We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent the weekend in the Maple Ridge section of Wyndham. The unit was very clean and fully stocked with supplies and cooking items. The jacuzzi took a long time to fill and was never the right temperature. The deck off the bedroom faced the woods which I thought was nice because it was cool. All the amenities are about one mile down the road. There is a beach area, boat kayak paddle boat rental, putt putt, tennis, basketball, indoor outdoor pool. Also a cabana with ice cream and drinks. Only the outdoor pools were closed when we went in preparation for the summer season. The golf courses looked spectacular, but we are not golfers. We ate at two of the on site restaurants which I reviewed separately since they are not Wyndham owned. We loved the quiet and the lake and mountain views. Would like to visit during the summer season to enjoy the water activities.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This resort is not as described on their website. It is old, Outdated and not easily accessed from decent roads. The road to get there winds around a mountain. If you get car sick do not go there.
There is nothing for miles but the golf course. This place ruined our vacation. We were told we had to wash our own towels if we wanted clean ones. The washer did not work. Wyndham really disappointed us with this property!

Room Tip: Do not go to this resort.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandyschu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room and resort accommodations. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing laundry and kitchen accommodations. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for the maintenance issue with your unit washer. Please alert our front desk staff should this happen in the future so we can quickly resolve this matter. In regards to area activities, this location is in a rural campus-like environment with amenities 1-2 miles from units. The grocery store is approximately 5 miles; other shopping are approximately 20 miles away. This information is also provided on our website for review. Please note we provide the following amenities:

• 2 Outdoor Swimming Pools
• Lazy River
• 2 Lakes
• 4 Tennis Courts
• Indoor Hot Tub
• Fishing
• Picnic/BBQ Area
• Water-Skiing
• Mountain Kid's Club Activity Program (seasonal)
• Indoor Swimming Pool
• Beach
• 2 Golf Courses
• Exercise Equipment
• Boating
• 3 Restaurants
• Miniature Golf
• Marina
• Spa & Salon

We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I bought a tripadvisor vacation - round trip tickets and a stay at this nice location at Lake Lure, North Carolina. The area is gorgeous. The townhouse was great - I thought we were booking just a bedroom with a few kitchen facilties but I was way off! It was a townhouse. Upstairs was a sleep sofa with linens,and TV/DVD player. Downstairs a full kitchen with everything you need - all new, nice quality dishes,bakeware, pots & pans, blender, microwave, dishwasher, oven, coffee maker with coffee, etc.,dishwasing liquid, dishwasher soap, towels, washer/dryer and detergent, iron & ironing board. There's a huge jacuzzi in its own room, a separate bathroom with a shower, a sink in the bedroom, too, plus a tv and lots of closet space and drawers in the bedroom. Off the bedroom is a deck (with table and chairs) that offerlooks the woods.

All of the amenities for the Wyndham Fairfield, however, are available a drive up the street at the Rumbling Bald Resort - restaurants, swiimming pool, golf, fitness center, mini-golf, and fishing. This is where Lake Lure and Bald Mountain Lake are located. Fishing at Lake Lure was a draw for my 15 year old son. Unfortunately, unless accompanied by an adult with a fishing license my son was unable to fish on Lake Lure. Also, you need a boat (you can rent one) or book a fly-fishing trip as there is no place to fish off a dock or lakeside. However, at the private Bald Mountain Lake you can fish off the dock - no fishing license required. We rented a canoe from the cabana at Rumbling Bald, drove up the road to the lake, and used the canoes that are available there. There are restaurants at Rumbling Bald - we ate outside at Legends and it was lovely - overlooking the golf course. The food was fine - nice salads, typical burger, pizza offerings. However, If you want to stay at a resort where everything is easily accessible - especially for families - Wyndham at Fairfield won't work for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elizabethanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Bottom line: If they had this on my side of the Appalachians, I would go back. As it is, I'm not returning ONLY because it would involve driving those curvy, mountainous roads.

This is not the best Wyndham property I've stayed at, but it was a good stay (for what Wyndham could control). It was a clean property in a quiet location. If your point in going here is to get away from it all, you will find this fits the bill.

The cottages are older, but they have done what they could to improve them: king beds in former queen rooms, large flat screen tv in the main room, fairly new dining room furniture. We had a great view of a nearby mountain (or large stone-face hill) and a view of the golf course. I don't golf, so I cannot comment on the course.

The location is bad: I had planned this trip after enjoying a relaxing trip at the Edisto Island property, but this location is even more remote. It takes 20 minutes to get ANYWHERE to get bread, milk, or Tylenol. If you want to get to a Minute-Clinic, major shopping, or chain-formal dining (e.g. - Applebees, Olive Garden, etc), you have to drive at least an hour on curvy roads.

I will admit that the weather affected our enjoyment of the trip; in late March, you can expect lows in the upper 20s or highs in the upper 70s and we got the former.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshuaP1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After the check-in process which went very smoothly thanks to a friendly and efficient young lady I was pleased to find our unit mere steps from our assigned parking space. Upon entering the first thing I noticed was the ample space available. All of the appliances and utensils were top quality and fairly new. The fresh linens and cleanliness of the unit indicated a house keeping staff which was very good. Now for the negatives. The second night we had about three inches of snow, an unusual occurrence in this area, which left the roads and steps very slippery. It appears that it was up to mother nature to take care of this problem since there was no salt or snow shovels available. During our stay we saw three cockroaches, a surprise considering the cleanliness of the unit. Also the internet was barely usable. All in all it was a case of taking the good with the bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank camper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Wyndham is a superb place to stay if you want to be in the Lake Lure North Carolina area. Only ten minutes from the lake, 60 from Asheville, NC where there is so much to do. The townhouse style rental we had was clean, well equipped in both kitchen and bedroom. Has nice mountain and golf course views. Very nice indoor pool and hot tub, lounge facilities available to guests. Unit also has nice whirlpool tub with a view between the master BR and bath. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
6  Thank markgarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you have not been to this area this resort is a great jumping off point. Our room was more like a townhouse where sitting area with a pull out bed on the top floor with the master bedroom and kitchen downstair. A patio with a great view was included. Lots of room to spread out. They do need some updates but very clean and staff friendly. There is alot do here from golfing to fishing at the resort. Must take the boat tour of Lake Lure. Also Asheville and Black Mountain only a 30 min drive. Lots of great shopping in those two towns. Right next to the resort is Huckleberry a great place to eat all three meals.

Room Tip: we stayed in maple ridge overlooking the golf course-alot of animals roamed around the area- i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KB1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
3.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
142 reviews
1 mi away
Fairways of the Mountains
Fairways of the Mountains
#5 of 5 in Lake Lure
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.7 mi away
Willowbrook Inn
Willowbrook Inn
#1 of 3 in Lake Lure
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains

Address: 747 Buffalo Creek Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lake Lure
Price Range: £54 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Mountains Hotel Lake Lure
Fairfield Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing