We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta do Monteverde
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Carvalho(Esposende)
View Hotel
Apartment Sandy Mar(Viana do Castelo)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel FeelViana(Viana do Castelo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques(Viana do Castelo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa do Monte de Roques(Viana do Castelo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Margarida da Praca(Viana do Castelo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Dom Sapo(Cardielos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
231
18
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
18
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housenorthern portugalwonderful placeswimming poolmanor houselocal beachlocal restaurantsan oasisnational parkexcellent breakfastbreakfast roomwithin reachher husbandporto airportsmall kitchenettemade us feel at homesea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Quinta is tucked away behind electronic gates about a mile from the beach. The surrounding area is now built up and what was once countryside is now a rather ugly ribbon of development. Wonderful old Quinta renovated to an amazingly high standard. There are rooms in the main building and also nearer the swimming pool. Everything is spotless. Breakfasts were excellent too. Fatima and Jose are wonderful hosts and will help you with finding nearby seafood restaurants. The beach nearby is not actually that good and covered with seaweed when we were there - a bit scrappy.If you want better beaches go above Viana to Arga - spectacular long beach with dunes and crystal clear water and waves to surf. Viana is about ten minutes away across the bridge and a pleasant town to explore. We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graham1EssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is been the third year my wife and I spent some days in the Quinta.
It would be fair to say that we now feel like being at home and we consider Fátima and José more friends than hosts.
Sharing Images and personal experiences will tell little of what you can find there.
You should go and then will understand what I mean.
However I will put some words trying to summarize our feelings:
Peace, relax, charm, taste, friendship, freedom, beauty...
Just try it !!

Room Tip: Try the cottages
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoseR17552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have just got back from a week's holiday in Portugal, three nights of which were spent here. The quinta has a lovely relaxed atmosphere - you are very much left to yourselves, but someone is always around to help if you need something. It feels like a home, rather than a hotel. This isn't the place for someone who wants a 24 hour reception or a hotel restaurant they can eat in every night - it is much more like a lovely bed and breakfast with lots of extras thrown in.

The quinta is decorated very nicely and is very comfortable. We stayed in the Baptista Room, which is a twin room (I should note that one review says that beds are not comfortable - I didn't find this at all, although I am usually happy with any bed). The room was very clean with a very nice bathroom. The swimming pool and tennis court are both great, and the gardens are pretty. There is plenty of space for parking.

The breakfast was very good (I read some reviews that complained about the breakfast, and am not really sure what the fuss was about!). We arrived on a Sunday. There is, apparently, never dinner on a Sunday. In fact, we only had dinner at the quinta on one night. It was a very good, generous, good value set menu. I would have liked to have eaten there more - that would probably be my one real criticism about the quinta: it would have been nice to have been able to eat there more, rather than having to walk/drive/get a taxi to local places that, in my opinion, were not as nice.

The final thing to say is that some previous reviews have said that you cannot pay by card. Perhaps this has changed, but we were able to pay by card, and did so.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuliaCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a high quality Quinta! Fabulous hosts, perfect breakfast, great surroundings, smashing exterior and interior (great taste/design), good fishrestaurant nearby and beautiful sunsets over the Ocean. Peter Quint.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peterquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have seen it all, two years ago, and now again and it was in the same time a fresh and new experience.
The warm welcome of Fátima and José, their careful and loving way they and especially Fátima and her excellent staff provide for all comfort , calm and relaxation is amazing and invigorating. The house, the rooms, pool, tennis court, all is just as it should be when all is fine, elegant and not over the top. This year we had organised to have our family and close friends with us and we had the whole beauty for us for a week. What a bliss! We had dinners many evenings at the Quinta in the elegantly transformed stable. It was organised by Fátima with help of an excellent chef and once it was Fátima who did all the cooking. Food was excellent, we had our intake of fresh sardines and fruit de mer - splendid.
What more to say? We certainly will come back
David, Alexandre and Doerte Fouquet and all their friends and family who were with us at the Quinta of Quintas

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doerte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews