We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice..Very Quite Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a VERY quiet place especially in the spring. A quick stop to check in. She was very informative on the area, places to dine and maps. We stayed in Unit 16 – BE Prepared! –This is a flight of 27 steps down with one landing in between, so is Unit 17. The front desk never asked if this would be a problem or if something else was available. Great view of the lake but the trek up and down the steps is not for the elderly or physically challenged or anyone with difficulty with stairs. This is a 2 bed and 2 bath (one tub and one shower stall) with a loft via a spiral staircase. Kitchen was adequate with everything you need. One King bed, 2 twin beds and 2 sofa pull outs. The master bedroom did not have any night stands. The king bed, which was very comfortable, takes up the majority of the master bedroom, there is a dresser. The large flat screen in the living room was great; however, the TV’s in the bedroom are old and outdated. Free AT&T Wi-Fi which was very fast. It has a stackable washer/dryer which worked well. Outside maintenance was needed. The large windows in the living room were covered with spider webs and the 27 stairs were not lit at night. We tried to call maintenance several times but continued to get a busy signal on the weekend. We were able to reach them on Monday and the lights were fixed promptly.
We had pizza one evening at Legends, food was just ok but service (Angelia) was great! It is really a very quiet and relaxing springtime place not much to do since it is early season. Most things are still closed for the winter. It is a great golf location.

Room Tip: If you have physical limitations be sure to notify them when reserving and checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buckranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here the week of Mar 17 and enjoyed every minute. The Mountains were beautiful, after being in Florida the past year it was Great to see the Smokey Mountains. This facility was very clean and comfortable. The place was empty, due to the time of the year the resort was all ours. We had a 2 bed 2 bath lodge with a loft and fire place. The space was amazing, and the views of the moutains and lake were worth the 11 hour drive alone. We had read previous reviews concerning the distance to the closes store, so we stopped at INGLES grocery store which is just as you get into Lake Lure. Picked up groceries sinceI had read they provide you with all the kitchen amenties to cook, some fire wood and lots of wine. We saved time and money by cooking breakfast and dinner 3 nights, and we spent 1 night at the property bar for appetizers and drinks. The Pool, jacuzzi and sauna were very nice and the 7:30-10:30 am adult usage was nice to know. I know there area so we did a day trip to Asheville (Warren Wilson College) my buddies alma mater and Mount Mitchell. Clean, Realxing, Comfortable......

Room Tip: Get here early, if registration is still open they will to navigate the resort to get to your unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgrt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Great location. Beautiful scenery and fantastic golf. The staff makes sure all your expectations are met The condos are well maintained and very comfortable I would highly recommend. A wonderful vacation spot for couples or families


  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Par6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Recently stayed here for 5 nights with girls. It is a little far away from the town but it was nice to be away too. We found ourselves figuring out what was for dinner BEFORE we went back up the mountain to the rooms. There are lots of winding roads. This area would be gorgeous in fall.

The timeshare had wi-fi, great beds, but the decor is a bit outdated. It had everything we needed during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawktraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There were 4 of us and rented a 2 BR. & 2 bath loft in the Mountain loft area of Fairfield Mt. I'v never seen a place so clean and with all the eminities you would ever need. We stayed a week, and we were supplied extra towels & bath tissue, along with coffee, hot choc. paks, popcorn, salt & pepper & 2 paks of laundry detergent. There is a washer & dryer.The kitchen had ample supply of dishes, glasses etc., and all in very good condition. The small appliances were brand name and looked new. Beds were comforable as were pillows and we were very comfortable. We had a fire in the fireplace every night, you need to buy your own wood for it. (You can get that at Ingles) The view was awesome with lots of windows. 2 balconies. We were in #6. Chimney Rock is about 20 minutes or so away, and was well worth the trip to see. Ashville & Biltmore Estate was about an hour away and was worth the trip also. (You can save $10.00 a piece for Biltmore tickets if you buy them on line at least a week before you go.) The resort has an indoor & outdoor pool, you can rent movies at the spa area to watch in your room. A main supermarket (Ingles) is about 10 minutes away. Very curvey roads & nothing much close but a very beautiful location and very clean, nice & friendly resort. I would love to go back in the late spring or fall.

Room Tip: Mountain loft #6. A stand alone place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lesandsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bdrm suit with the whirlpool. Went you walk in the living room area is there. When you have to go downstairs for the rest of the room, the first door will take you to the bathroom with shower, off of the bathroom is the whirlpool tub with a huge window and great view. Through the other door in that room is the bedroom area which was a good size with a convenient sink and counter space. There was a deck right off the bedroom so waking up the the views were great and even though it was on the golf course there were many trees for privacy. Through the double doors in the is the half kitchen with a table for 4 and laundry/pantry area off from the table. It really felt like home. The room was clean and well stocked with the essentials like utensils, etc.

The staff was friendly and nice, and everything was relatively close by. The amenities for the resort was about a mile away which was also shared with other resorts and residents within the Rumbling Bald. Lake activities were very limited while we were there even though there were nice sunny days.

However, we for plenty other things to do, like horseback riding at Cedar Creek RIding Stable with our guide Akeelie was great! Ziplining at Boulderline Adventure Programs with Tammy and Richard was the best experience! Chimney Rock Park is a must see!

All in all I had a great time and would go back again when more activities are in season. My only complaint would be our time at Luna Del Sol.

Room Tip: If you are getting a one bedroom the room with the whirlpool has 2 floors and seem to be bigger, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed a week in February, 2013 to celebrate my wife's birthday and Valentines Day. We were looking forward to a relaxing getawy and that is exactly what we got. Still found plenty to do when we wanted to, but the best part was the quiet. The unit on Maple Ridge was perfect except for that strange thing called a wall phone that they decided to mount in the narrow walkway between the main hall and the kitchen. I think I knocked that phone off at least once a day!
I wish there were better accommodations for the fireplace, i.e. poker, and a decent grate, but we still enjoyed having it along with the TV and a nice movie selection at the rec center. The pool, sauna etc was all very nice as were the views around the facility. Must be awesome in the other 3 seasons.

I could go on and on, but I will mention that I thought it was odd that the office closes so early, but we had no problems with the check-in other than finding our unit. I must say the directions and signage were somewhat lacking and considering that is the first thing you experience when trying to check in, I think they should improve both. Looking forward to visiting in the future in other seasons, but wouldn't hesitate to come back in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.7 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Address: 747 Buffalo Creek Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lake Lure
Price Range: £54 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Mountains Hotel Lake Lure
Fairfield Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing