We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish restaurant”
Review of The Brown Trout - CLOSED

The Brown Trout
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Brown Trout Mountain Grille's signature dishes are our 10 different ways of Trout: from our Traditional with Lemon Caper Cream, to the Pecan Encrusted and even a Jalapeno Honey Trout. We also have weekly specials inspired by our head chefs. On weekends we have live music,so come in and enjoy our great food and drinks!
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went there twice in four days. Trout was terrific and cooked numerous ways from plain grilled, or sautéed with many options for toppings and sauces. Also had the calamari which was pretty good. The shrimp and crab soup was good but very rich. Definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanJoel32606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown T, Owner at The Brown Trout, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you,
We greatly appreciate your patronage and review!

Our trout is fresh Carolina mountain trout, and each one of our chef-inspired sauces are made each day. The spicy marinara sauce gives our calamari a spicy little kick and we would be happy to include a cup of the shrimp and crab with a sampler platter to balance it. If you are a fan of the grit cakes they are especially good with our bisque.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced for what you get, but OK”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have dined here several times in the past and the experience was good. The last time was 4 years ago. We had an easier time getting reservations this time so we gave it another try. We were told by the hostess that we were being seated at a little table in the corner because we were a party of two. All other parties of two arriving after us were seated at larger tables. The course selection was good, but the sides were extremely limited - rice, and one combination of mixed vegetables with most plates. We were told they would make substitutions, but they weren't available. The trout (pecan encrusted) was overcooked and a little dry. The waitress was personable, but this didn't make up for low quality dining at a high price. When it came time to offer the deserts, the waitress offered pineapple upside down cake because they were trying to get rid of it… really! No thank you. We will probably not come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thatsthewayitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown T, Owner at The Brown Trout, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your patronage and review,

I am very sorry to hear your most recent experience was unpleasant.

We would be happy to reserve any table in the restaurant for you when you make a reservation!

We offer a fresh made starch of the day in addition to the traditional side and would be delighted to substitute, we also have dessert specials that are made fresh daily.

I'm glad to hear the server was great, we will improve our communication so that we can make sure the dining experience can be positive.

We appreciate the feedback as it lets us know where we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent....consistent. ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We love having dinner at The Brown Trout and this past visit was wonderful, as usual. I had the traditional trout and it was cooked to perfection and served hot with a delicious lemon caper sauce. We will be back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown T, Front Office Manager at The Brown Trout, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

The traditional trout is one of my favorites. The trout is local Carolina Mountain trout and the Lemon Caper sauce is made daily in-house.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A restaurant you can count on”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have been loyal customers of the Brown Trout since it's opening. Excellent menu choice, food is fresh and well prepared and we are always warmly welcomed. Lamb, fish,steak all prepared in creative ways and full of flavor. A favorite of our family and from time to time you can find all eleven of us there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The ever popular Brown Trout serves up an eclectic mix of fish (trout the most obvious served several different ways); poultry; meat; pasta and there's even pizza. Service can sometimes be slow, but you're in the mountains, so don't go here if you are on a schedule or have small children that need special attention. Instead relax and enjoy another glass of wine. The food is good and the atmosphere is "mountain cozy" ... in fact, in the winter there is always a warm fire awaiting you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank ATLChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Trout also viewed

Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
 
Sapphire, Jackson County
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing