hesitate to come back in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We visited this somewhat remote resort located in Lake Lure, NC as a precursor to a concert at the Biltmore Estate. Having read the reviews, I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised. We were in a two bedroom condo in the Mountain Loft section on the periphery of the grounds furthest from the golf course. It was clean and functional with relatively new furnishings, although the kitchen, baths and carpet were showing their age. The master bedroom was only a queen size mattress, but it was comfortable. The guest bedroom had two twin beds. The condo itself had all that we needed to comfortably relax and enjoy the beautiful, secluded view - both from the living room and the spacious decks. Even though there were cabins on both sides, it felt like we were alone. The resort has a nice indoor pool, outdoor pools, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts, and golf course on site, as well a swimming and beach area on the lake with a variety of activities on the lake. The boys had a great time kayaking one afternoon. All this together with all the local attractions in the area make this a great place for both families and those looking for a quite, restful trip to get away from the hustle and bustle. It only takes about an hour to get to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, making this a feasible day trip. Although that is hardly enough time to enjoy all that Asheville has to offer. As long as you are not expecting a 5 star resort and are happy with clean and comfortable, but nevertheless dated accommodations then Wyndham fits the bill.

Room Tip: The cabins in the Mountain Loft Section are single level with few steps other than those to get to the Loft.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Brower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was a weekend getaway for my wife and I. We stayed in one of the condos on maple ridge. We spent 4 nights and just kinda chilled out the whole time. Due to the unusually warm fall we did have to get maintenance to come and spray for flies. But that was not a problem, because it is the south and we are use to it. We did find that very few restaurants are open and the ones that are,stop serving at 9:00pm. If you are planning to go anywhere or do anything around the lake,it may be better to do it in the spring,summer or early fall. Or if you are planning a trip to Asheville to see the Biltmore Estate(which is what we did)you can count on at least 1 hour and 10 min. Our GPS told us 11/2 hours, but the super nice lady at the Wyndham resort when we checked in gave us some shorter directions. The roads around Lake Lure are VERY curvy, so take your time and enjoy the scenery. You only live once. We will be returning to this beautiful resort in the future.

Room Tip: GPS does not get you all thw way to the resort. It shows destination about 3/4 of a mile to soon.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waynelauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had a Beautiful 1 bedroom single floor Condo in Maple Ridge overlooking the golf course with nice updated furnishings. Condo was very, very clean, not a speck of dust. Special thanks to Susan Goodwin at check in who was so helpful and friendly . The resort is spread out over many acres but that was not a problem as all onsite restaurants were within 5 minutes of condo, pool clubhouse maybe 1/2 mile. Legends Pub had great homemade burgers, mexican, chicken fingers and pizza at a good price. Chicken fried steak on Tue NIght was not good. NEW INGLES GROCERY IS ONLY 3 MILES AWAY. Biltmore House was only 45 minutes away. Breakfast at Smokehouse Restaurant at lake lure was great. We will return for future vacations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews