We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Wildberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wildberry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Leicester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Freakin' awesome place. Wife and I spent our 10th anniversary here and it was great. The Lodge is very nice, homey. The rooms are well appointed and the views are fantastic. Friendly staff, great place. Highly recommended for anyone celebrating any anniversary or just for a nice couples getaway.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Billmcse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Wildberry Lodge recently and did not want to leave.
The owners met us on our first evening of arrival and couldn't have been more welcoming! The showed us to our room (The Gooseberry) which was clean, comfy and cozy! The view from our private balcony was absolutely amazing.
In the morning we were served a scrumptious full breakfasr at our own table on the deck below. We enjoyed a nice chat with a friendly couple seated on the deck as well.
After a day of sight seeing in Asheville and an early dinner we arrived back at the lodge. Our hosts greeted us and we were offered a chilled glass of wine and gourmet chocoate covered pretzels.
My husband and I sat on the deck in the wonderful wood rockers, sipped our wine, enjoyed the quiet, looked out at the stars and began planning our next trip back to this wonderful place!

Room Tip: Gooseberry Room-Awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Of all the B&B's we've stayed at, this has to be my favorite. The view is spectacular, the food was very good and the innkeepers couldn't have been more accommodating. We are hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwdds24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Words can not describe the amazing stay we had at the Wildberry Lodge. We stayed 2 nights in the Gooseberry room and it went by WAY to fast. The views, peaceful atmosphere, friendly inn keepers Glenda and Ken, Glenda's sister Pat who took such wonderful care of everything, the dogs who welcome you as soon as you arrive, the great room with an amazing fireplace, I could go on forever! Simply put, if you are visiting Asheville you need to stay here! We will definitely be back and will only stay at the Wildberry Lodge!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room. If you just plan to sleep there and eat breakfast before headi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at Wildberry Lodge for 3 nights the first week of May 2012 in the Strawberry Room. To say we were blown away by the view, the attention to detail, the beauty of the lodge and the fantastic "top of the world" view is not doing justice to this amazing B & B. The innkeepers Glenda and Ken along with Glenda's sister Pat were welcoming, friendly, and very accommodating. The attention to detail in the bedroom and common areas was wonderful. There are snacks each evening, two wine bottles kept at the right temperature, comfortable chairs and sofas throughout the lodge for reading a good book, playing a game of Scrabble or just sitting on the top deck and enjoy the fantastic view of the mountains.

There is also a lower deck off the game room with a hammock and plenty of chairs to sit in. There is a porch on the other side of the house in case it rains and an enclosed screened in porch close to the dining room to eat breakfast outside when it is warmer. It is a B & B surrounded by the natural beauty of green mountains, goats in the yard below, bird feeders attracting birds you never see in the city and their friendly black lab Chloe (she likes her tummy scratched).

We knew ahead of time, by carefully viewing the photographs on the Wildberry Lodge website and reading their information that they had hand held showers, so no surprise there and it was not a problem for us.

We have stayed in B & B's in the US and Europe and not only was the view the best, the lodge is an architectural wonder. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. My husband couldn't eat enough of Glenda's granola (she makes her own).

We hope to come back again soon and just sit on the deck of this beautiful B & B, enjoy Glenda, Ken and Pat's company and scratch Chole's tummy . . . this was a bit of paradise in North Carolina. Thank you for a memorable stay. Mary & Harry G.

Room Tip: We loved the Strawberry Room as it was on the other side of the hall by itself and the room and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a long weekend trip into Asheville and had stayed at Wildberry Lodge. The setting is magnificent - you simply cannot beat those views! Upon arriving we were greeted by two friendly dogs and a very nice staff member who checked us in. We also received complimentary Biltmore tickets because we booked a certain number of nights. We were given the tickets promptly upon arrival.

We stayed in the Blueberry Room which was lovely. The furnishings were very nice and the bed was nice and comfortable. Not having a shower and only a bathtub proved a little challenging and the view from our balcony was only of a steep, grassy hill but those were our only complaints about the lodge and were easily overlooked.

The breakfasts were delicious and filling and snacks and drinks (including wine!) were always made available. They even set out lanterns so you could take a walk up to their lovely fire pit in the evening, which we did. The staff was very friendly, there when you needed them but unobtrusive.

We had a lovely stay and if you don't mind the 25 minute or so drive into Asheville (it's definitely secluded!) than I would highly recommend the lodge!

Room Tip: If you want your private balcony to have a view, don't choose the Blueberry Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoonliteMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Hands down the best B&B I've stayed at. We will be going back every year. Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,806 reviews
Bent Creek Lodge
#1 of 2 in Arden
276 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildberry Lodge

Property: Wildberry Lodge
Address: 135 Potato Branch Rd, Leicester, NC 28748-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Leicester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildberry Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Asheville, NC, Wildberry Lodge is the perfect mountain retreat. The Lodge has 7 beautiful log guest suites, 2 of which are in our separate cabin, the Honey Cabin Suite hosts a luxurious spa bath. Spend your days on the Blue ridge Parkway, Appalachian Trail, at the Biltmore Estate, or just relaxing. Come and enjoy the spectacular mountain views, sunsets and starlit nights. As innkeepers of Wildberry Lodge we invite you to relax and renew in the splendor of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wildberry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing