We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun times!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Randall Glen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Randall Glen Resort
Certificate of Excellence
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun times!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a few days off and decided to take a great trek cross country. When we first pulled in one of the kids asked "what did you get us into?" When we pulled in there were chickens and turkeys and all kinds of farm life. We didn't realize that it was a farm, we were looking for some gem hunting grounds. When we met "Miss Mary" she made us feel very welcomed and soon felt as if we had a new friend. We made it to our cabin which we found very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, sometimes when you are in the woods you do have bugs. We did see some big ants but there weren't many and some yellow jackets, but once again....you are in the woods! The dogs there are AWESOME!!! Every night when we came in they would follow us up to the cabin and wait patiently for us to go inside before leaving and returning to the house. The biggest draw back was location, it is out of the way, but that didn't stop us. Also, beware of the roads leading to the farm. Overall we had a blast and brought back a couple of bags of gems. Mary stayed with us while we looked through everything we dug up and helped identified what we had. We went in April of 2013 so unfortunately the trees were still barren from winter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    16
    4
    2
    10
See reviews for
60
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We are new to Randall Glen this summer - but we are hooked and our family is already talking about next year as if this were our summer home for years to come. How do you get a blissful haven and a full-on farm all in one - how do you get parents and children to all experience the same feeling of yearning to stay and for sure a yearning to return? The hillside is burgeoning with contentedness and real peacefulness juxtaposed with a very entertaining, lively farm of all our favorite barn animals, intermingling, as you choose. - with the newest members of the farm - mulititudes of kittens, chicks, kids (the baby goats kind), piglets, to name a few, and then the working barn animals, milking goats and cows, collecting eggs from the hens, beautiful roosters strutting their stuff, all manner of mature farm animals with the most satisfied horses dotting the landscape and a flock of sheep traveling in timed harmony - its a full-on ranch experience. Some pleasant surprises as well, other very endearing animals that we certainly had never had the pleasure to interact with before...practice gobbling and you might get a very funny response. The resort cabins are most certainly the cherry, sprinkles and whipped cream on top. They are fresh, spotless, cozy and contemporary and yet rustic - an arful folding of dude ranch into five star. Interact as much or as little as your heart desires. And don't forget to ask about setting up an extraordinary ranch style bonfire on the games-barn pasture. It's all calling us back, or maybe its our trusty escorts and playmates, the very special guardians of the glen, the very loved and luxurious ranch dogs ! Another unique experience that you would never believe would be such a deep part of our special memories. To define this haven by way of a standard survey is impossible, the questions are not designed to share this kind of experience...!!

Room Tip: Great sleeping tucked away up the hillside where all the cabins are nestled in, open your windows in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
What a touching tribute! Thank you! We loved having your family become part of our "farm family". We can't wait to welcome you home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Although I was looking forward to this vacation, I never anticipated the beauty and peace that exists here 24-7. The outside is rough, rustic and historic but inside, the cabins are modern and comfortable. Everything from the outdoor jacuzzi on the porch to the spiral staircase to the loft, this place has it all. AC and a fireplace, plenty of room and best of all, the view.

The multitude of friendly farm animals means never a dull moment and the horseback trail guides are pleasant, experienced and accommodating.

With absolute beauty and peace are at your fingertips and walking trails leading right up to your door, adventure is right around the corner and only ends once you've had your fill.

Room Tip: All of the cabins (7 total) are in pristine condition. The road leading up the cabins will challeng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are so happy to be back. Randall Glen vacation is what our kids look forward to all year. This is our fifth or sixth year here, and we love it. This is a working farm and you can just sit around and enjoy the nature and the animals, or you can get involved and help with all that goes on at the barn. There are tons of baby animals, big friendly dogs, beautiful horses.... There is gem mining on site and we have found quite a few nice gems in the past. Our kids are occupied all day long, they never want to leave. This place is not all-inclusive, and we love that. If you research most dude ranches, you will find that they much more expensive because you pay for the activities you don't necessarily want to do. Here you get a beautiful log cabin with full kitchen, so you make your own meals. If you don't feel like cooking you can purchase meals at the farm. There is a great lawn where you can make a bonfire and roast marshmallows. There are a lot of attractions around Asheville (about 45 minutes away). We have never done them because our kids never want to leave the farm. :) So... I just take lots of pictures, read books, and enjoy watching my kids doing what they love most - being here. This is our home away from home. We can't wait to be back next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the cabins here in the last 5-6 years. All the cabins are great. The differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We have done several day trips to Randall Glen while on vacation in the past. This year, we booked 4 nights over the 4th of July week. Overall, we loved our experience there. We had considered a dude ranch out West, but this place is a much more economic choice and a wonderful experience.

Favorite parts:
The wandering Great Pyrenees dogs adopt you.
The hot tub on the porch
The baby goats
Pulled pork nachos
Feeding/milking the farm animals
Riding horses up mountains

I highly recommend Randall Glen to anyone with kids. It is a great experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Randall Glenn was one of the most amazing places we have been. The land is beautiful the cabins are amazing and the people are awesome. We stayed for a week at this beautiful place and more than enjoyed ourselves! We went horse back riding gem mining gold panning fishing and looked for relics and arrowheads. We couldn't get enough of being there! On top of all that we got to feed all the critters and milk cows. The best part for me was having the big beautiful dogs watching over us at the cabins. They wouldn't leave until we left and when we came back they were there watching over us and they never got in the way or bothered you. The cabins were way away from all the little critters so there wasn't any noise smell or anything from them. Me I am country and wouldn't of mind at all but for folks who ain't all about the critters don't worry because you wouldn't even know they are there when at the cabin or enjoying hiking in the beautiful mountains. Also the cabins are so beautiful and extremely clean. They take pride in there cabins. One last thing is all the workers there were truly amazing and did whatever they could to make your stay even more enjoyable. I could go on and on! I will definitely be back and for everyone else I would highly recommend Randal Glenn as a vacation get away! Thanks to Ms.Mary and her amazing staff for a great vacation and can't wait to see yall again! Lauren Damien and family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank country_girl1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you! Your visit was a real pleasure. You and your family enjoyed Randall Glen the way we hope everybody will--you jumped in and did some of everything, and really enjoyed the countryside. It was so nice every day to see you all in the barnyard, or walking in the pastures, getting in the creek, or sitting under the maple tree and hanging out with the critters. All of our staff talked about how great you were, and we were sad to see you go--especially the dogs. We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked 3 nights in Mid July--and left after just 1 night. It was so disgusting, that we were barely able to get through the night. The website is VERY misleading--
-There were a ton of bugs/ants (and even saw a mouse) IN the cabin. We were unable to even set a drink down without it being swarmed by bugs and couldnt eat a meal. Very difficult especially with a 7 month old.
-The game room was digusting and unsanitary. Most of the games were broken. There was a ton of feces on the floor as well as bottles of Raid laying around.
-The "field for playing" was so littered with manure that kids couldnt walk around, more or less play in it. Management blamed other guests for leaving gates open.
-After seeing how dirty the cabin was--we couldnt bring ourselves to even attempt to eat from food truck. Doesnt look like that truck has moved in years.
This was by far one of the worst trips we have had---and the owners seem very disinterested in our complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Baron0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Adore C, Owner at Randall Glen Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Baron 0909,

I'm very sorry that our establishment was not to your taste--I know that farm vacations are not for everyone. I'm not sure what you were expecting, but the guests who stayed in your cabin just a couple of days before you, and those who arrived immediately after you, praised their experience and complimented the quality of the cabin. And the review immediately before yours noted "The cabins were exactly as advertised, great place".

Had you voiced any complaints to our staff while you were here we would have gladly addressed them--we're known for our extreme responsiveness to our guests' needs. And in the correspondence that followed your departure I believe it was clear that I was very interested in your complaints, even before you demanded that we give you a refund or you would give us poor reviews. I welcome all reviews because I am confident of the high quality of our facility and the vacation experience we offer.

Let me address the points in your review.

--Bugs: There were apparently gnats near your cabin, which were drawn to your beer bottles and glasses. This is common in the woods in summertime, and there is little to be done about it.

Ants: In June we initiated a program to eliminate carpenter ants that were trying to move in to the cabin. You neglected to mention that the ants you saw were dead.

Mouse: It's been over three years since a guest has reported a mouse in one of our cabins, but in this wooded mountainside location, a field mouse will occasionally find its way in. Our staff set traps the same day you reported this.

--"Field for Playing": Blame or no, it's true that guests and their children often leave the Games Lawn gate open, allowing horses and goats from the adjacent pasture to wander in. Even a few hours results in a scattering of manure. After you reported this, staff and I went up to examine the lawn. On 3 acres of "playing field" we counted 17 piles of weathered horse manure. On the porches of the Games Barn, we counted 4 areas of scattered, dry goat pellets in 88 linear feet of porch. It's unfortunate that animals find their way in onto the Games Lawn, but this is in fact a farm, and animals do poop. The hundreds of children--and their parents--who were here in June and July did not seem to have an issue with this fact, and yours is the only complaint that's been voiced to us, either in person or by review.

--Game Room--Broken Games: On examination after your complaint, we found that the blower on the air hockey table had malfunctioned. However, the Foosball table is clean, in good order, and provided with spare balls; the ping pong table has a good tight net and the ball dispenser has balls; and the pool table is level and in good order with balls, cues, rack, and chalk. The badminton racquets are dented from heavy use but are tightly strung and provided with shuttlecocks.

Bottles of Raid: There is in fact a can of Raid Wasp and Hornet spray kept on a shelf to treat any wasp nests that may occur on the porches. It's our goal to protect guests from stinging insects, and some guests prefer to have spray immediately available when they see wasps.

Feces: As noted above, it does appear that some goats had found their way onto the porch. The Games Barn was cleaned and swept 2 days prior to your arrival, and immediately afterward. Had you reported the goat pellets at the time, staff would have taken care of it immediately.

--Food Truck: Our food truck is inspected and licensed by the State of North Carolina as well as the City and County. Our sanitation rating is "A"--98.5. The truck regularly travels to established locations in the city and local farmer's markets. And if you read our Trip Advisor reviews, you'll see how many reviewers comment that the food was "DELICIOUS!!!!", "amazing", "highly recommended".

A funny note here is that in your review you say that you “couldn’t bring yourselves to even attempt to eat from the food truck”. In your original letter to us, one of your complaints was that you were unable to order food because you (mistakenly) believed the food truck to be closed.

--Dirty cabin: Again, I believe our reviews speak clearly on this. In the last month, 25 out of 29 Trip Advisor reviews have rated Randall Glen 5 Star. Over and over, reviewers make it a point that the cabin was "immaculate", "very clean and looked new", "spotless", "beautifully appointed", "so nice and clean", "so clean and luxurious".

Your standards appear to be different from most of our hundreds of guests. I wish we could please every single client, but it is clearly not possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
14.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
19.0 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#6 of 21 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Asheville Cottages
Asheville Cottages
#1 of 21 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wildberry Lodge
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randall Glen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randall Glen Resort

Property: Randall Glen Resort
Address: 96 Randall Cove Rd, Leicester, NC 28748-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Leicester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leicester
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five luxury mountainside cabins, each with hot tub, fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, designer furnishings, premium linens, featherbeds & heated towels, central heat & air, washer/dryer, screened & open porches, stunning mountain views. Horseback riding, gem mining, interactive farm, Games Barn, fishing, hiking, Guest Center with internet cafe, catered barbecues, farmhouse meals, organic produce, natural eggs & dairy. Gorgeous, secluded setting with thousands of acres of conservation wilderness. Idyllic for romantic getaways, fantastic fun for families, relaxing vacation spot. Minutes from Asheville and all area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing