We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly is the most amazing and beautiful vacation spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leicester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Randall Glen Resort
1 review
“Truly is the most amazing and beautiful vacation spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Randall Glenn was one of the most amazing places we have been. The land is beautiful the cabins are amazing and the people are awesome. We stayed for a week at this beautiful place and more than enjoyed ourselves! We went horse back riding gem mining gold panning fishing and looked for relics and arrowheads. We couldn't get enough of being there! On top of all that we got to feed all the critters and milk cows. The best part for me was having the big beautiful dogs watching over us at the cabins. They wouldn't leave until we left and when we came back they were there watching over us and they never got in the way or bothered you. The cabins were way away from all the little critters so there wasn't any noise smell or anything from them. Me I am country and wouldn't of mind at all but for folks who ain't all about the critters don't worry because you wouldn't even know they are there when at the cabin or enjoying hiking in the beautiful mountains. Also the cabins are so beautiful and extremely clean. They take pride in there cabins. One last thing is all the workers there were truly amazing and did whatever they could to make your stay even more enjoyable. I could go on and on! I will definitely be back and for everyone else I would highly recommend Randal Glenn as a vacation get away! Thanks to Ms.Mary and her amazing staff for a great vacation and can't wait to see yall again! Lauren Damien and family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank country_girl1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you! Your visit was a real pleasure. You and your family enjoyed Randall Glen the way we hope everybody will--you jumped in and did some of everything, and really enjoyed the countryside. It was so nice every day to see you all in the barnyard, or walking in the pastures, getting in the creek, or sitting under the maple tree and hanging out with the critters. All of our staff talked about how great you were, and we were sad to see you go--especially the dogs. We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    18
    5
    2
    12
See reviews for
70
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked 3 nights in Mid July--and left after just 1 night. It was so disgusting, that we were barely able to get through the night. The website is VERY misleading--
-There were a ton of bugs/ants (and even saw a mouse) IN the cabin. We were unable to even set a drink down without it being swarmed by bugs and couldnt eat a meal. Very difficult especially with a 7 month old.
-The game room was digusting and unsanitary. Most of the games were broken. There was a ton of feces on the floor as well as bottles of Raid laying around.
-The "field for playing" was so littered with manure that kids couldnt walk around, more or less play in it. Management blamed other guests for leaving gates open.
-After seeing how dirty the cabin was--we couldnt bring ourselves to even attempt to eat from food truck. Doesnt look like that truck has moved in years.
This was by far one of the worst trips we have had---and the owners seem very disinterested in our complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Baron0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Baron 0909,

I'm very sorry that our establishment was not to your taste--I know that farm vacations are not for everyone. I'm not sure what you were expecting, but the guests who stayed in your cabin just a couple of days before you, and those who arrived immediately after you, praised their experience and complimented the quality of the cabin. And the review immediately before yours noted "The cabins were exactly as advertised, great place".

Had you voiced any complaints to our staff while you were here we would have gladly addressed them--we're known for our extreme responsiveness to our guests' needs. And in the correspondence that followed your departure I believe it was clear that I was very interested in your complaints, even before you demanded that we give you a refund or you would give us poor reviews. I welcome all reviews because I am confident of the high quality of our facility and the vacation experience we offer.

Let me address the points in your review.

--Bugs: There were apparently gnats near your cabin, which were drawn to your beer bottles and glasses. This is common in the woods in summertime, and there is little to be done about it.

Ants: In June we initiated a program to eliminate carpenter ants that were trying to move in to the cabin. You neglected to mention that the ants you saw were dead.

Mouse: It's been over three years since a guest has reported a mouse in one of our cabins, but in this wooded mountainside location, a field mouse will occasionally find its way in. Our staff set traps the same day you reported this.

--"Field for Playing": Blame or no, it's true that guests and their children often leave the Games Lawn gate open, allowing horses and goats from the adjacent pasture to wander in. Even a few hours results in a scattering of manure. After you reported this, staff and I went up to examine the lawn. On 3 acres of "playing field" we counted 17 piles of weathered horse manure. On the porches of the Games Barn, we counted 4 areas of scattered, dry goat pellets in 88 linear feet of porch. It's unfortunate that animals find their way in onto the Games Lawn, but this is in fact a farm, and animals do poop. The hundreds of children--and their parents--who were here in June and July did not seem to have an issue with this fact, and yours is the only complaint that's been voiced to us, either in person or by review.

--Game Room--Broken Games: On examination after your complaint, we found that the blower on the air hockey table had malfunctioned. However, the Foosball table is clean, in good order, and provided with spare balls; the ping pong table has a good tight net and the ball dispenser has balls; and the pool table is level and in good order with balls, cues, rack, and chalk. The badminton racquets are dented from heavy use but are tightly strung and provided with shuttlecocks.

Bottles of Raid: There is in fact a can of Raid Wasp and Hornet spray kept on a shelf to treat any wasp nests that may occur on the porches. It's our goal to protect guests from stinging insects, and some guests prefer to have spray immediately available when they see wasps.

Feces: As noted above, it does appear that some goats had found their way onto the porch. The Games Barn was cleaned and swept 2 days prior to your arrival, and immediately afterward. Had you reported the goat pellets at the time, staff would have taken care of it immediately.

--Food Truck: Our food truck is inspected and licensed by the State of North Carolina as well as the City and County. Our sanitation rating is "A"--98.5. The truck regularly travels to established locations in the city and local farmer's markets. And if you read our Trip Advisor reviews, you'll see how many reviewers comment that the food was "DELICIOUS!!!!", "amazing", "highly recommended".

A funny note here is that in your review you say that you “couldn’t bring yourselves to even attempt to eat from the food truck”. In your original letter to us, one of your complaints was that you were unable to order food because you (mistakenly) believed the food truck to be closed.

--Dirty cabin: Again, I believe our reviews speak clearly on this. In the last month, 25 out of 29 Trip Advisor reviews have rated Randall Glen 5 Star. Over and over, reviewers make it a point that the cabin was "immaculate", "very clean and looked new", "spotless", "beautifully appointed", "so nice and clean", "so clean and luxurious".

Your standards appear to be different from most of our hundreds of guests. I wish we could please every single client, but it is clearly not possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepachet, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

absolutely beautiful place, the staff was eager to help and very friendly.we would stay again. the cabins are exactly as advertised great place. my kids wanted to stay.the horseback ride was excellent and mary the owner is wonderful .

Room Tip: high hickory cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank darlene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great time on our weekend trip! Would suggest bring a bigger car for the rough terrain. Really enjoyed the hot tub and all the animals! Very clean and the staff was helpful! Make sure to be well stocked, the nearest grocery store is 30 minutes. Beautiful scenery, wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kejohnson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We wish you could have stayed longer, too! I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Randall Glen is a great, affordable place for families and couples that enjoy the outdoors, animals, a farm, the mountains and cabins.
The rustic nature of the farm
does not match the up to date beauty of the cabins at the top of the mountain.
The visitor center is really Mary's home but Mary, Amber and Brian are gracious about guests stopping by and having homemade ice cream.
The horse ride was great. Jill was a well trained, dependable guide.
The Pyrenees dogs were a comfort to have around and are very friendly.
The kittens, chickens, ducks, goats, cows, pigs and horses were a treat for us given the close interaction.
If desired, Asheville, West Asheville and Black Mountain are resort towns within driving distance.
I'd recommend Randall Glen for a quiet, simpler family vacation. It is a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelbrickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I just had a wonderful vacation at Randall Glen! This is a great place to get away from everything. My daughters (11 & 9) really enjoyed working on the farm, we all tried panning for gold (only a couple of flakes, but fun), gem mining, and lots of walking up and down the hills. Drinking a cup of coffee on the front porch or reading a book was very peaceful and relaxing. I got used to not using the internet for a week since I did not want to carry my laptop or drive down the hill to the barn. It made the week more relaxing. I did my research before arriving but could have used it if I really needed it.
I am posting photos of our vacation with more information at www.pbase.com/Collink. Select the North Carolina gallery and then Randall Glen. More information will be there.
The cabin was very clean on arrival and looked new. Very nicely furnished and had more than what we needed in the kitchen. It was generally peaceful aside from one neighbor that screamed at her boys quite a bit in the evenings.
The staff is excellent. The folks that work here are like a family and really worked well with my daughters. All are patient, nice, and very helpful. Joe helps out with the gem mining and will check to make sure that you don’t miss anything. Jill was excellent on the horseback riding even giving us some options on the routes. And of course Mary really enjoys the farm and it shows. Always willing to help out and make sure that guests have a good time. We picked a bunch of black raspberries and my wife wanted to make jam. She called Mary to see if she had a recipe. She didn’t but a short while later she printed a recipe off the internet for us.
The food is excellent. The ribs are meaty and tender and don’t miss out on the homemade ice cream! It is a little pricy, but keep in mind that she doesn’t have the volume that a chain does. It is worth a little splurge. Check before hand to find out what is in season for fresh produce. Stop at Ingles in Canton or Asheville before arriving.
Some things that I have read in reviews or heard from other guests: Yes, the road up to the cabins can be a challenge. It was not bad when we arrived but a storm washed out some of the road on the second day making it bumpier. I am glad that I have an SUV (it’s not a 4x4) although smaller cars were making it. The fitness room is very limited, an elliptical trainer, roman stand, low back bench, and a couple pair of dumbbells. However, I also saw that parents were not supervising the kids who mishandled the equipment. The trout pool was washed out some time ago and not repaired yet. We understand that this is a farm that is also a place to rent cabins and not a full time resort so they do the best they can to keep up with running both.
Rocky Creek Campground – I read a review that the Rocky Creek Campground was just a vacant field so we drove by one day to check it out. It had 3 clearly marked RV hook-ups, a cabin,7 tent spots with grill and picnic table at each spot. There was a building at the top that had a bathroom on the end. I did not check it out, but looks small. It was a very peaceful spot. I suspect that the reviewer pulled into the empty field before the driveway rather than into the campground.
Overall we had a wonderful vacation at Randall Glen. It will not be for everyone, but it is wonderful for people that want to get away and relax!

Room Tip: The highest cabin is the most private and easiest to get in and out of - but will walk the farthist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Casey536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for all your kind words, and for the great photos too! We so much enjoyed your visit. Your girls are wonderful helpers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you're looking for a quiet getaway for your family with an outdoor/nature focus, Randall Glen is an excellent destination.

We booked two families (Four adults, three children) to stay for three days and are looking forward to coming back for a longer stay. The Newfound cabin was clean, well maintained and provided plenty of room for us to relax and enjoy the surroundings as each of us desired. The beds and rooms were comfortable and provide a home-like atmosphere. The kitchen provides adequate room and was well used during our stay. Note that the kitchen-ware is somewhat worn and is non-stick coated. Those who are sensitive to this should prepare accordingly. I recommend stopping prior to your arrival to stock up on groceries for your stay. The showers and bathrooms were supplied with towels, paper, and robes. Remember to bring your own soap, shampoo and other toiletries. The porch, which featured prominently in our stay, overlooks the play pasture and provided quiet place to sit, talk, read, and watch the children play. Often, the farm's Great Pyrenees will join you here to take in the scenery. The hot-tub also provided an excellent amenity and was well used.

The glen itself was the major attraction of our stay here and the working farm provided plenty of interaction, both planned and spontaneous. Exploration of nature was one of the major activities during our stay. We explored many of the pastures and and trails and enjoyed interacting with the farm animals. The staff at Randall Glen were very courteous, flexible and patient, which was important to us as parents. We participated in the Gem mining and Horseback riding planned activities. The staff were knowledgable, prepared and engaged, which made each experience worthwhile.

Overall it was a great trip and we plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank masonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
18.2 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,820 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pisgah View Ranch
Pisgah View Ranch
#1 of 4 in Candler
113 reviews
17.2 mi away
Asheville Cottages
Asheville Cottages
#1 of 21 in Asheville
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wildberry Lodge
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
64 reviews
18.9 mi away
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Asheville Swiss Chalets
#3 of 21 in Asheville
392 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#6 of 21 in Asheville
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randall Glen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randall Glen Resort

Property: Randall Glen Resort
Address: 96 Randall Cove Rd, Leicester, NC 28748-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Leicester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leicester
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five luxury mountainside cabins, each with hot tub, fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, designer furnishings, premium linens, featherbeds & heated towels, central heat & air, washer/dryer, screened & open porches, stunning mountain views. Horseback riding, gem mining, interactive farm, Games Barn, fishing, hiking, Guest Center with internet cafe, catered barbecues, farmhouse meals, organic produce, natural eggs & dairy. Gorgeous, secluded setting with thousands of acres of conservation wilderness. Idyllic for romantic getaways, fantastic fun for families, relaxing vacation spot. Minutes from Asheville and all area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing